We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has its own personal touch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coach House Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coach House Inn
Save
You added Coach House Inn to your Saves list
7189 HWY. 6, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brampton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Has its own personal touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

When we didn't get any rooms in all those big name Harbour side motels we decided to take a chance on this suburban inn which is only 3 min drive from the "downtown Tobermory", and was very surprised to see the cleanliness of the facility and the personal touch of the Inn Keeper Ruth. Awesome price included breakfast (simple yet enough), free wifi (though our room was far away and could use only in the office and breakfast area). Room size was good enough for two adult and 2 children, bath room was clean and decent. There was a swimming pool that was not open yet. Over all very happy and definitely recommend friends to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    29
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are large, clean and daily service for clean towels etc. Rooms are a little on the dark side. Breakfast is basic but adequate. The people who own the motel were friendly and helpful. Situated just 3 mins drive from Tobermory, the small beautiful bays and Little Cove Adventures, which is well worth a visit if you fancy some high wire fun!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the hotel while we were hiking the local trails. The motel is a little further from Tobermory than other hotels but still only a few minutes by car. The value certainly made up for the extra minute drive. The rooms we rented were clean and newly renovated and had a minifridge. The breakfast offered consisted of fruit, yogurt, toast, cereal and coffee, tea, juice etc. which was more than enough before a hike.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the court yard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The motel style accommodation is located a short car ride from the Tobermory harbour/business area. Because of this the rates were much better than more centrally located places to stay.
While the motel is somewhat dated, the overall value was great. The room was clean, and had all the amenities you'd expect from a chain hotel.
The best aspect, that would make stay at the Coach House Inn again, was definitely the service. The owner/operator, Ruth, was fabulous to deal with, literally right from the moment we arrived. When the trip had to be cut short due to a medical problem, she had not problem refunding us a night's stay that had been pre-payed.
A great bonus is the breakfast spread put out each morning. There was more than enough of the continental style food to fill you up before heading out for the day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Inn is a 3 minutes car ride to the ferry. Rates are good compared to the ones near the ferry ($109 during peak season). We were quite surprised as the inn looks like a typical motel from outside but the room is clean, newly renovated, and certainly not motel like. The shower is good. The grounds are well kept. Ruth and the crew were very helpful. Free breakfast is simple (cereal, canned fruits, bread, weak coffee, tea, hot chocolate). We brought our own food and just heat it up in the microwave and had a picnic in their picnic area. Swimming pool is clean but didn't swim. The only cons was we were given a wrong room and when we came from our day trip from the ferry, we saw scuba gear and some bags in our room. I was so scared. We went to reception right away and there was a mix up with our rooms and those of scuba divers. I would have given it a 5 rating because of the cleanliness and price but gave only 3 because of room mixed up. By the way if you are a breakfast person, go somewhere else for your breakfast as they provide simple toast and cereal.

Room Tip: If you happen to visit Tobermory, just park in all day free parking 5 minutes walk to ferry. Its qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Located just on the edge of town, we found our room bright and clean with a comfortable bed. We took advantage of the mini-fridge, purchasing a case of water for our excursions to avoid paying 2.49 a bottle in the shops along the dock. Breakfast is basic but sufficient. The room was very quiet, no noise came through the walls other than the occasional sound of water running. Highway noise was minimal. The internet didn't work that far from the main building, but was available in the lobby area. This was a valued priced motel that exceeded our expectations. The staff was polite and helpful. A little travel tip: We found that parking at the Tourist Centre (free all-day parking) works well and is only a short walk to the dock area, saved the hassle of trying to find close parking and dealing with two-hour limits that the township enforces.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Our room at the Coach House Inn was spotlessly clean, but it had the musty smell of an older motel. The towels were pretty worn and flimsy. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast choices were limited to toast (no bagels or english muffins), 3 types of cereal, fruit and weak coffee. I'd recommend this motel to a family on a limited budget.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coach House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House Inn

Address: 7189 HWY. 6, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Tobermory
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Coach House Hotel Tobermory
Coach Hotel Bruce Peninsula
Coach House Inn Tobermory, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coach House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.