We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual Tobermory Visit, Dennis N.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Bay Motel
Save
You added Blue Bay Motel to your Saves list
32 Bay st, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ancaster
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Annual Tobermory Visit, Dennis N.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Have had such good luck with the accomodations at the Blue Bay since our first visit in 2006 that would not consider staying anywhere else.

Friendly, helpful, conscientious staff go out of their way to assure an enjoyable visit.

Great view of the harbour and the visiting yachts. Convenient to all amenities.

Would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 16, second floor at front is excellent with a great view of the harbour, if 2 beds are required...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    72
    11
    11
    1
See reviews for
45
107
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

location was awsome; it was right beside everything else. Easy access to highway 6.
Center of town.
Rooms were also ok; they were not like luxury hotels; but ok to spend 2 nights.
Fridge was too small; you can hardly store food for 2 people for 2 times.
Ice was free that was great; free wifi; TV and very good view of the harbour at any time.
few bad things there was no A/C in rooms; one night there was miserable due hot and muggy weather.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Innkeeper at Blue Bay Motel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share you opinions. Your thoughts help others plan their vacations. Due to adverse effects on people's health and on the environment we have opted not to install A/C. We understand city folk are used to hotter, smog driven temperatures and so have acclimatized themselves to A/C. Tobermory tops 25C at mid day sun and cools down to 8-10C at night keeping the temperature at a nice level. In addition, we are located on Georgian Bay whose breeze keeps the temperatures moderate to cool. We have no industrial smog or pollutants and we'd like to help preserve that. Since your stay we have invested in window fans to help draw in the cool night air. We hope you will find your next visit with us more comfortable from this change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hi,
The location is awesome and staff friendly. However they do not have AC and one night we stayed it was really hot. Other motels close by have AC and free continental breakfast for the same rates.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Innkeeper at Blue Bay Motel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions. For environmental and health reasons we have chosen not to install air conditioning; due to its adverse effects on the environment and peoples health we can not condone its use. However, since your stay we have installed window fans to help draw in the cool peninsula air. As our temperatures do not reach that of the city(we sit around 25C with no humidity) and 'hot and muggy' days are few and far between we believe this is the wiser option. Unfortunately we are not equipped to offer a continental breakfast; a fact we make guests aware of when booking should they ask. We hope you find the rooms to be more to your liking on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Unfortunately we booked our stay only the night before and could only get one night. However, the room turned out to be "the Harley Davidson" room, we ride a BMW and welcomed the biker friendly setting. Very clean, nicely appointed with freestanding "cadt iron" electric fireplace, flat screen, free wifi, table with two lounge chairs etc. very pleasant and friendly place with perfect view of Harbour. Stay up past dark and watch the Harbour lights. It's a beautiful place.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Much better than some 4* hotels. First time at Blue Bay but not to Tobermory. Blue Bay Motel is by far the nicest and cleanest. There aren't too many options in the area if you don't want a cottage so I was happy to find a modern and sparkling, centrally located accommodation. Mini fridge is the typical mini far too small and without freezer for our family but we were offered to keep our ice packs overnight at the reception which greatly helped keeping snacks while hiking/kayaking cool and fresh.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have view, but all units have outdoor cafe style seating for 2. We enjoyed room #4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Did a 2.5 week holiday to Canada. This was not the cheapest hotel I stayed in and by far wasn't the most expensive, but I really enjoyed my stay here and consider it the best value for money of all the hotels I stayed in. The owner was really friendly and drove me out to Cyprus Lake so I could walk the Bruce Trail back into town...you wouldn't get that kind of service from a big hotel ! Enjoyed watching TV in the room relaxing in the big leather arm chair, with a few cold beers from the off liscense next door after my 17 mile walk !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Unlike other motels, it is not "dumpy" and is very nice, and very clean. I love the fact that is is environmentally friendly. The people there are so nice. The rooms are very nice, but there is one things that stands out the most for me about the room, the beds. SO comfortable. The mattresses, the pillows, wish I had them at home. Love the motel, and love the location. So convenient, so close to everything!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Motel

Address: 32 Bay st, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel Tobermory
Blue Bay Motel Tobermory, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bay Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.