We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable 25th Anniversary but could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi to your Saves list
Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Goalhi No. 3 Majeedhee Baazaaru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable 25th Anniversary but could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

At first we searched many resorts but most of the resorts with excellent review were either too expensive or fully booked. We finally booked the Ocean Villa All inclusive for 3 nights as the price quoted was not too exorbitant. Frankly we were also a bit concerned after reading more negative review.
Extra effort was put in on getting confirming for transfer as we need to stay a night at Male but the staff could not confirm any timing until we get to the airport in the morning. True to many comment of delay transfer as we witnessed many guests (other resorts) unable to transfer on schedule. We were lucky because we were able to quickly join other groups and got transfer by speed boat at 10.00am instead of their scheduled 13.30pm. (After much hassling...)
I would say after getting onto the speed boat, we began to enjoy as the next 3 days proved that most of the bad reviews were not entirely true.
Most of the staffs are friendly and speak reasonably good English. The Ocean Villa is most beautiful complete with all amenities, just perfect for the occasion. Except that the first unit we checked in had noise from the air-cond compressor but we were checked in to another unit without much problem. The only item I felt need upgrading is the tv set, it is an old 29in conventional type but I was told all tv will be changed to flat screen in 3 to 4 months time.
There is a DVD player with theatre surround speakers system but no DVD disc available. I found the room lack of music channels especially to suit our occasion. Anyway we spent most of our time outdoor and really enjoyed snorkeling.
I found the daily trasfer by buggy to and fro the Villas and the restaurant rather convenient and enjoyable.
Meals wise, they are reasonable good varieties but the cooking and taste for the main dish (fish, chicken, lamb and beef) remain almost the same throughout the 3 days of our stay. I enjoyed the salad most. Perhaps most of the guests eating at the Sunset Restaurant are Chinese, I found the cooking a bit too Chinese based. I prefer authentic Indian spices especially for the vege. Drinks and dessert are plenty although we did not really fancy those desserts served. Bar serve good beer and wine and other alcoholic drinks. All staffs are sincere and friendly.
We feel our stay could be more meaningful and enjoyable if the resorts could put in a little bit more personal touch like making small gesture or arranging small gift presentation for guests with special occasion.
Nevertheless, we find the resorts environment to be very nice and would highly recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    327
    146
    64
    51
See reviews for
121
651
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We've visited The Maldives before (2011, Kuredu Island) so we had some ideas about what to expect.

We arrived via Dubai on Sunday 10th Feb for 7 nights (All Inclusive) booked via cosmos.co.uk. The boat transfer in the hotel's boat takes about 20mins. Most of the hotel's guests are from the Far East, Russian States & Europe. There were a few British people like us.

Check-in was quick - we stayed in Beach Villa 222 - about 4 minutes walk from reception.

Reports of rats & piles of trash proved untrue - the resort was kept clean by lots of staff raking leaves which seem to drop all hours of the day. Some public areas were raked 2 or 3 times a day.

The Room was good quality, kettle with tea / coffee facilities were included , as was a digital safe (free to use). A mini bar is also in the room - this is not included in the all inclusive package. One 1.5 L bottle of water is provided per person per day. We had no broken floor tiles, but a couple of tiles did move when stood on - they would spring back into position with a bit of a bang up to an hour later - we wondered what the noise was in the middle of the night!
The bathroom is the usual 3 sided open topped affair - hair drier is included.
There are no drawers in the room, so nowhere to lose anything. There were just about enough hangers in the wardrobe. Ask at reception if you need more pillows.
The room was serviced each morning by Noel - all the domestic staff are men. No complaints about cleanliness - also each evening the bed was turned down for us during the evening. Soap & shampoo are provided.
TV is a modern type - I was able to play my mp3 player (using a phono lead) through the TV - USB available for memory sticks for media playback - no scart socket. Power sockets are UK standard square pin like in the UK. TV channels include BBC World News, Discovery channel etc.

Beach towels are provided daily to your room - leave the old ones outside your room & new ones will appear by the morning.

WiFi - this is only available in the reception & pool bar area. I purchased from the hotel shop a 10 hour access token for $14 - this more than lasted for my stay. If you stay in the pool area all day you may need to disable your wifi function (Flight Safe) after finishing going online as you pay for connection time not usage. Log in is via your browser - once logged in your apps will work ok.

Iron & Ironing board can be delivered to your room on request.

