We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tobermory Resort, Inn & Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tobermory Resort, Inn & Suites
Save
You added Tobermory Resort, Inn & Suites to your Saves list
122 Bay Street S, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada (Formerly The Hub of the Tub)   |  
Hotel amenities
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

They change name quite often, be carefull.
Old motel, dirty rooms and awfull food.
Located a couple kilometers from Dowtonwn is the only benefit as you can walk to the restaurants nearby.
Nothing else to be said.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Courtice, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

There is a reason why they have no prices on the website. we were told that it was $190 for the weekend and then later told it was $190 per night. I think they know when people are stuck and take advantage of them. I don't mind paying money for a nice place but honestly this place is really terrible, the out door pool is closed, the beds are really old and uncomfortable, its dirty moldy and has tons of electrical nightmares. The continental breakfast is garbage coffee, tang orange juice and some day old muffins. it is currently called Tobermory resort, which really made us laugh. Our first room had the ceiling falling in and so we were moved to another room that was marginally better. It is just really poorly looked after, and I doubt that the positive reviews of the place are really true. If you can't find anywhere else to stay I would suggest that you don't bother coming. The town itself is great and we enjoyed the national park, the boat tours and the bar downtown but wish we could have stayed somewhere worth $190per night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed the night on 30th June-to 1st july 2014.
Here is our experience.

1. The girl (she said that she is not the manager) showed a room and gave the key after taking down our Credit Card Details. Once v came back in the evening, and opened the door, v found that there is another family occupied in the room.

2. Went to the office and asked about it from the Manager. She put the blame on the earlier girl and showed us a different room. which is very poor quality. Since it is evening v didn't have any other option than taking it.

3. The room has a broken door, the bathroom door not closing, non working TV , no fridge no microwave.

4. Most of all when asked from the Manager about Internet, she said we have WiFi. When the computer is hooked up, couldn't get internet. Once asked from the Manager, she sent a technician, who first said, the Antenna has a problem, then said, the breaker is blasted, then said the server needs to b restarted. Ultimate results was v didn't have internet for the night, so that all that v planned to do using internet, r jeopardized.

5. When that is inquired from the manager the following morning, she said it is due to the Internet Problem in whole Tobermory area, which is an utter lie, as the others whom v met next day said they had internet.

6. The Complementary breakfast they boast is nothing but a limited amount of stale food and once v started having that, a girl put a board saying that, the rest is for the buffet.

7. More over, they charged $145/-, where most of the nearby places, charge 50~100.

I wonder y this trip advisor doesn't have a rating stars with hating factor, if that was there, I'd have given five hates. V will never stay in this place - NEVER.

Room Tip: B there a bit earlier, so that u cud find a better place.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had a reservation for August 24th at another motel in the area. Unfortunately there was a mixup and we arrived to find that we had no reservation. We were riding motorbikes heading to Manitoulin Island next day, it was early afternoon on a busy Saturday and expectation of finding something was low to nil. The clerk at the mixed up motel made some phone calls and found us a spot at The Tobermory Lodge (The Hub of the Tub). We were so grateful to have a room we would have taken just about anything.
The room had seen better days. It was very basic and moderately clean if you didn't look too closely.
The dining room advertised as a "gastro pub" and we thought we would have a beer on the patio. Chef Denny offered us some perogies to go with our beer. We didn't see another likely snack on the menu so accepted his offer. Well I can tell you he made our day. The food was the most delicious I'd tasted in a while and we were most impressed.
We went back for dinner. It seems these are new owners and they sure could use some help. the wait for dinner was a lot longer than I would normally be happy with however we had nothing else to do so we waited. Well worth the wait. Chef Denny clearly shines in his kitchen.
I hope these new owners are able to pull things together to get their property in the condition it deserves. Tobermory clearly could use the extra accommodation at least in the summertime. Would I go back? Yes. without a doubt. Might I skip the accommodation and head for the restaurant - maybe. I might add, these rooms are not cheap $175.00 including tax for one night. Understandably the revenue is needed at this time of year, but we expected a little more. Food prices were average and acceptable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

When we took a last-minute trip to Tobermory, we wouldn't have thought it would be so difficult to find a room for the night. This motel was the only place in Tobermory with an availability that night.

We were pleasantly surprised with our stay here. The rooms were CLEAN! and featured a beautiful view of the harbour, where we could watch the Chi Chimaun come and go.

We ate dinner at the attached restaurant. The battered fish was cooked nicely, the batter was delicate and the fish was ice and hot. The menu lacked any options for kids.

The indoor pool was big and clean. A hot tub and sauna room are also down there.

If the night was a bit warmer, we might have made use of one of the campfire pits throughout the property.

We were told by staff to come back down to the restaurant for free continental breakfast. Hours were from 9am - 11am, which is pretty late in the morning to be starting breakfast. We stuck around until 9, only to find the restaurant was CLOSED on Wednesdays! So the included breakfast is available 6 out of 7 days it seems. We were disappointed our stay ended like this.

Make other arrangements for breakfast if I want an early start to my day (or if I'm staying on a Tuesday!)

I would surely come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

If we had seen the other reviews first, we may not have come here. Our booking at another lodge was botched up, and every place we called or drove to was full and had no rooms available. Finally we tried, The Hub of the Tub, (Tobermory Lodge) and they had a room.

Drove there and checked in immediately.

Room: Yes, the room was old, mouldy smelling and outdated. But the A.C was working, it had a great view of the water and the bar downstairs and lounge area was great!

Lounge area and dining: Was not prepared for the owner (John?) to actually cook us a fantastic platter of food for a late night dinner. Another family that also checked in late like us, had the same food platters and we even took pictures of it! The lounge area is sort of old western. You could easily picture yourself surrounded by cowboys here. They have coffee and tea on the table for you to have free anytime.

No restaurant but you can tell reception what you want for breakfast, lunch or dinner and they get it for you if they can. (Guess only if John? is there??) Please read about the prices first though.

Prices: The room price was $70 a night, but the price he charged for the food was outrageous. Over a $100 (think for the four of us it was close to $180). No more eating there!!!

Would we stay here again? Maybe if it was the only place available. But overall experience...not bad (except for the dinner bill).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tobermory Resort, Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tobermory Resort, Inn & Suites

Address: 122 Bay Street S, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada (Formerly The Hub of the Tub)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Tobermory
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Tobermory Hotel Tobermory
Tobermory Lodge And Motel
Tobermory Resort, Inn & Suites Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tobermory Resort, Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.