We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, private, secluded and on quiet side. Note: it's leaving the Waldorf brand at end of July” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Iruveli

Save Saved
You added Beach House Iruveli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beach House Iruveli
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 2062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Manafaru Island
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great resort, private, secluded and on quiet side. Note: it's leaving the Waldorf brand at end of July”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Just got back from a wonderful 5 night stay at the WA Beach House..

I will try to point out some things I was wondering about prior to traveling.

Firstly, we were debating for a long time which hotel to chose, between the Conrad or the Waldorf. In the end we chose WA, and I'm happy we did. Things that were most important to us were privacy, seclusion, empty beaches, and superb service, all of which we found at the Waldorf.

We were coming from a very long trip from the US, and wanted to make sure it's worth our while.

Upon arrival at Male we were met and driven to the Waldorf/Conrad lounge. Beautiful lounge located at the seaplane airport, with a great view of all the landing seaplanes.. They serve breakfast and offer complimentary back and shoulder massage. 2 hours after arrival our plane was ready and we were taken to the luxurious seaplane which apparently has less seats than the other seaplanes - 10 in total, and the interior is really nice (leather seats, etc..). I recommend going on first and sitting next to the pilots, really interesting to see how they operate. Also on the way to the resort I found the nicer view seemed to be to visible to those sitting on the right side of the plane..

The seaplane ride is long about 80 minutes, but was very enjoyable, just looking out the window and seeing all the different islands, was breathtaking.. I didn't mind the longer plane ride.

Upon arrival we were met by a group of employes as well as the Director of operations, who greeted us by name. We met our villa host who drove us directly to our Ocean villa where we checked in by signing a paper or two. The ocean villas were very convenient for us, they were a little more secluded, and there are less of them. As others have said, the even numbers are sunset side, odd are sunrise side. The advantage of the Ocean villas seem to be more private than the Water Vilas.

Ocean villas are located near the Amazon pool which was very convenient. Also not far from the Jetty and where the sports and diving center are located.

The waters during the rainy season seemed a bit rough and choppy, snorkeling off the rooms isn't great although you do see some fish. We took two snorkeling trips, one cost $70 and lasts for 3 hours visiting two snorkeling spots, the other is complimentary and lasts for 1.5 hours and visits one spot. Both trips were nice. I didn't see any amazing fish, although someone spotted a turtle. When weather is bad, trips can be cancelled so keep that in mind. (on the paid trip we were given complimentary juices and fruit on the way back, the free trip had only water).

On my last day, I decided to go snorkeling at the end of the jetty and was amazed to see so many fish, more than I saw on the snorkeling trip although they were for the most part smaller fish.

I also rented a Jetski which was great fun. Costs $100 for 30 minutes, definitely worth it.

I was pleasantly surprised at the lack of mosquitos and bugs.. I brought repellant and it was not at all necessary.

They have a wonderful kids club with great staff. They have a nice kiddie pool and games toys etc.. We also used their babysitting service (for a fee of $17 an hour) during our trips and were very happy with it..

Unfortunately this property is leaving the Hilton brand at the end of July. There are rumors of it being taken over by the Intercontinental but it's just a rumor at this point. Seems like a lot of the staff would like to stay with one of the other Hilton properties and might leave this resort.. Also heard among some of the workers rumors of the Soneva Gilli getting taken over by the Waldorf, but again it's just rumors and no one really knows what will happen.

Overall great stay. Our villa host Mihad was great!! Cedric, the director of operations was also a big help. Overall highly recommended.

Room Tip: For most privacy ask for last Ocean villas, sunset side is 214, sunrise is 221 if I'm not mistak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Beach House Iruveli, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear chaimdan,

Thank you for staying at Waldorf Astoria Maldives, it was a pleasure having you and your family with us.

Your feedback and insights are very much appreciated and we are pleased that our resort met with all your important criteria for choosing to stay with us.

Your comments have been shared with our Director of Operations Cedric Nubul, Mihad and the rest of our team, who are most delighted that you enjoyed a wonderful stay experience with us. Your photos certainly speak for themselves!

Sadly, the resort will no longer be associated with the Waldorf Astoria Brand nor any other Hilton Worldwide Brand with effect from July 29, 2012.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope there will be an opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Alan Stocker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    53
    25
    13
    12
See reviews for
33
234
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We visited Waldorf Astoria during our trip to the Maldives end of June till 10 July 2011. I was one of the best hotels I've stayed at. The staff were helpful and accommodating.