We had a brief power cut once, and loss of water supply also once - we only lost the supply to the toilet - all the other taps etc must come from a supply tank - hence the bottled water.

Food - this is an area where criticism is somewhat justified - the hotel needs to improve in this area. Lots of fresh fruit is available at all meals but variety is limited. Some tinned fruit is available.
All inclusive guests only have one restaurant - you sit at the same table during your stay with the same drinks waiter - food is buffet style. Breakfast finishes at 09:30 which I thought a bit early. Breakfast is all the usual stuff - omelettes were good.
If you like fish - you will be able to have fish at most meals - either in a dish in the hot pans, or freshly griddled at one of the cooking stations.
I would have liked to see more freshly cook meat (steak etc) available - one night we had freshly carved sirloin steak with infused jus - this was cold & too tough to cut with the hotel cutlery - a big disappointment.
The curries were great - all types were available with a full range of pickles & poppadoms etc. Three types of rice usually available.
Lunch and dinner always had two types of soup available - these were very nice - the bread and rolls available were very good too. Lots of good vegetables are also available.
Desserts were the usual cakes & gooey desserts - Ice cream available some meals.

Sunbeds - there are not enough in the resort, and no umbrellas for shade - although there are plenty of trees & bushes if you don't mind sitting under a tree. No cushions available can cause numbness. We kept two sunbeds outside our beach villa an dragged them across to the beach.

Pool - this was a strange green color - there were quite a few areas of damage to the internal lining resulting in dark patches. The pool area has a few sunbeds & chairs - no cushions available. One side of the bar is swim up.

Bars - Drinks from the bar were good - Lion beer from Sri Lanka was excellent. Spirit based drinks were quite strong but good - the all inclusive cocktails were a bit weedy. You can purchase better cocktails for $11 if you like. Red and White wines were very drinkable.

The beach bars were ok, Dodohi beach bar until late & hardly anyone seemed to go here - we used this alot as the main pool bar can be noisy if you do not like karaoke etc.

We enjoyed our stay - but we have stayed in better in the Maldives.

Room Tip: Beach Villas on the South Side are Good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

One of our best holidays :) it's a beautiful location and the service is excellent. There is so much to do here. We went for 5 nights n 6 days package. We had a lovely welcome, smooth transfers. A gr8 spread of food.We had a great stay. You have your own privacy, the villas are spread out.

Room Tip: Ocean villas are lovely. And they do have offers on upgrades which work out quiet well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Inspite of the lots of negative comments,We had a great time on this island. Before the trip we had read all the comments and started to think that we did not choose the right island. But be sure you will have a great time here for this price.
At the arrival we had to wait for another plains guests and it took so long that was a little bit bad,
The room was spacey ( beach villa) good idea was the open air shower. We could not find any rats, and also mosquitos were on holiday.
The see was great, except the picasso trigger fish, who was upset and made our snorkelling problematic. He attacked us severel times!!!
Food was not perfect, but good.waiter did not speak so much.
Dolphin tour is risky, for us it was expensive and dolphins did not come! But they took our money.
We upgraded our room for ocean villa for 1 day ( 240 usd) it was worth ( better food in the sunset restaurant, champagne, view to the see) but enough for one day. You can see more fishes at the normal beach. Room tip: beach villa 180-200

Room Tip: Beach villa 180-200
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We chose Adaaran for our honeymoon and we wasnt sure what to expect. When we turned up to our island it was like a heaven everything was blue and green beautifull island.we felt welcome and staff was friendly. We checked in our ocean villa and that added to our suprise we highly reccomend the ocean villa. I didnt want to leave our room i was happy to stay the whole day every day for 6 nights. I was so sad when we was leaving i will deffinatly go back :))))

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Having decided to book somewhere special for our honeymoon we were over the moon when we found out we could afford the maldives and booked straight away. 9 nights, £3000 for two people in a beach villa number 217. But later we found the reviews on here and started to panic. We even spoke to our travel agent to see if we could cancel but she assured us, this is the maldives, ok, not footballers wives level or cost maldives, but a tropical island, with white sand and blue seas and peace and quiet that we dreamt of and we trusted her.
Lots of people have complained about this island and list complaints about the flights, the fact it rained, being bitten by mosquitos etc. But how can this be the fault of the resort? Its a tropical island, its hot, you might get a tropical rain storm for an hour or so a day and yes, in tropical areas you get mosquitos. Just be prepared for it.

