We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tobermory Village Campground” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tobermory Village Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tobermory Village Campground
Save
You added Tobermory Village Campground to your Saves list
7159 Highway 6, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tobermory Village Campground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was our first visit. We are a family of 4 (2 kids ages 13 and 15). We rented a premium cabin and this was great as we had our own washroom (toilet and stand-up shower...no need to pay for water. Shared facilities had water at 25 cents for 2 minutes). The cabin was exactly as advertised...a double bed, bunkbeds, sleeper sofa, table, 2 chairs, mini-fridge and microwave. There's a grill, firepit and picnic table outside. The cabin was tidy when we arrived. The campgrounds were well kept. I really liked the outdoor exercise area! It was a quiet, patrolled area at night. The kids already plan on going again next year!

Room Tip: Bring a fly swatter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    20
    3
    2
    11
See reviews for
37
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is my fourth consecutive visit to Tobermory Village Campground with my wife and children. My children love the swimming pool and splash pad. I believe the prices to be comparable to other campgrounds with similar amenities. What might be free on this campground, you might have to pay for elsewhere and vice versa. It all depends what YOU want to spend YOUR money on. The first two visits we stayed at the camp, we slept in a tent and/or basic cabin. We used the showers there. But make sure you are prepared to shower; eg. soap in hand, and shampoo cap is off. Time is money for the showers. For the past two visits, we used the premium cabins which is equipped with a shower. Best thing to have before hitting the bed.
The staff are friendly. Like any campground, follow the rules and everything will be fine. I am just happy to have gone here so many times.

Room Tip: Book a cabin early. Maybe before the season starts. If you have children and want a premium cabin, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is the second year that we have stayed here. Last year it was just us and the kids, they had such a blast. There was so much for them to do in the campground, my husband and I felt very safe just letting them explore and try out all the activities. We stayed in the premium cabin which is great when you have kids, no running the the bathroom outside in the middle of the night, hot shower after your day of outdoor activities. This year we went with all the rest of our family. There were 12 of us in three cabins side by side. We had an amazing time. What is best of all is the fact that they keep the area quiet at night. This may not be ideal for those looking for a more adult time, however for my sister with a 1yr old and a 2 1/2 year old, not to have them woken up by idiots in the middle of the night....priceless. We recommend this to everyone that is looking for a great place to camp, at a very reasonable price. This is definatley a place we are building memories for our kids.

Room Tip: go for the premium cabin for the best ammenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were in a small group of 4 girls. We were there for the July 1st long weekend (3 nights). We simply loved it. The campground is well organized and really safe. The staff members are very friendly and always willing to help, if you need them.
The campground is special for family and kids and that's why we decided go there.
I highly recommend them. We had an amazing time there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

6 of us visited this campsite. We are all responsible adults. Not loud, not crazy.
But we were told twice to lower our voice from a pretty quiet talking voice to a whisper/sign language type voice. We were just sitting by our fire roasting sausages. We answered by stating that we are not loud and they said true but we still have to whisper. They recommended us that we should go to sleep. It was 10pm...long weekend...we are in our late 20s...
They warned us twice and we actually felt bad because we had no idea what we did wrong. The second time we were told that we'd lose our $250 safety deposit if we keep on talking instead of whispering.
But the problem is that this whole situation was so ridiculous it actually became funny and we had to burst out of laughing. Do you know how hard is it to laugh so hard you cry but then you have to put your face in a pillow so you could do that very quietly?
Also, we cannot have any radio or any very quiet music even during the day. Except for the weather station.

On a positive note, We respect their hard work. The campground is very well kept, beautiful and clean. Seems most people obey the no noise policy too. The pool, petting zoo etc is a nice touch. Showers were clean but they should give out some tokens for it as they are not free. It should be included in the pricey stay. Very close to Tobermory's downtown.

Its a very different experience, not bad but not great. They seem to prefer quiet families and not friends. Our group consisted of 3 guys and 3 girls (couples) and we were well behaved.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed there last weekend with my fiance for 3 nights. We had a secluded campsite, right by the pond. No neighbours, nice fire pit and picnic table, great site (478). We paid around 150 for the 2 of us for 3 nights, a bunch of very dry woodlog included and delivered right at our site every night.
The pool is very nice. We don't have kids but it seems there is plenty to do for kids (horse-carriage, ping-pong, boardgame, paddleboat, go-kart, petting woo, splashpad...
The staff is friendly however, as far as I am concerned, they were way too much God-oriented (message for "Our Lord" on the club-house ...). i don't mind so much but when you are not religious; you feel a bit weird at first.
I guess the 2 things we really didn't like as:
No hot water for cleaning our dishes (you'd better bring a great dishsoap)
Showers are not free. You have to pay 25 cents per 2 minute of water. We paid 50 dollars a night for 2 and a small tent, at least, the showers could be free. Or maybe, they should give 2 or 3 tokens per person per day, and then if you need more, you pay extra. Would be a good way to make people not waste the water... But still, paying for a shower in a Not-that-cheap campground surprised me a lot!
This campground is ideally located, 5 minutes from Tobermory, ferries, island, national park ...
But yes, I would stay there again !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed her for three days in Early August. Great location as it is 2 minutes to the main area on Tobermory, and less than 10 to Cyprus Lake, the Grotto and Singing Sands. The Campground was very clean and well maintained. They may not be dutch mennonite but they sure look the part. They were friendly enough but very strict. Petting zoo closed at 5 SHARP!!!. One minute later, they had no problem letting you know. Music off at 11. SHARP!!!!, hay wagon ride at 7:30 SHARP!!!!. We have visitors for 1/2 hour. $12.00. The park complete with wooden trains, trucks, pirate ships, and houses, swimming pool, splash pad, canoe rentals, and free wi-fi all made up for that. Plus we went during a fire ban, and they allowed fires. Something to do with the church. Religious signs all over but as previous reviews, they weren't knocking on your door preaching it. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tobermory Village Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tobermory Village Campground

Address: 7159 Highway 6, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Tobermory
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
Tobermory Village Campground Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tobermory Village Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.