We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piccolo Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Piccolo Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Piccolo Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Leoluca Chiaravalloti, 32, 89812 Pizzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Pizzo
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“A dream place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for five nights in April. The rooms are lovely, beautiful and spotlessly clean. The staff are absolutely wonderful, friendly, kind and very attentive. We felt like at home and we miss them! Kala's breakfast on the terrace was perfect. She makes the most wonderful cakes and is such a sweet and special lady. Vincenza and Sandra are also wonderful, so thoughtful and kind and so generous with their time and tips. Whilst we were at the hotel Kala cooked for us a special malaysian meal one evening and it was outstanding - a very special experience! We loved the hotel and the staff so much that we have sent our parents here for a very special birthday present - that is how much we loved our time at Pizzo. We cannot wait to return!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccoloGrandHotel, il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
what we can say more???? just thank you to have choosing our hotel and we wait your family's arrival next week. We hope to see you again here maybe for another birthday ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
68
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have visited Pizzo on a number of occasions but had never stayed in this hotel before. It will now be our only hotel in Pizzo. The rooms are lovely and immaculate, the views from the roof-top terrace are incredible, the food is excellent and the staff is phenomenal. I can't say enough about the staff. They were friendly and very willing to help in any way to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

As has been mentioned in a number of other reviews, the street in front of the hotel is extremely narrow. Our car would never have fit there but the staff was very willing to use their electric car to drive us to our parking spot and various other locations. They also used the car to transport our luggage.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccoloGrandHotel, il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
thank you thank you thank you we are pleased that you have taken our hotel into consideration for you holiday. as staff we try to assure to our guest that everything will be done to make the stay with us a peaceful and serene. We remember the time with you and of course with your dad :-) warmest wishes to all of you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Spent 5 wonderful days at the Piccolo Grand Hotel on a family location. The location, and rooms were perfect, the staff was incredibly accommodating and went above and beyond to make sure our stay was pleasant. The roof top terrace is a fantastic location for breakfast or to read a book in the afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccoloGrandHotel, il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
we thank you very much for your kindly message. We hope to see you again in Pizzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This small hotel in Pizzo is a breath of fresh air. It's clean with all mod cons. It is walking distance to the main square of town and you must have a Tartuffo gelato here, it's the home of Tartuffo after all!! Do yourself a favour and have a drink at sunset on the roof top bar or at least have your lovely included breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: Don't drive down the road with a large car.. It's a little scary it's soooo narrow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccoloGrandHotel, il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for your message here. Pizzo is famous for its Tartufo ice a ball of ice-cream filled with chocolate. mmmmhhhhh slurp. We hope to see you again fon another coffee or tartufo together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel is immaculate. The staff are so helpful. Rooms are very clean, spacious and relaxing. I do recommend this hotel for couples who are looking for a relaxing holiday.
I'd like to thank all the staff at this hotel for a fabulous stay. Xxx

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccoloGrandHotel, il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Ciao ragazzi, we thank you very much for your stay and we hope to see you next time in Pizzo and when you arrive with train let us know we wait for you ;-) ciaooooooo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYorks
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Loved the hotel, loved the friendly staff and loved Pizzo - the town is slightly worn round the edges but ever so charming - right down to the church bells - none of which actually chime on the hour.

The owners of the hotel really know what they are doing when laying out the rooms, everything where it should be and of the highest standard.

We had room 9 on the top floor overlooking the sea and with its own terrace - fantastic. Although it was the first week in October we had really warm weather - which all helped us have a great week's holiday at the Piccolo.

As for the staff they were all so friendly and helpful. A special mention for Carla and her wonderful breakfasts. However, one night we opted to stay at the hotel and have Carla prepare a meal for us. It was the best meal of the whole week. So if you want a really well prepared meal don't miss out on having one of Carla's dinners. A big thank you to everyone at the Piccolo, we can't wait to come again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccoloGrandHotel, il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
As first time in Pizzo and in our hotel we can say all was good :-) your happiness is our best gift
Grazie e... a presto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Piccolo Grand stands out as a subtly illuminated jewel in the workaday town of Pizzo.It is situated down a narrow (1 car width) street, close to the main piazza, so handy for bars, restaurants, pizzerias etc. It is a small 12 bedroomed boutique hotel which has been creatively and tastefully designed with lots of attention to detail; brilliant white walls, bright contrasting furnishings, marble steps, vividly coloured artwork, soft pastel lighting and quirky murals. Our room, No 6, overlooked the main street with views over the rooftops to the sea. The room, as was the whole hotel, was immaculately maintained; very clean with beautiful matching furnishings. Although the room was on the small side, there was adequate storage and the adjoining shower room, also quite compact was well maintained and very clean. A small balcony overlooked the street below but was not large enough for any seating. We could not access any English speaking channels on the TV, but had good free wi-fi access in all areas of the hotel. A star feature of the Piccolo Grand has to be the rooftop terrace where breakfast was served. It was beautifully set out, again very stylish and comfortable. Karla, who managed the terrace area, made breakfast to order; great coffee, freshly made juices, eggs cooked to order, delicious home made cakes and there was an abundance of good quality breakfast food from cereal to cold meats. We enjoyed our stay very much. It was quite an upmarket hotel for Pizzo and more expensive than most others, but it did provide excellent quality. The staff were friendly and keen to offer help and advice. One thing to be aware of is the limited parking. The staff were helpful in guiding us to a vacant slot when we returned after a day's sightseeing but the streets are very narrow so the smaller the car, the better!
After a recommendation from another hotel guest we had dinner in the main piazza, (the restaurant with orange table clothes! - ) pretty basic food - pizza and pasta - but it was delicious and inexpensive. The local Negromare wine is worth looking out for as is the tartufo dessert.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccoloGrandHotel, il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We thank you very much for your comment. We know that our strong point is the terrace where each morning our guest are served a plentiful buffet breakfast of fresh fruit, Kala's cakes, cold cuts and other tasty things. As the hotel is situated in the historic centre is not possible to reach us with a big car of course but the public parking area are not fair from here. We hope to have the opportunity to meet you in Pizzo again. Grazie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piccolo Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Grand Hotel

Address: Via Leoluca Chiaravalloti, 32, 89812 Pizzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Pizzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pizzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Piccolo Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Piccolo Grand Hotel, located in the heart of Pizzo Calabro, is a four star hotel, small but elegant, consisting of 9 spacious rooms with balcony or terrace, including eight doubles and one suite. Comfortable and quiet , are all equipped with bath or shower, Flat TV, safe, direct dial telephone, free internet access. To enjoy the view and the fresh morning air, if time permits, we serve each morning a rich buffet breakfast on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Piccolo Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Grand Hotel Italy/Pizzo, Calabria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccolo Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.