Rooms:
We stayed in the "King Ocean Villas" although a little farther away from the center of all activities on the island we were happy with our choice as these villas are built a little further apart and provide plenty of privacy. The rooms are divided into a sleeping/living area and the washroom/bath ear with a corridor in between. The rooms a relatively spacious however I wouldn't recommend them for more than 2 occupants.The rooms are cleaned twice a day, a complementary fruit bowl and water bottles are placed in the room daily.

Diving & Water sports:
The resort has its own diving and water sports center equipped with motorized and non-motorized water recreational activities. The diving center is staffed by PADI certified instructors and courses are available for diving, snorkeling, wind surfing etc available at a price. We picked up some fins, snorkels and goggles from here and took them back to our villas, all free of charge! Free diving excursions leave every morning.
You can also hire a private boat and go out big game fishing like we did. we caught a sailfish, a huge red snapper, tuna, barracuda and other fish which the captain will allow you to take back and chiefs will prepare it for you for dinner.

Food & Dinning:
The Breakfast buffet is a feast at Waldorf Astoria with plenty of choices to choose from. Traditional continental, Traditional Maldivian, Asian, fresh fruits etc.
Other restaurants around the island presented some good food. Saffron had a 'theme' night almost every night. But we usually have dinner at Medium Rare. We had dinner there once and then walked down the beach all the way back to our villas under the moon light, amazing.
We usually spent lazy afternoons around the pool bar had which offers light snacks and drinks.
In Villa dining was ok for days we didn't feel like getting up and going to a restaurant.

Spa:
The spa was really good. They had ayurvedic treatments, thai massages, facials, steam baths etc. They also have a small beauty center. You can get free yoga classes every morning/evening or get a private yoga class whenever you feel like it.

Other:
On rainy days we went out to the business center and played pool. They had a ping-pong table, xbox, free internet, books and mags. You can also play tennis.
They have a ridiculously priced shop that sells clothes, accessories, gifts etc and a jewelry shop too.

I would definitely recommend visiting Waldorf if you plan on going to the northern atolls however the flight there can be tiring.

Make sure you bring along plenty of strong sunscreen, light clothes, slippers (optional), sun hat, sun glasses, something to read, a underwater camera, and mosquito/bug repellent.

Enjoy :)

Room Tip: Water villas are better than the beach ones however make sure to choose the water villas on the &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanS97, General Manager at Beach House Iruveli, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Fatema81,

Thank you for posting your review of Waldorf Astoria Maldives, we are delighted that your holiday with us in 2011 remains fresh in your mind!

We very much appreciate your thorough feedback of our resort, as well as the photographs you have posted with your review. Indeed, it is very nice to know that you made full use of our facilities, enjoyed our food and had a very successful game fishing trip.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope you will stay with us again, should you plan another Maldives holiday in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Alan Stocker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

First of all we arrive and we get the most amazing welcome there is to get. our villa host made sure we had everything we needed at all times during the day and night. little cards were put in our room to remind us of our excursions or dinner plans. just all the details this resort gives are amazing. I have never felt so special in my life at any other hotel/resort i have been to. the decorations they had done on our bed for our anniversary were so precious and you could tell they put in a lot of effort to make it look "perfect". Such friendly staff they had, and no matter what you did and where you were, the staff was so courteous and professional. It was a delight! All the things they did and the extra mile they took to make us happy was out of this world!! Just amazing experience. hands down, best resort i have stayed at in my life! (not exaggerating!) :)

Room Tip: Ask for the beach villas or Ocean villas! AMAZING!!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan S, General Manager at Beach House Iruveli, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear llsamirall,

Thank you for your compliments of Waldorf Astoria Maldives, it is a pleasure to know that you had a most memorable anniversary holiday with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our service and hospitality. Indeed, we believe that every little detail is important in contributing towards a positive stay experience for all our guests, and I am happy to know that you felt well looked after throughout your stay.

Thanks again for your review and we hope you will plan another anniversary vacation with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Alan Stocker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

It is a beautiful secluded property. The service is great with your own villa host to help you with everything. The rooms are very well done and give you a true feeling of luxury. There are only 2 proper restaurants but the one called 'Medium Rare' is excellent.

