We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Big Tub Harbour Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Tub Harbour Resort
236 Big Tub Road, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 hotels in Tobermory
Victoria Harbour, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Although the setting was beautiful the hotel was sub-par! We paid $160.00 with taxes for the night. Our room was clean, but missing the "normal" hotel niceties, there was no coffee maker, no ice machine, no phone and no hair dryer. Someone thought it was a good idea to put a small, roll-away bed on poorly laminated flooring, very noisy! The walk upstairs to the room was dicey!! The corridor floors where thin and in spots you could see the deck below!! Not worth the money!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
10
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Avon, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Booked just one evening here on a recent trip through the area. I had reserved a water-view room for extra cost (totaling about 150.00 including tax). We arrived shortly after a check-in and were given a room on the bottom floor of their two-floor building. We quickly decided the "premium" room was not worth the cost.

Positives: Very welcoming, friendly desk staff (family owned); the room seemed very clean; the general atmosphere of the location was serene and away from the hustle (about 1.25 miles from the village); the adjoining harbor is quite scenic; firm but comfortable bed, hot shower with good PSI.

Not so positive: hard, uncomfortable side chairs and no small table to place drinks /snack while enjoying the view, no holder for an open suitcase, squeaky floors above with every footstep heard below; terrible, thin bed pillows; no hairdryer; no AC (though it appeared that all the non-premium rooms did have AC), a sliding door toward the harbor but with no step-out balcony (one needs to walk down to the lawn below to enjoy the scene), harbor view obscured by trees, outdated CRT TV, no coffee maker (though coffee available in AM at reception), a simplistic push/twist-to-lock door knob that a ten-year old could compromise, no safety lock, and no parking area reserved for guests (in the evening the small lot fills with restaurant patrons). Certainly, these shortcomings are of themselves not deal killers, but taken together, we found the experience to be quite a disappointment for the price.

The adjoining restaurant/pub is owned by the same people and it seemed to do a good business, but I cannot offer much comment here since our schedule did not allow time to eat/drink there. I did notice that a draft beer was expensive ($6.75, I believe). That is quite up there for a Yank, but perhaps in the normal ball park for a Canadian tourist.

Room Tip: I do not recommend the extra expense of a water view room, at least in the two-floor building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathroy, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent our anniversary in Tobermory. Big Tub Harbour Resort was in a perfect setting on the water with beautiful cottages to look at. The rooms were basic with hard wood floors, but they were clean. There was the Bootlegger Pub attached to it with great and friendly staff. Good entertainment and great food. The patio looked over the water . It was a short walk to the Big Tub Lighthouse with swimming going on. I would recommend this place to everyone planing a trip to Tobermory. Thank you for a fantastic time.

Room Tip: Water side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Big Tub is listed here only as a hotel/place to stay. But it should be listed separately as a restaurant/pub. A great outdoor patio overlooking the water and cottages. A super menu and a nice selection of beers on tap. Bravo!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We just returned from 4 blissful days at the Big Tub Harbour Resort. We found our room to be newly renovated, meticulously clean, and very quiet and peaceful. The owners were extremely hospitable and friendly, and very knowledgeable about area attractions. The food in the Bootleggers Pub was delicious, and the "Three Men in a Tub" live music on Saturday night was a perfect way to relax after a day of hiking. The location of the resort was perfect, just a short 2 minute drive to town or a 2 minute walk to the Big Tub lighthouse to enjoy the sunset or watch the Chi-Cheemaun come in. The grounds and gardens were beautiful, and perfect for relaxing in a lounge chair to read a book and enjoy the view. We rented AquaBikes, kayaks and Paddle boards for a short ride to view the Big Tub shipwreck. Our new favorite place!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

As some of the other reviews have said. Request a room on the top floor. The floors are paper thin. You can hear people walking and can be quite loud and disturbing when you are trying to sleep. The rooms are clean and relatively large given there is no real seating 1 small chair not even a love seat or something. There was no dresser. Our clothes stayed in our suitcases the whole time. There was a cabinet where the TV was but it had no shelving. The staff were definitely nice. It's a family run establishment. Pricing was not the best, far from "downtown". Had to drive in to town or walk for 15-20 min.

Room Tip: Request the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls Ontario
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stopped here on our journey further north. The resort is geared to the summer season with marina and outdoors activities. The room was comfortable, clean and with a plesant view of the harbour. It is the first hotel that we've stayed in that had bare hardwood/laminate flooring with no carpets. It did make the room rather noisy. The moment sounds in the room above were somewhat annoying. The bed was also on a platform that made it rather high off the floor. Wouldn't want to fall out of it. The staff are very freindly and helpful and there is the very fine Bootlegger Pub on the premises. Good food, drink and entertainment.
You are only a 5 minute drive from the Tobermory Business Distrct where you can shop, dine and pick up variuos cruises and the ferry.

Room Tip: Request an upper room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Tub Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Tub Harbour Resort

Address: 236 Big Tub Road, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 hotels in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Big Tub Harbour Hotel Tobermory
Big Tub Harbour Resort Tobermory, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Tub Harbour Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Big Tub Harbour Resort to your Saves list