We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but a little expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Craigie's Harborview Restaurant

Craigie's Harborview Restaurant
Literally in the center of town, next to harbour, Tobermory, Ontario, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 17 restaurants in Tobermory
Cuisines: Canadian
Description: Here is a link to another review of the restaurant. http://members.virtualtourist.com/m/16436/dc90b/2/
Restaurant details
Description: Here is a link to another review of the restaurant. http://members.virtualtourist.com/m/16436/dc90b/2/
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good, but a little expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Fresh whitefish and chips are great, but a little on the pricey side. Place is very small if you want to eat-in, I prefer takeout and eat on the benches in front of the docks.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    11
    23
    5
    5
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly and fast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We had whitefish & chips. Nice fish and fries were ok. Very friendly staff and food delivered quickly. Slightly expensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sign says best whitefish... It was the worst fish I have ever had, frozen fish sticks included!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The service was average. The restaurant was dirty. I thought in the very least that the whitefish had to be amazing like the sign said to keep the place afloat... The fish was terrible! It was over fried to a crisp and dry as all hell, the skin they left on was knarley and the fish flesh itself tasted over a week old! And 13.95 for a lunch portion of it! Someone needs to take the sign down. I can't say anything about the rest of the menu, but my husband and I both agree that the fish should be avoided at all cost!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Average whitefish, good portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife and I ate at Craigie's after a day of touring and outdoor activities. She ordered whitefish & fries while I had mashed potatoes as a side.

The whitefish was nicely fried but had slightly too much fishy taste (though I didn't mind this too much, some may find it a bit on the strong side). The portion of fries was generous and delicious. The mashed potatoes were of poor quality - tasted watery and from a box.

Prices were reasonable and service was very prompt.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion,IN
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Good whitefish, average fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We saw this little harborside restaurant and wanted to give it a try. We both had the whitefish dinner and the whitefish was wonderful however the fries were not nearly as good as we had other places in Ontario. They did not appear to be fresh cut so we were both disappointed about that. The place sits right on the harbor and there is an enclosed deck that looks out over the water for a nice view. They do not take plastic, so bring cash!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craigie's Harborview Restaurant also viewed

 
Tobermory, Bruce County
Tobermory, Bruce County
 

Been to Craigie's Harborview Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigie's Harborview Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.