We loved the couples therapy at the spa and the complimentary snorkeling. The jetty near the diving center is a good snorkeling option.

The water, beaches, service and seclusion together make this a wonderful choice for couples.

Room Tip: All water villas are good, though it may be a long walk to the higher number ones. Ocean villas do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan S, General Manager at Beach House Iruveli, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear RGT18,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Waldorf Astoria Maldives.

My team and I are most delighted that you enjoyed a "perfect" honeymoon with us. We truly appreciate your kind feedback on the resort, our service, the spa and your compliment on Medium Rare.

We hope that you will plan to return and relive the wonderful memories of your stay in the future!

Yours sincerely,
Alan Stocker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roorkee, Uttarakhand, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

This was my first trip outside India. Lovely place. Simply enjoyed the natural beauty of the islands. Stayed at the water villa. It was a wonderful experience. The staffs were very welcoming. Food was also delicious. Overall I would rate it excellent. Would love to go there again on my next vacation.

Room Tip: Water Villas are have the best 'value for money'
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan S, General Manager at Beach House Iruveli, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear shyochu,

It is a pleasure to know that your first trip outside India was an enjoyable experience at Waldorf Astoria Maldives.

We very much appreciate your kind feedback on our team, food offering and especially your overall rating of the resort.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next vacation.

Yours sincerely,
Alan Stocker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We spend a week here in 2008 (just enough time) could not have asked for more - peaceful, excellent service & food. It rained on 2 days 0 but there was plenty to do around the small island.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan S, General Manager at Beach House Iruveli, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear RAMGLondon,

Thank you for your kind review of Waldorf Astoria Maldives. We are very pleased to know that your stay left you with many good memories!

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Alan Stocker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Maldives have some very good resorts, and we’ve been already in some, so that was our idea when we made the reservation for this trip – to relax and enjoy.
And really the place is breathtaking. The hotel is not a very luxurious one – only the price is a luxury, 3 thousand US$ a day.
The problem was our flight back on a seaplane. We had an international flight on 5:30 pm, but they made us leave the hotel on 8:30 am. Their allegation was that of course they have our flight number, but they can’t change the existing arrangements for seaplane. So we had to leave early morning despite our will. Don’t miss understand, it’s a 5 star hotel, and we’re not used to this kind of treatment in a 5 star hotel. So if you think to go there, please check your flight schedule before.

Room Tip: sun rise ocean villa is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan S, General Manager at Beach House Iruveli, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear tmeizler,

Thank you for your review of Waldorf Astoria Maldives. While we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we are also very sorry that your departure arrangements were not what you had requested.

As far as possible, we do our best to accommodate all our guests' flight schedules and seat bookings on the seaplane. We sincerely regret the inconvenience you experienced.

We very much appreciate your feedback and hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Alan Stocker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manafaru Island
Island Hideaway Spa, Resort & Ma... 4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews Asseyri Tourist Inn 4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
View all 1 hotels in Manafaru Island, ranked by popularity

Been to Beach House Iruveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Iruveli

Address: PO Box 2062
Location: Maldives > Haa Alif Atoll > Manafaru Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Manafaru Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach House Iruveli 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the northernmost atoll of the Maldives, Haa Alifu, Beach House Iruveli recreates the style and charm of traditional Maldivian hospitality, while seamlessly blending Asian traditions of simplicity and elegance to its overall appeal. The resort offers a level of serenity unsurpassed in the Maldives. Sleek and contemporary, it offers unparalleled luxury to the discerning few. Experience luxury in the inimitable Beach House style - effortlessly chic while maintaining the charm and tradition that is indigenous to the islands. With two additional private islands to escape to near the resort, you are promised a journey of discovery, and an array of delightful opportunities to experience the virgin beauty of Maldives. Take your pick from the beautifully designed contemporary thatched villas, complete with your own private pool and a Villa Host to attend to your every whim. Each villa is a celebration of sleek, contemporary Maldivian architecture, where floor to ceiling doors opening out onto a spacious deck blur the boundaries between the indoors and outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Beach House Iruveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Maldives Hotel Haa Aliff Atoll
Beach Hotel Alifu Atoll
The Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House Iruveli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.