We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh fish not fake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria La Lampara

Trattoria La Lampara
Via Marcello Salomone, 128, 89812 Pizzo, Italy
+39 347 887 6710
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 60 restaurants in Pizzo
Price range: $33 - $49
Cuisines: Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fresh fish not fake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Nothing fake about this place ! All is real no fake or iced fish, no better place for very very utterly fresh fish there !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    193
    79
    19
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Having read many of the reviews and personal recommendations for Trattoria La Lampara we were very excited about our visit there. There are two sittings 8pm and 9.30pm. We opted for the early sitting at 8pm. The restaurant itself is very nice and we had a lovely table at the rear. Unfortunately we couldn't read the daily board from where we were so that proved a little difficult so we just opted for the normal menu. There was no house red wine on the menu not a very good start for us as we always like to try the house red. Our antipasti arrived very promptly all going well so far. Primi was fine too nothing special, then my husbands Secondi came no sign of mine even though we hadn't finished first course.After waiting a while we called the waiter who apologised and eventually brought mine at 9.20pm. I was disappointed that I didn't get my fish as ordered but was given something to hurry me up.Overall we were rushed along like a conveyor belt and the experience wasn't as good as it should have been. I would advise against booking a table for the first sitting as it doesn't allow any time mishaps.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brugge
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Great fresh fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went to eat here in July, we arrived at 20h15 and we were the first people to arrive in the restaurant. They said they only had 1 table left (I tought it was a joke), but 30 minutes later the whole restaurant was filled with locals!

They have a menu that changes daily. We had fresh spada (swordfish) which was excellent.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good eating in Pizzo !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We went twice to this fantastic eatery. Attentive service, friendly management, great seafood. It's not easy to find but just ask a local!! There is no set menu for the main seafood dishes as it depends on the catch of the day, so, enjoy the freshest seafood Calabria has to offer!! The resident chef is English speaking so ask him to recommend the best dishes of the day.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Whilst on holiday myself & my husband went to la lampara based on the reviews from tripadvisor and it was the best choice we made the whole 2 weeks....the food is fabulous as was the service, atmosphere & cleanliness. We will most certainly return when we are back at the end of the year and will recommend to everyone who stays in our apartment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria La Lampara also viewed

Pizzo, Province of Vibo Valentia
Pizzo, Province of Vibo Valentia
 
Pizzo, Province of Vibo Valentia
Pizzo, Province of Vibo Valentia
 

Been to Trattoria La Lampara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria La Lampara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.