We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals
Save
You added Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals to your Saves list
7468 Hwy #6 | PO Box 160, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Tobermory
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Three couples shared "The Jack" cabin, the only downside was the fact we had to share one bathroom. The cottage was very clean (recently renovated) and had all the amenities we required, any questions or requests were handled immediately by the front office... they were extremely accommodating. The cottage is on a main road towards the end of the village but traffic noise was not a problem and the one block stroll to a terrific swimming entry point is a plus. Don't forget to use the hotel's balcony/porch overlooking the lake to enjoy the evening sunsets. It isn't mentioned but there are lockers at the end of the parking lot for divers to store their gear in - bonus! We'd definitely stay at the Bruce Anchor again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    44
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
46
40
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Huron, Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spent the night at the Bruce Anchor Motel in late July. We had a corner king bed with Jacuzzi bath. The room was large, the bed was to die for comfy. Location was great, too. If you're a particular pillow person, you might want to bring your own. The two pillows on my side were soft. One was not enough and two were too many, but I'm pretty tied to my home pillow. Anyway, to continue the review....the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We plan on being up in Tobermory again next year and will book here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed one night at that hotel in late June 2013. Even though our stay started in a badly manner, everything got fixed quite fast. Our first room smelled so bad. The guy at the front desk changed it and the second was super. The room was clean and quiet. People were very friendly and helpful. If we go back to Tobermory, we will stay there for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We spent a lovely, beautiful time in Bruce Anchor Motel. People were very friendly and helpful. The room and the whole environment was very clean and quiet. Located only few steps from the lake...lovely and beautiful. It was our first time there, but we'll book ONLY to Bruce Anchor Motel next time again. Hope to come back at least once in every year! :o))

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A nice location...the rooms were very clean, but they could definitely invest in some new pillows and mattresses. (We always travel with our own pillows so that wasn't an issue). We had a nice balcony room overlooking the water and if you're planning on a boat cruise of the area or taking the ferry to Manitoulin Island, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the water side of the motel. Get on the second floor or higher to maximize your vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our whole family came up for the weekend of July 12th-14th. There were about 40+ of us and we had a blast. The staff was friendly, very professional and they helped us with anything that we needed/wanted.
Rooms were very clean and spacious and it was a short walk away from the boat cruise area overlooking the water.
LCBO, and small restaurants are in 2 mins walking distance and you can't go wrong with the fish n' chips.
We are so pleased to have stayed here, and we will definitely look to book again here.
I recommend this place and it is worth the 3 hr. drive from Mississauga.

Room Tip: Bottom rooms overlooking the water is more ideal. 2 beds in each room with small sitting area, large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My family of 5 came to this resort hoping for a little getaway all the way from the NYC. After an exhaustive drive, we checked in to realize there were little fine prints that King rooms did not allow more than 2 persons, while the standard room have no such restriction. Granted we were in the wrong, but the front desk was completely insensitive to our needs and made several irrational and unnecessary threats against overstaying the number of people (posting someone for 24-hrs watching, what?), having to pay for it even if we cancelled the room, and worst of all, comments against our little family dog (in getting off the property) that wasn't going to stay there anyway. In spite of that, how the hell do you charge more for a "King" room but have an allowance for less people than a "standard" room? While that is a subjective business practice, it sure as hell shouldn't be in the fine prints. We ended getting into an altercation that I didn't need on a vacation. Sure, we started wrong and I admit that, but you know what, the customer is always right, and in this case, I'm definitely right even when I'm wrong, I've made sure I dispute this charge and you will not ever get my or anyone I know's money ever again. Take your money to other local motels instead, at least the folks elsewhere are nicer than this poor excuse of a front desk.

On the bright side, it's a close walk to Bay street where you would want to hangout.

Room Tip: Choose another motel instead, but if you absolutely have to stay, DO NOT PICK THE SO CALL "KING...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals

Address: 7468 Hwy #6 | PO Box 160, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Bruce Anchor Motel And Cottage Rentals Hotel Tobermory
Bruce Anchor Motel And Cottage Rentals Tobermory, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.