We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient Cedars Cafe

Ancient Cedars Cafe
7178 Highway 6, Tobermory, Ontario, Canada
+1 519-596-8626
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Sandwiches, Family Fare, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Located on the picturesque Cornerstone Golf Club in beautiful Tobermory, Ontario.Great patio, WiFi, take-out, private functions and great locally sourced meats and produce.
1 review
“Fresh and friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This place we will definitely visit again and again. Food is fresh, staff is friendly and the atmosphere is perfect! You couldnt ask for more. I recommend the Ancient Cedar Cafe to everyone who comes to Tobermory!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Really great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We ate her twice on our stay in Tobermory. First we had breakfast on the way to the park. Everything was locally sourced and super fresh. We also had a late lunch here and it was also super good.

Staff were incredibly friendly. Our server gave us some great tips on some of the off the beaten path spots in the park to check out.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to eat with AMAZING Vegan / Vegetarian Options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stopped in at the Ancient Cedar Cafe yesterday afternoon to check it out and we were truly amazed with all the great healthy vegan food options available + a lovely patio area to enjoy the beautiful Bruce sun. Most places these days seem to have a veggie burger on the menu but we were blown away with numerous options to chose from including sweet potato and black bean burritos, vegan caesar salad, bulgogi sandwich, kung pao sandwich, and a veggie burger. My wife and I decided to split both the sweet potato black bean burrito and kung pao sandwich on a ciabatta bun both of which were GREAT + they came with a side caesar salad, all for $8.59 each (AMAZING deal for great tasting, fresh, healthy food served in a great atomsphere). Shawn the owner was very friendly and great to chat with, the wait staff were very friendly, extremely knowledgeable, and very fast. We're hoping to buy a cottage just down the road from this Bruce Peninsula gem so here's to many more meals together.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great burgers, lovely view of the golf course from the deck. Best strawberry rubarb pie I've ever had. Fantastic prices!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We ate here a lot. In town the food wasn't concistant and greasy over priced. Not many options for Gluten free. Staff were great but the food was amazing. Great for kids, ask for the sliders they are a hit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient Cedars Cafe also viewed

 
Tobermory, Bruce County
Tobermory, Bruce County
 

Been to Ancient Cedars Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient Cedars Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.