We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Excellent place and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbourside Motel
Save
You added Harbourside Motel to your Saves list
24 Carlton Street | Ontario, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Tobermory
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Excellent Excellent place and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We went there on June 23rd, 2013 for 2 nights with 6 families. The rooms were very nice and clean and staff is so friendly and accommodating. All the staff members including Valarie, Vipin, Janet and manager Ashley were very friendly and helpful. The motel is located right on water front and provides you with beautiful view of the lake. Just sit on the chairs outside of your room and enjoy nice view of lake and watch the cruise boats.You can take the cruise almost from the door steps of you room. Manager Ashley was so accommodating for letting us switch the rooms. You can walk to the restaurants and shops. The rates were very reasonable. I will highly recommend any one to stay there.

Room Tip: Room# 40 has a pull out couch for bigger family and kitchen. For a big group its nice to get rooms 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    30
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
24
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have going to the Harbourside Motel with a group of friends for the past 20 years. The motel is always clean and the safe are very helpful. The motel is within walking distances of the shops and restaurants. I highly recommended trying a Beaver Tail on your visit. The view of Little Tub Harbour is spectacular.

Room Tip: Rooms looking onto Little Tub Harbour have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This motel is clean and on little tub harbour, wake up grab a coffee sit outside on the chairs and watch the people walk on the boardwalk and boats. Walk to shops, restaurants and the cruise boats. The cruise to flowerpot island is a must, go to the lighthouse on big tub harbour, nice view. Many must see trails. Enjoy the best fish and chip restaurants.

Room Tip: small shower area, get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion,IN
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We traveled to Tobermory on our tour of the Ontario side of Lake Huron. I had read many reviews for this area and really wanted to give it a try. I picked the Harbourside because of TA reviews and we were not disappointed the two nights we spent there. The rates were very reasonable although our 2nd night was more due to the Victoria Day weekend, but not unreasonable. The room was nice sized with a queen bed, small fridge and a good TV. The back of the motel faces the harbor and they provide chairs to sit and watch the activity. I would definitely stay at the Harbourside if in the area again.

Room Tip: They do have rooms that face directly onto the harbor with walk-out doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We reviewed many of the hotels on line while deciding where to stay for a weekend in Tobermory. About 18 years ago we were here and stayed in Tobermory with our two girls. We could not remember where it was that we stayed but was pretty sure it was right by the water.
This hotel seemed like it may be the one and the only one that we could tell was right close to the water. As it turns out this was not the hotel but we are quite pleased with the outcome
We chose room 28 which has a microwave and bar fridge, (a money saver on eating out) we were quite pleased with the room. The bed was a little hard for our liking, but you can't expect the same comfort as home for such an affordable price. We really didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel but when we were there the staff was extremely helpful and pleasant.
We did eventually find the hotel that we stayed at 18 years ago and it had closed down due to bankruptcy, which gave us the opportunity to try something different.
The location of this hotel is within walking distance of everything. We went to the foodland to get a few groceries to eat in the hotel and the view is spectacular. I would definitely stay here again. Of course we were here off season, and it was quiet and peaceful, I imagine on holiday weekends and summertime it will be busy.

Room Tip: If you are looking to save a bit on food I would suggest room 28 it has the microwave and fridge, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

First thing i would say is great about this Motel is the location. Very close to the harbour and everything is at walking distance. What made me feel bad was the room, i was told that there were two rooms available, i looked at the pictures and called back to confirm, they gave me the smallest room, without the kitchenette and for the same price. I felt there was no price integrity. Rooms can use some updating.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This motel locates near harbor. The blue heron ticket booth is just at the back of this motel. Location is great. You can find foodland supermarket and restaurants easily at that area.

I like people work there, very helpful and nice. Room service is good. Just a bit doubt the bedding sheet for blanket is a bit too small.

If you like BBQ, the back year is so good for BBQ with many friends.

Like motels, I was waken up by neighbors every morning.

Room has very strong smell. I don't like it. Wifi is free, but too slow at nighttime.

Overall, if you are not too picky, it is a good choice for convenience.

Room Tip: Some rooms have fridge and microwave, some rooms have no bath tub. When you choose room, you may wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbourside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourside Motel

Address: 24 Carlton Street | Ontario, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Harbourside Hotel Tobermory
Harbourside Motel Tobermory, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourside Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.