We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Bed & Breakfast I've Ever Stayed At” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
197 Eagle Road, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Tobermory B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Best Bed & Breakfast I've Ever Stayed At”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Where to start??? The house and grounds of Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast are beautiful, as is the setting-- a quiet cove on Lake Huron. The charming hosts, Jim and Doug, spare no effort to make their guests' stay memorable and pleasurable. My partner and I arrived late in the afternoon after a hard day's drive. We stowed our bags and freshened up in our rooms, then we got a grand tour of the place. The house is chock full of art, including collections of bear sculptures and bird decoys. Fresh baked pastries are laid out for impromptu snacking (butter tarts especially recommended!). Jim, a former restauranteur and trained physical therapist, noticed the stiffness in my walk and promptly prescribed a "tune-up" in Bear Cove's well appointed gym. The kinks in my back, shoulders and neck were quickly ironed away with a miraculous device called a Jeanie-Rub, a sort of a two-handled vibrating pad. Pure bliss! (I ordered one of these things, myself, as soon as I got back home.)

We drove into Tobermory for a light supper before turning in for the night. We were lodged in the luxurious Parker-Bateman Suite, the master bedroom with two sinfully comfortable double beds, a private balcony overlooking the lake, and a sumptuous bathroom with a family-sized Jacuzzi. Our hosts even provided a laptop which I used to catch up on my emails.

Jim's formidable cooking skills were on display the next morning with a lavish breakfast buffet featuring shirred eggs, french toast, bacon, sausage, orange juice, tea and coffee, and a killer fruit salad. Jim's special creation... he calls them his "Bear Cove Breakfast Baskets"... must not be missed. In a word, scrumptious.

We spent the day hiking in Bruce Peninsula National Park. The rocky coastline and crystal clear waters of Lake Huron are quite beautiful. Doug and Jim know the park intimately and can gladly direct you to its best spots. After supper in town our hosts offered us the use of the hot tub out on the house's side deck. This was the perfect ending for a perfect day... that hot tub boasts an incredible array of specialized jets to take care of any sore muscle you might have. And as a bonus, the stars were amazing! Because of Tobermory's remote location the night sky has absolutely no light pollution. I have not seen so many stars since I was a kid (and that was quite a while ago).

After another spectacular breakfast the next morning, Doug, who is a classically trained musician, regaled us with keyboard renditions of ballads and light classics from the balcony overlooking the great room. A person could get used to such royal treatment very quickly, let me tell you.

Admiring the decor, I asked Doug if Bear Cove did a Christmas tree during the holidays. He laughed and said, "No... we do NINE Christmas trees!" I daresay that has to be an amazing sight, one I hope to experience some day.

Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast is geared for grownup guests-- no children are allowed. The atmosphere is very relaxed and the location is very secluded. Besides the gym and spa facilities, there is a dock on the lake for swimming and kayaking (clothing optional).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
61
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alliston, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

There should be a rating beyond five star because Jim and Doug would rate. If you are looking for a serene, beautiful, relaxing, B&B the home of Jim and Doug comes highly recommended! For some of us, it was our first B&B experience. It will be difficult to top this find! Everything about our stay was amazing! Their home is nestled in amongst tall pines with a lake view that just begs you to find one of the many, inviting sitting areas, perfect for taking in a spectacular sunset. Once inside, you are warmly greeted by Jim and Doug and it is not a secret it is their passion to make you feel at home. The rooms are extremely well appointed. Their gourmet breakfast is DELICIOUS!! and seriously, where will you be experience a musical interlude while you indulge in the decadence. Truly a Hidden Gem!!! Jim and Doug, thank you again for your wonderful hospitality.

Room Tip: No matter which room you choose you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This little BnB is tucked away from the main street giving you a sense of peace and quiet which is what most travellers look for in this beautiful little town of Tobermory. There's an amazing lake view and gardens with hammocks and a gazebo so pray you have good weather to enjoy the outdoors. Theres also a really nice hot tub to help you unwind after a long day of hiking. We were booked in the Symphony suite and I must admit every little detail had been taken care of from decorating this beautiful home with a great theme to catering to our specific dietary needs. We were fortunate to have great hosts like Jim and Doug. You really have to meet them to know how amazing they are specially Doug! We also ran into one of the other couples at the observation tower and were so happy to be living with such genuine people which made this getaway all the more enjoyable. If you really want to do this place some justice book the Bateman suite with the jacuzzi and bring some friends along for an extended stay over two days at least.
Doug, keep doing what you're doing: you're a Terrific host and we really wouldn't survive a long day without Jim's delicious breakfast! Thank you. :)

