We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piccolo Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Piccolo Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Piccolo Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Leoluca Chiaravalloti, 32, 89812 Pizzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Pizzo
Oakland, California, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

the staff of this hotel is very friendly and accomodating, the hotel is lovely, and breakfasts and dinners there were memorable. Eating upstairs on the deck w views of the Calabrian coast are not to be missed. John and I did a month anniversary tour of Italy in 2011. We stayed here a week on recomendation of my calabrian girlfriend. We discovered the charming bakery on the right hand side at the end of the same street too late. Don't miss his Baba au rum. Location is great and the lobby and decorations are wonderful. In a town famous for tartuffo (the gelato) not the mushroom, this place is a charming wonderful find.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccoloGrandHotel, il team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
we thank you very much for your nice words. We hope to see you again here in Pizzo where we can eat a big tartufo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
71
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sag harbor ny
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Location perfect rates--out of this world service and breakfast the best --room cleanliness can't compare and staff go above and beyond their duty. & as I mentioned I have worked in 5 star hotels in New York City and I am proud to state that this hotels meets and exceeds the 5 star requirements everything was purely perfect

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccoloGrandHotel, il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
wowowowowowoowowowoowowow thank you very much we hope to see you again in Pizzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel in a central location of Pizzo, very clean with amazing interior design. Staff was very friendly and most helpful, we miss them already. Breakfast with home made bread and cakes served on a terrace with spectacular sea views. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccoloGrandHotel, il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Anne we thank you for your stay and for choosing our hotel in Pizzo. We were really pleased to meet your mom and you.
we are looking forward to see you again in Pizzo with all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I didn't really know what to expect from our hotel as we drove in to Pizzo -- a very cute coastal town that feels like it has felt the ravages of the global recession more than most. But when we walked in the Piccolo Grand Hotel, I was blown away. The place is beautiful and the staff incredibly friendly and helpful. Breakfast on the penthouse terrace is fantastic. I highly recommend this place to anyone who wants a clean, well-designed space.

Room Tip: We stayed in the penthouse apartment. I would seriously consider going back to rent it for a month o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccoloGrandHotel, il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Piccolo Grand Hotel= Insider Tip ;-) thank you very much for choosing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We just returned from a 2 weeks holiday in Calabria.
Our 3 nights stay at the Piccolo Grand Hotel was one of the highlights of our holiday !!!
Vincenza, Sandra, Kala, Gustavo and their colleagues give you 5 star service.
Every morning, we enjoyed a very good breakfast on the rooftop terrace with panoramic views ! Breakfast includes homemade cakes, different breads, fresh fruit salad, fresh juices, choice of eggs, quality ham, quality cheese, ...
Our room on the second floor was modern and had a comfortable bathroom with a shower.
We recommend the Piccolo Grand hotel if you are looking for a luxury boutique hotel in Pizzo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccoloGrandHotel, il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
thank you very much for choosing our hotel. you are also very friendly and your italian is very good. we hope to see you again in Pizzo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a very special hotel due to the staff who run it. The breakfast was homemade and delicious, nothing was ever too much trouble and Sandra even rang ahead to check that my daughter had reached an appointment safely. Thank you all very much indeed, we will definitely be back.
Angela and Georgia, London

Room Tip: Our room had a wonderful view of the sea and the coastline
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccoloGrandHotel, il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Google Translation
Buongiorno Angela,
Buongiorno Giorgia,
grazie mille per la vostra recensione. é stato un piacere conoscervi con la speranza di rivedervi a Pizzo in una vacanza futura. Cari saluti da tutti noi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Beautifully decorated German owned hotel, off the main square in Pizzo, minutes from the beach, staff are wonderfully helpful, all you have to do is ask. Breakfast all home-made by the Malaysian lady ( sorry don't know her name) is a feast for eyes and tummy! We enjoyed 2 very relaxing nights in stormy weather - that speaks for itself. There are lots of restaurants all around the hotel. Our room overlooked the sea, and the coast to the left and right of Pizzo. Really recommend you stay here - treat yourself!

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view - treat yourself to a suite if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccoloGrandHotel, il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We thank you very much for your review. The malaysian lady is Kala and we know that she makes good cake we eat also :-) :-) :-). For information ONLY the rooms on the 2nd floor have sea view and of course the suite on the 3rd floor. GRAZIE one more time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piccolo Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Grand Hotel

Address: Via Leoluca Chiaravalloti, 32, 89812 Pizzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Pizzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pizzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Piccolo Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Piccolo Grand Hotel, located in the heart of Pizzo Calabro, is a four star hotel, small but elegant, consisting of 9 spacious rooms with balcony or terrace, including eight doubles and one suite. Comfortable and quiet , are all equipped with bath or shower, Flat TV, safe, direct dial telephone, free internet access. To enjoy the view and the fresh morning air, if time permits, we serve each morning a rich buffet breakfast on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Piccolo Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Grand Hotel Italy/Pizzo, Calabria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccolo Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.