We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grotto

The Grotto
Tobermory, Ontario, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Tobermory
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Outdoors
Attraction details
Whitby, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

A must see, I couldn't believe my eyes! We were lucky to grab the last campsite available but that was for one night only, unfortunately. Campgrounds were full and we went there during the week! Once I saw this place, I understood why. Indian Head Cove beach is all rocky but stunning; water was very cold even in mid August (that did not stop us taking a dip, it was the most clear water I ever saw!) And The Grotto...totally worth climbing down to get inside the cave!! (easier to climb up, going down it's a bit steep but most people were able to do it without any incidents, you just have to be careful and wear the proper footwear; I had water shoes on and I was fine). Going back for sure, for a longer stay this time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    53
    13
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thurmont, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“You can't miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

A beautiful wonder of nature that you must see! Just be aware that this does require some climbing down over some rocks to actually see the grotto and the deep blue pool of water.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Natural Attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Wow! This place must be the most gorgeous natural attraction we have seen in this area. The rock formations are spectacular and the grotto itself is so amazing. Unfortunately we did not bring our bathing trunks but next time we will because it also looks like a fun place to swim.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot worth the hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is an unusual place that is pretty easy to get to. There is a cost to get into the park (*not* the same as the fee for the Visitor's Center in Tobermory). From the parking lot is a 1 km trail that is well maintained and easy going up to the Indian Head beach. There are loads of people here. Continuing to the left, the trail is more challenging and includes quite a few uneven rocks. The climb down to the grotto is not difficult but could be hazardous for people in a hurry or those who are not paying attention.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Awesome, wonderfully beautiful and breathtaking. Hard to believe we are still in Ontario,very tropical island looking

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grotto also viewed

 
Tobermory, Bruce County
 

Been to The Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.