We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dill Batter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DNA Fish and Chips

DNA Fish and Chips
5992 | Highway 6, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
226-668-5958
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $10
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Stayner, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dill Batter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The dill in the batter is lovely. Batter should be thinner though, I'd rather eat less of it. Dusty parking lot, and scenery leave a bit to be desired. Still better than sitting in a restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    12
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Large portion of distasteful fish....keep driving!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our family of 4 decided to give this place a try based on reviews on this site. We should have known by the run down condition of the place on the side of the highway that it wouldn't be what we were hoping for. We waited a good 15 minutes to get a HUGE piece of fish and tons of fries x4. The fish was very thick cut - too thick to cook properly and taste good. The texture was soggy and the flavor was more fishy than any whitefish we have had before. The fries were typical roadside fries. We ended up throwing the majority of our food away. The atmosphere was equally bad - we sat at a sticky picnic table and swatted at numerous flies and mosquitoes nonstop. All in all, a big disappointment. We will not be wanting to have fish and chips again for quite a while.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Fish n Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Van by the side of the main highway in the Indian Reserve. Had to wait 10 mins but great chips, fab tartar sauce and fish from Georgian Bay was brill

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise. Worth the stop.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews on trip advisor, decided this was a must stop. Had the fish and chips, $11 a plate, and it was delicious. The whole family enjoyed it, and would highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Awesome fish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Well, it is NOT a restaurant, it is a Chip truck on the side of the highway, about 10 minutes South of Tobermory. So, it's not about the location or service, but the fish: DE-LI-CIOUS!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DNA Fish and Chips also viewed

Tobermory, Bruce County
Tobermory, Bruce County
 

Been to DNA Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DNA Fish and Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.