We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals
Save
You added Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals to your Saves list
7468 Hwy #6 | PO Box 160, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

If walking in a room with a Hazardous suite is your thing then this is the place for you!!!! The place is Outdated! Carpets are stained, Beds are so bad that makes sleeping on a rock more comfortable. Walls look dirty, Doors are not safe, drafty. And their "common area" has got to be the worse selling point. Parks have better shelters. Not to mention you have to provide your own Charcoal. Save your Money and stay in your car! your seats at least will allow you to fall a sleep faster. Not to mention your car probably smells better. Better yet bring your tent and tent on their parking lot. The pavement might feel softer from all the good days this place was when it was first built back in 1900s. This place is so bad I have requested Tripadvisor to add a new rating Repellent. You have all been warned.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    44
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
46
40
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We turned up with no booking, and were given a nice comfortable room on the ground floor..... no sea view because of the trees, but as stated in another review, just across the road was the large deck for watching the sunset.... perfect. Staff very friendly and helpful. We had a problem with our plumbing and it was sorted out very quickly. Only quibble was that some rooms have poor wifi, depending on their location, so if you need to have wifi while there, check it out in the room, before you settle in!!
We liked it and stayed two nights, as it was in walking distance of everything in Tobermory, and also good parking.

Room Tip: As above,m if you definitely need wifi, check it out on arrival. Upper floors have more view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The motel cottages were dated and not maintained, The stairs were dangerous going upstairs to the bedrooms with no doors. The kitchen drawers for cooking items were covered in flies. The whole place was creepy and even the bathroom taps were broken. This place costs about $120.00 a day. Do not stay at this place, you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

A couple weeks ago we stayed at the Bruce Anchor Motel on our trip to Tobermory.

We had requested a waterview room which was about $149.00 plus tax. Since it was during the week, it seemed a bit steep but we thought we would check it out anyways. The staff were very friendly, which I always appreciate when coming to a motel. The rooms were clean but nothing fancy. Unfortunately we were on the ground floor and didn't get to take advantage of the waterview with the trees and stuff in the way. However, we really liked all the patio area. In front of our motel room, they had chairs where you can sit outside and enjoy the fresh air. As well as an upper deck which was really nice.

Two of the best things for us were the sunset view and the location.

In their ads they boast the best sunset view, so we knew we had to check it out to see for ourselves. Just across the street from the hotel (about a 1 min walk) there is a huge deck overlooking the water. Even though it was a bit cloudy, the view was still absolutely stunning!! Was so romantic, especially if your there with your significant other. In a way, this made up for the fact that we couldn't see much of the water from our room. Was a stunning view! Although there was another couple on the deck as well, it still felt very romantic and the deck was large enough that we still had our own space.

The location was amazing. Walking distance to the water and the sunset deck, walking distance to the boat to Flowerpot Island (you get a discount on the boat to Flowerpot Island if you stay at the hotel) and a short walk to the harbour with all the restaurants, shoppes and LCBO. We found everything was within a 5 minute walk, which was fantastic!

If your going to Tobermory and looking for a great location and sunset view, worth checking out.

Room Tip: If you're getting a waterview room, make sure to get one of the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights during a weekend, the hotel was very well located, however, we were disappointed because we paid a very high price for it, and we were expecting much more. The hotel is ok and probably due to its premium location it is expensive. Room was not well equipped, cheap linens, noisy air conditioner, smelly bathroom, and just coffee in the morning. We will definitively look for other options next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Bruce Anchor Motel & Cottage is arguably the best place to stay in Tobermory in terms of its location as well as its pricing and amenities

We stayed in a 2 double bed bedroom cottage - it has a living room with couch and AC, 1 bathroom, kitchen with stove, fridge and basic utensils and some surrounding space to relax and barbeque! Although the place doesn't offer luxury, it is quite neat and clean

The boarding point for Blue Heron tours to Flowerpot island is at walkable distance. The sunset point is just opposite to the cottage and has a great lighthouse view. The downtown or better defined as local market is at 200metres with reasonably good food and drink options. LCBO and Foodland are in nearby vicinity as well

In addition to a personalized charcoal BBQ, it has a common BBQ area in its backyard and a free parking

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Saw the most beautiful sunset from our room. Not in the heart of town but within a short walking distance. Stayed two nights, room was cleaned daily and all the kids' things arranged neatly when we got back. Take a walk opposite to the deck in the evening - the view is lovely.

Plus points:
1. Room is spacious and clean
2. Nearby to tobermory town centre, Bruce peninsular national park (and the visitor information centre) and beaches.

Not so plus points:
Kettle, microwave and toaster are located together with the BBQ pits at the back. Inconvenient if you want to boil water or heat up stuff especially at night. However, there's free coffee and tea in the main office downstairs in the morning!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals

Address: 7468 Hwy #6 | PO Box 160, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Bruce Anchor Motel And Cottage Rentals Hotel Tobermory
Bruce Anchor Motel And Cottage Rentals Tobermory, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.