We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wintersport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saint Martin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Saint Martin to your Saves list
Hotel Saint Martin
Les Grangeraies, 73440 Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
“wintersport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

we were there last year. the ski is the same that in courchevel and the 3 vallees.Charming rooms, very spacious and comfy with cable and internet access, as well as welcoming gifts such as Belgium chocolate. The restaurant is especially good, with a fantastic cheesefondue!
Mr and Mrs Olive as well as the staff are so welcoming and kind that they transform every holliday in a dream

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nosybo, Gérant at Hotel Saint Martin, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Google Translation
Chers clients ,

Nous vous remercions infiniment pour vos chaleureux commentaires...
Votre satisfaction est la meilleure des récompenses pour toutes nos équipes.
Nous serons ravis de vous accueillir à nouveau parmi nous...
Sincères salutations.

Bertrand OLIVE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    6
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel deserves its three star rating due to a generally good level of comfort of the rooms and a very good kitchen for dinner.
The staff is indeed friendly and so are the owners.

However there are a number of issues, as reported by previous reviews which, quite interestingly, the management does not want to fix or cannot be fixed at all...
The wifi is definitely disfunctionnal and that cannot seem to bother the management. Breakfast is quite basic and the good stuff seems to be either rationed or slow to be refilled. Servcie is on average slow at the restaurant not to say very slow.

The Spa is in a small underground space There is no real common and lively space as the bar and a few coaches are located adjacent to the reception area, hence not much life after dinner

All in all, a rather expensive hotel for what it really has to offer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

As a client for the past five years, this hotel has been a constant surprise!!! Every year the hotel is improving only to become one the best three stars hotels in the 3 Vallees.
Charming rooms, very spacious and comfy with cable and internet access, as well as welcoming gifts such as Belgium chocolate. Rooms with views on the valley and the small little village of Saint Martin, a typical picture in the french Alps !!!!
The restaurant is especially good, with a chef that's specializing on satisfying your wishes and making your culinary dreams come true for every meal. Amazing breakfast with both french pastries and american style breakfast, amazing jams and breads making every morning a dream
With its special location on the slopes you can leave for a a perfect day of ski with the sun and come back just as easily on the sunny afternoon and enjoy the hotel's waffles for an afternoon's delight...
In the end, the hotel has everything to make your stay unforgettable, especially the managers, Mr and Mrs Olive as well as the staff who are always so welcoming and ready to answer your every need

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are the best and don't forget to try the fondue after a cold day of ski
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Good: great location in a beautiful village that is part of the largest ski terrain in the world: Les 3 Vallees with 40,000 Ha of ski area. Very nice restaurant and bar staff. Good diner for one night (the other night was not very good).

The Bad: hungry management (ie trying to get every last Euro from the guests), absolutely no internet (and no apology for the unavailability, instead they try to blame it on the guests), no TV reception, tiny room (30sqm for 2 adults and 3 children at 480 Euro per night you must be kidding), poor breakfast, slightly difficult to access ski slopes.

Room Tip: Ask how many sqm your room will be in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stmartin73440, Directeur général at Hotel Saint Martin, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Sir ,

Following your recent 2 days with us ,we were very sorry to read your comments concerning our hotel.

The Duplex Suite you occupied was the last available - as you had not made reservation and it was hight season.Your Suite was indeed 30m2 Duplex with a bed on the mezzanine level and a sofa bed in the sitting room.We consider this perfectly comfortable for 2 adults and 2 children.

The price of 480 € per night was a reducted rate ( I invite you to check prices on ourwebsite ,
205 € per adult and 100 € per child ).

Our prices include both buffet breakfast an dinner ,free access to our mini club , sauna ,steam room and fitness room and fitness room .

Our management ream are not "trying to get every last penny from guets " which I believe is clearly represented by the discounted rate you were offered.

