We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home in sunny Spain!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa de Alquezar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa de Alquezar to your Saves list
Villa de Alquezar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Pedro Arnal Cavero 12, 22145 Alquezar, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alquezar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“My home away from home in sunny Spain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Oh my oh my oh my...I love this place and hospitality welcome received! We came here as part of a 7 day walk and I must say, it doesn't get any better than this. Situated in a really lovely looking village amongst the mountains, this place just radiates warmth (and I'm not just talking about the temp). Unfortunately we went there at the start of the low season which meant that is was really quiet. However, it's really not hard to imagine how busy and cosy it can get during the summer.

Getting carried away here, the rooms at the village are super cosy, with their own bathrooms and super power showers. The rooms that we stayed in had their own tv and good wifi signal. Overall it was a really comfortable stay. A real welcome, especially after a long walk. The people who works here were very nice. There is one Dutch lady's who, as well as fluent Spanish, also speaks Dutch and I'm sure also English too. The rest no Englais, but I guess that's the charm of it eh? I can't say how much the rooms cost as it was bundled in with the package but from the looks of things, quite reasonable (brekkie was also included and was yummy. Do be aware of lack of fresh bread though if your used to that).

I give it twelve thumbs up for everything, rooms, breakfast, hospitality, warm fireplace (yes!). a great palace and. Nice substitute to your home away from home!! I miss you already!!!

Room Tip: Eat the free sweeties in the room...they are yummy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadealquezar, Propietario at Villa de Alquezar, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice words!! It has been a pleasure having you!!
Kind regards, Mariano, Merche and Ela (the Dutch lady)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    43
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
28
77
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlaar
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

In fact to write a review one should have stayed at other nearby hotels as well. Although the village of Alquezar is simply fantastic, the hotel itself doesn't reach the same level as the village itself. Rooms are rather basic and above all too warm. Some may like the breakfast at the table but we again thought it was basic ( and cramped with 4 at a small table ). Good excercise for your car parking skills. A charming detail were the church bells of 2 competing churches ringing every 15 minutes all night long.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire UK
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on our way back to France. We picked this location because we are birders and there are a number of good birding sites fairly locally. However, we weren't expecting such a delightful location. The village is full of history and interesting buildings one of which is this hotel.
We were greeted by a Dutch lady in reception so we could all speak in English! Our room was a little small but very comfortable with a nice view over the roof tops of the surrounding area.
The hotel doesn't do evening meals but there are a large number of somewhat 'touristy' bars and restaurants in the nearby town square which is a three minute walk away from the hotel.
The breakfasts at the hotel were very good indeed with the table being set out for you with a very varied selection of continental fare. You won't go hungry here! The service (some English spoken) was also very good indeed.
Had we had the time we would have willingly stayed here for a week as the local birding was very good despite the lateness in the season and, just down the road at Barbesco, there is the wine area of Somanto to explore.
What a discovery!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in June 2012. We had a wonderful time. When we arrived at the hotel something was wrong with our reservation (the hotel made this mistake). Fortunately, they corrected it and we finally got the room we booked: a beautiful room with a fantastic view over the village and the surroundings...The hotel apologised for this mistake and in the evening, when we arrived back in the hotel from diner, we found a nice cooled bottle of very good champagne in our room....Breakfast is great and the hotel staff is friendly. The hotel has its own parking garage, although rather small, but very convenient. The village is very nice and you can make beautiful walks through the surroundings canyons. Very nice hotel in a lovely village!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zielona Gora, Poland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Very nice hotel in an old building beautifully suited to the style of the city. The rustic interior gives his character. Nice services but do not speak English :-(
Generally an amazing place and the right hotel for a romantic stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Lovely Hotel with car parking. Impressive view of Castle from our room. Fulfilling breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff. Central location. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This is a lovely little place in the heart of a gorgeous town. Yes, the rooms are a bit bare and don't expect luxury here. But the place fits with the environment and you have to accept its rustic charm. Yes, it is also hard to find at first. But so is everything in this tiny town. I think its part of fun to explore it. The management is very friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable enough - if. I recommend spending extra for a balcony and view. I resisted and regretted it as the view is really the most impressive thing about the place and location.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa de Alquezar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa de Alquezar

Address: Calle Pedro Arnal Cavero 12, 22145 Alquezar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Huesca > Alquezar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alquezar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa de Alquezar 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa de Alquezar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Alquezar
De Alquezar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa de Alquezar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.