We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but terribly overcrowded in Summer.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bruce Peninsula National Park

Bruce Peninsula National Park
Chi sin tib dek Rd, Tobermory, Ontario N0H2R0, Canada
519-596-2263
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 things to do in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Hiking, Camping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the Bruce Peninsula in Southern Ontario, this 136-square-mile park features a rugged limestone landscape and the spectacular 18-mile ribbon of Niagara Escarpment cliff.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful but terribly overcrowded in Summer.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Do not go here in July and August. Line of traffic going in to hiking area. Cars had to be turned back due to lack of parking. The trail to the Grotto (spectacular Georgian Bay cliff and cave site) was limestone and dirt. The entire trail was crowded with not only hikers, but bikes, dogs, and strollers. The dust from the limestone dirt was all over us and the surrounding plant life. There was an unsightly large bathroom at the cliffs; apparently to accommodate those who bike there to climb the rocks and swim. The trail is only a mile with restrooms at the trailhead also.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    42
    9
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I have been to Bruce a couple of times now. We've absolutely enjoyed camping here. There is plenty to do (from canoeing to fishing to hiking). My favourite part of the trip was hiking from our campsite to the Grotto. On the way back home, we passed through Tobermory, a small clean town with lots of friendly people and great little shops / restaurants to see. We also stopped at a very large Antique Market. I love looking back at all the photos I took. This is the number one best National Parks on my list:)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, MI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Bruce Penisula Park, worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Went kayaking in Tobermory, then drove over to Bruce Penisula Park to see The Grotto, beautiful scenery and great background for pictures of your family. The hike is only about a kilometer on a sandy, rocky path. Be ready for a crowd, the Grotto is very popular.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Definite Must-See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Had a great experience with the park and and its beauty. Snorkeling is a must in this area, and if you don't mind hiking the rocky shores you will find peace and serenity amongst the turquoise colored water all along the shoreline. We hiked as a group of 8 ranging in age from 9 to 45. Aside from the water being on the cold side (68ish), once you were in and used to it, everything was good. We never needed bug repellent as there were none which made hiking a breeze. Remember to wear sturdy footwear for the rocky shoreline and some trails.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Crazy Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I visited the Bruce Peninsula over the past weekend. Although very beautiful, we were definitely unaware of the amount of snakes found in Cyprus Lake, and according to other people, rattle snakes were also found along the trail. We did however think Cyprus Lake was very beautiful and when approaching the water we both were unaware of how slippery the rocks were and fell.. .so watch out!... along with falling in the water there were a few black snakes right beside us!.... very scary. I wish something was done to remove the rocks in order to make swimming possible. This place is absolutely beautiful and an amazing experience. Although the snake situation, I highly recommend it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruce Peninsula National Park also viewed

Tobermory, Bruce County
Tobermory, Bruce County
 
Tobermory, Bruce County
 

Been to Bruce Peninsula National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bruce Peninsula National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.