Lastly , concerning your comments about our breakfast I will state the components of our daily buffet and let readers establish whether tis is as you claim , a poor spread : full buffet with fresh fruit salad ,homenade compote (prepared daily), at least 3 types of cereal,fruit yoghurt and plain yoghurt ( both dairy and dairy free ) ,multple breads of which raisin ,granary ,multiple pastries ,jams,honey,marmalade and spreads,local cheese,cured meats and eggs cooked any style,choice of juice and hot drinks -all included in your room price.

We hope that you'll give us the opportunity to welcome you again at the Saint Marin Hôtel .

Bertrand Olive
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
363 helpful votes 363 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent a week here over Christmas in a Duplex Suite at the cost of 2500 Euros (including ski passes at 490 Euros) on a half board basis. Breakfast was passable but Evening meals were excellent. The wine list was brief, why not have more locals wines ? The barman was charming and a true pro . The staff generally pleasant apart from a Concierge who was unable to lift our bags out of the car after a 5 hour drive from Geneva or even drive the car 10 metres into the garage for which we were paying an extra 15 Euros daily, not sure if he hated the English or was just lazy. The suite was just on the right side of OK , it was a bit worn out and the sofa in the lounge was so tired it was difficult to sit on without been forced forward by the collapsing filling. In fact the hotel itself is slightly tired and in need of a redecoration. I need internet access to keep my business flowing and this hotel does not have any sort of acceptable WiFi , so I ended up using roaming data at considerable cost. If you are here for skiing then the ski room is good and the Telecabin is very close by. This hotel is best suited for older couples or young families unlike the nearby Alp hotel which is pretty cool but with tiny rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stmartin73440, Directeur général at Hotel Saint Martin, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

We were quite disappointed to read the poor opinion you had of our hotel after your stay at Christmas time.

First of all I must precise that the price you paid for a one week stay is on half board basis of 2500€ for 2 PERSONS which makes 1250€ per person with the 3 Valley ski pass included, difficult to find cheaper in a 3 star hotel of our standard in a 3 Valley resort...

Secondly, being in a 3 star classification we do not have at all a concierge and the person who took care of your arrival was our receptionnist. He is not very smily but quite efficient and considering the fact that 50% of our guests are English and coming to the St Martin for years, I do not think at all that we hate English people. Moreover, he did not drive yout car to the garage because rental cars are not to be driven by our reception staff due to insurance policies as laid out by rental companies.

Concerning decoration and comfort of the hotel, you used words such as "worm out" and "collapsing" which are totally inappropriate.In order that our future guests who will read your comments, can be able to have their own opinion, bar facilities are displayed in the pictures above...

The only negative point which corresponds to reality in your comments is that we have been in trouble with our WIFI in rooms during christmas week which is now solved. But the WIFI at the bar and restaurant was working without any problem and WIFI is free at the St Martin hotel.

We do hope that we will have a second chance to welcome you again at the St Martin Hotel.

Bertrand Olive
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapandriti greece
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Probably the best ski resort in France is 3 valleys but one of the most expensive. Visiting St Martin village for the third time I found out that you can have exceptional ski holidays spending minimum money.Hotel St-Martin is located next to the ski-pists, offering very good service on spacious rooms and good restaurant. Also very good leaving room for relaxing with a coffee or a nice drink after skiing.Very good but expensive wine list. Definitely we are coming back next year(pre booking is already there.!!!)

Room Tip: Rooms 210-211-212 facing the ski-pists.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

We have just had a 4 day skiing trip which was our 2nd viist. here. The hotel is in a great location but this year the breakfast time was a dissappointment, we had to keep asking for cutlery,plates,even cups and the food table was constantly empty whichn doesn't start the day off very well.Last years dinners were really very good but this year we were a little dissappointed,especiallly with the fondue evening and the desert was probably one of the worst I have ever had, just a dry sponge cake!But I am sure that this is not their usual standard. We also felt that the reception/managers could be a little more friendly ,although the man the last morning was very pleasant.Having got all the critisicms out of the way,we would still return and would like to thank the hotel for letting us keepour room until the evening on our last day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Saint Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Martin

Address: Les Grangeraies, 73440 Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Saint Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saint Martin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.