We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the upgrade to water view!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals
7468 Hwy #6 | PO Box 160, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 50% off Boat Tour!
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Tobermory
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Forget the upgrade to water view!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Decided to spend an extra $40 to upgrade to a queen water view while my other friends stayed in a std dbl! My room barely saw a sliver of water! Had a portable A/C unit while the other std rooms had an in wall and the room was so musty a dehumidifier had to be on all night!! The Wi-Fi did not work! There were spider webs and spiders on the ceiling and the towels were stained!! Pretty bad for an upgrade-yuck

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    36
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
36
35
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We frequent tobermory quite often, and have stayed in the majority of motels in the area - the Bruce Anchor Motel is our personal favorite. The location is decent (especially if you are arriving or departing by ferry), the rooms are clean with working air conditioning, and the staff is great. this motel is not located in the heart of town, but is only a 3 minute walk - which for us, is a definite trade off considering the other places that we have stayed at which were located quite close to the harbourfront. Prices are comparible to the other motels in the area, but room quality is much better.

Room Tip: Western facing corner rooms have a great view of the Georgian Bay sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We had stayed here the first week in July checked in around 2:30 in the afternoon rm 6. The staff was very helpfull When we went to the room we had noticed the fridge was not working ,so I went straight to the office ,within a matter of five minutes they brought in a replacement I was impressed with the service. The one thing I would like to suggest is coffe makers in the room,it a small price for the comforts of home ,another thing is put up some pictures in the rooms.the walls are absolutely bare. With all the nice things to see around there it's so easy and cheap to get a lot of nice prints. It's the little things that you do can go along way to make some of the tourists happy.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My trip to Tobermory was amazing and the experience I had at the Bruce Anchor Motel, was memorable. The staff were more than accommodating & extremely polite, and went that extra mile for their patrons. Our room was quaint and comfortable, with a breathtaking view. Therefore, I have just recently booked another stay.... Thank you very much for your consideration and kindness :)

N. Howard

Room Tip: Great main floor walk-outs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

i took the family out on a mini getaway at tobermory and was looking for a
cottage over motel so my two little ones have room to play around.
it was challenging as most decent cottage rental places dont give you without booking a full week. So it was nice that we had the flexibility to book with Bruce Anchor motel with a daily rate. The place met more than my expectation. It is a two level cottage, had 2 decent size room and a 3rd room with a bunk bed. the living room is huge and also had a decent size kitchen. perfect to two small families. we also loved the decent size deck which was perfect for barbeque. I would recommend you bring your own grill like we did.
And last but not least, my 5 year old boy said "dad, I love this cottage", thats all the satisfaction I need :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Great location! Very helpful and friendly staff! Clean updated rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We have been coming to the Bruce Anchor for the last 5yrs. and look very forward to seeing the staff and the people who run the hotel. The rooms are nice size, everything clean and comfortable perfect spot for relaxing and sightseeing of the sunsets there are breathtaking. Can't say enough about the people who run this hotel they will make sure you have a enjoyable time spent at their hotel. Looking forward to seeing them again next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals

Address: 7468 Hwy #6 | PO Box 160, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Bruce Anchor Motel And Cottage Rentals Hotel Tobermory
Bruce Anchor Motel And Cottage Rentals Tobermory, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals to your Saves list