Room Tip: Parker Bateman suite: It has its own bathroom with a jacuzzi on the top level of the house: Maximum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had to comment on what a superb B&B Bear Cove is. We were treated to the exquisite tasteful home of Jim and Doug. The breakfasts were not only different, and delicious but also decadent. (also, butter tarts available all day.) Their accommodations left no detail to chance, and they really do think of everything. Charming hosts who take great pleasure in the enjoyment of their guests. Lots of advice on where to eat, and sights to be seen while in Tobermory. Their location (away from the maddening crowd) right on Lake Huron, allowed for swimming, sunset watching, and they have several sitting areas outside, which gave a sense of privacy, so the only time you see the other guests are at breakfast. Hope to return soon.
Sharon (Oakville)

Room Tip: For full on luxury stay in the upper suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Let me begin by saying this was one of the best accommodations I have ever stayed in - and I've done a lot of travelling around the world! We were welcomed with warm hospitality by the hosts of Bear Cove, Doug and Jim. After a tour of the beautiful and extremely clean house, on approx. 3 acres - we indulged in Jim's amazing freshly baked butter tarts. From here we headed out in the paddle boat and spent the afternoon in the see through warm waters of Lake Huron. The next morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast of eggs, bacon, sausage, vegetable medley, fruit and home made bread! To top it off, Doug dazzled us with his incredible piano skills. This location, combined with two wonderful hosts, makes Bear Cove the best! Although we visited many sites in Tobermory, our stay was the highlight! Run ... don't walk ... to this B&B! You'll love it!

Room Tip: For a romantic visit, stay in the Bateman room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Wow!!! What a wonderful B&B. Great hosts in Jim and Doug. Great breakfast. Great room. Great location. Just a great B&B, one of the best we have ever stayed in. We had an extremely relaxing time in Tobermory and the B&B was a large part of the reason. First class all the way around from the room, hot tub, gym and massage table. Highly recommended. We'll be back. Thanks guys.

Room Tip: pick the upstairs suite if it isn't booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our stay at the Bear cove B&B was a fantastic experience. Upon entering the driveway we new we were in for something special. The beautifully lanscaped gardens are delightful and a pleasure to walk through. A spacious deck surrounding the house has lots of seating so you can enjoy a coffee or one of the delicious sweets that are home baked. There is walkway and deck leading out to the waters edge with 2 seating areas that look out over the lake and island. Comfy chairs beckon you to sit and enjoy the gorgeous landscape and perhaps a glass of wine. Kayaks and paddle boats are at your disposal. The water is crystal clear and shallow near the deck but does deepen father out. The shore line is rocky in some spots, a pair of deck shoes or water shoes will come in handy. Take a dip in the hot tub! The house is tastefully decorated and surrounds you in warmth and comfort. The rooms are spacious yet cozy. You can feel your self relaxing as you enter the Inn. I have never felt such decadent sheets, I was tempted to sneak out with the linens but thought better of it...

Jim and Doug are the most gracious of hosts, easy to talk to, they put you at ease immediately. They have the amazing ability to be attentive and observant with out being obtrusive.
The food was delectable, fresh local meats and veg along with homemade breads and sweets. The coffee was great as well!

I have nothing but good things to say about the Bear cove. We are already planning our return trip this fall and next summer.

Room Tip: The smaller rooms on the main level share a bathroom so if that is an issue for you book the larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast

Address: 197 Eagle Road, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bear Cove welcomes you to enjoy a private and secluded adult only getaway on the crystal clear shores of Lake Huron. Luxurious rooms, laptop provided with free WiFi, Satellite, and full hot Breakfast. Stroll through the beautiful perennial gardens, pause at the frog pond and swim, snorkel, kayak or paddle boat right from our docks. Do some great star gazing under the dark skies of Tobermory while sitting in the 8' Arctic Spa Hot Tub on the main deck. Wake up to a full hot breakfast and tour the many attractions Tobermory has to offer. Fifteen minutes to The Grotto, Boat Tours and the Ferry. Open year round. Your hosts: Jim Brewer and Doug Orr B.Ed., B.Mus. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bear Cove Bed And Breakfast Tobermory, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.