We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Tub Harbour Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Tub Harbour Resort
236 Big Tub Road, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 hotels in Tobermory
waterloo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

had a wonderful time, breakfast was great with fresh baked muffins, biscuits, corsaints, fresh fruit, juice, cereal etc, and ample food for all. rented a canoe, went hiking on the bruce trail, the staff was very friendly from breakfast through check out time.they informed me about cyprus lake and the under ground caves. had fun exploring the shops and some great icecream stores. rooms were clean and slept like a baby with the breeze off the lake. no access to the lake from your room, but sat on lawn chairs in a lovely area below watched the boats go by and found peace there when i wanted it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
10
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

It's not a resort...why would you put that in your name?! We booked the harbour view and there wasn't any view, it was blocked by trees. We paid extra for that. The sliding door didn't even open and there was one tiny little fan in the room. You had to hold the taps in the bathroom open to use them. If you wanted to wash your face, good luck because it would either be hot or cold water. If you're on the bottom floor, good luck. The people above us made noise all night and you could hear them walking on the floor above. As for breakfast, it was served between 7-9. Who wants to get up that early when you are on vacation?! They never re-filled the items either. If you came down late, you just had to make do with the one gross muffin that was left. It certainly was not worth the money we paid. I've stayed in nicer places for less. I understand there isn't much choice in Tobermory but don't overcharge for what you aren't...and that's a RESORT.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Loved the hardwood floor in the rooms. No elevator but it's okay as it's only 2 floors. The bathroom was recently renovated. Nice view. The free continental was a bonus. Short walk to the lighthouse.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed in a water view room with a sliding galss door (no balcony) opening towards the Big Tub. The view over the marina was nice, not spectacular, but marred a bit by the dirty windows in the sliding door. It was a beautiful July evening and luckily cool as there is no air conditioning or other openings to create a cross ventilation. The economy mattress offered little support and the dark decor was early motel. The breakfast was simple continental fare with good coffee.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

The hotel is nice, clean and the apartment seams that was reformed recently. Everything worked fine. I would recommend. The acoustic was not the best but it was ok.

Room Tip: Take the room in the second floor with windows in front of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We spent there Canada's Day long weekend, and at the beginning we were kind of skeptical with some reviews that we read here, but when we get there, everything went beyond our expectations. Rooms are neat, the bed sheets and the towels are perfect white, the staff was VERY friendly, the food in the pub was delicious, the breakfast was fine.
What we like the best: the hole city, what we like the least: the weekend was too short. With too many places to visit and too many things to do, you don't need anything better than this. We started planning our trip for next summer already.

Room Tip: upper floor water view are the better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia Ontario Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Stayed @ the Big Tub for 3 nights as our pre kids getting out of school get away and it was perfect as always, we haven't been in the last 2 years but the 2 before that we were there and thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quiet, we notice alot of upgrades in the last 3 years, not that it needed any when we were there before. We had stayed on the main drag our first 2 years going but didn't care for the noise and traffic , so we were really happy to find this place for our third trip and will never stay anywhere else . Some of these past reviews seem like they are talking about the wrong hotel and if they are complaining about sparse accommadations for the price try staying on the main drag of little Tub. This place is perfect to set up base for all there is to explore in the Bruce and the food @ the restaurant is excellent whether you want to eat in or back in your room . The owners & staff work very hard to make your stay the best so if looking for a hidden gem this is it, we will always stay here for our mid June getaways and look forward to next year. See Ya next year Curtis & Melissa

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Tub Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Tub Harbour Resort

Address: 236 Big Tub Road, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 hotels in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Big Tub Harbour Hotel Tobermory
Big Tub Harbour Resort Tobermory, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Tub Harbour Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Big Tub Harbour Resort to your Saves list