The speed boat trip from Male to the island was fast and bumpy, but exactly what we needed to wake us up after the long flight. On arrival at the resort, we were asked to take a seat in the reception while the rep allocated each of us our rooms. We got a tour of the island and then settled in our villa with smiles from ear to ear. The island is a tiny bit of paradise, its in the middle of the most beautiful ocean
.
The villa was clean and spacious. We had air con, a tv, fridge, water and towels changed daily. The outside bathroom is novel and we enjoyed it. NO rats in our room or cockroaches, or bed bugs!

We stepped out of our villa, through the trees and onto the little beach of white sand and into the warm clear sea and thought we were in paradise. We spent hours each day getting up off the sun loungers and walking into the sea to cool off and back again. In case you read an earlier review which complained about these loungers they are normal white plastic sun loungers - not sure what the complainers expected!!

We snorkled and saw all sorts of colourful fish, an octopus, eels, big eels, a ray and a couple of basking sharks. We arent seasoned snorklers so were happy with this. I was really worried about the coral and needing protective shoes but we didnt need them at all. The beaches are no problem to walk on.

The food reviews on here are quite fair. The restaurant is pleasant enough, its basic, not swanky. Breakfast was full english, or continental, with loads of fresh fruit etc. Lunch and dinner seemed to be variations of the same kind of things. Pasta with a tomato sauce Pasta with a creamy sauce. Various curries, potato dishes, grilled fish and meats. All fine, but it did get a bit samey. By the end of the holiday we treated ourselves to a burger and chips from the beach bar and that was really good. The waiting staff were very attentive.

The all inclusive drinks were all fine too. The beer was Lion, and really good. No real ale. The spirits were very sweet and very strong. I found the cocktails a bit too much after a while so switched to non alcoholic ones and they were good.

The entertainment in the evenings was actually pretty dire, but im not keen on that kind of thing anyway. Most people tended to gather in the main bar/reception area and drink and chat to other guests but personally I preferred to sit at one of the beach bars and watch the sunset rather than do kareoke!

We treated ourselves one night and went to the other not inclusive restaurant on the island which is on a decked area over the sea. It was a lovely setting and the food was great. We had lamb chops and risotto and a couple of tasty starters. It was expensive but it was nice to do it for one night. And from the table you could see the sharks feeding beneath the decked area. They are basking sharks so dont worry!

We went on a couple of fishing trips as my husband wanted to catch a big fish. The first time we went he caught something big, but it broke free before he could land it, so he went again and caught a wahoo which he was delighted with. Saw dolphins.
We both had a couple of massages at the spa. We went for the chinese massage as it was cheaper and it was great, especially if you like a firm massage rather than a gentle one.

One thing that really surprised us was that we expected it to be full of other honeymooners, and in the main it was, but there were quite a few groups of surfers. One end of the island was where the surf was and i think, although im not sure that the accomodation at that end was mainly occupied by surfers. It was not a problem, but i just had never thought of anyone going there for anything other than honeymoons.

We thought we would upgrade to the ocean villas but decided not to as actually we preferred being so close to the beach. If you are on the ocean villa jetty, its actually quite a long walk back to the island/restaurant/bar/beach and in the heat we didnt fancy it.

We had a fantastic honeymoon and i would love to go back. I think some of the negative reviews must be from people who like to complain. I guess the reality is that peoples expections of the maldives are very high. Its not cheap to go there. But a lot of the extra cost is the flights and the fact that its miles from anywhere so all the food, loo rolls, anything actually has to be shipped in so it bumps the price up. If you want all out luxury, with spa baths and private waiters and infinity pools you just have to pay even more for it. This is not a luxury resort where you wil mingle with the rich and famous and nor is it priced as one. I am sure if you spent the same money on a honeymoon in egypt for instance you could have more luxury if thats what you are after. But what we wanted was to go to the maldives, a tropical island paradise and do nothing for 9 days and that is exactly what we got.

Room Tip: Room 217 was on the side of the island that the sun rose on, i felt this side had the best beach for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgas, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The island is one of greenest on Maldives. We stayed in beach villa. Rooms are larger, but little bit older and need to be upgraded. The staff is polite, friendly and helpful. Hotel is with all inclusive concept which is good, because you can't go to eat outside of resort - there is only ocean around :-)
The food is not enought varied. There is not enought exotic fruits and sea foods. Romantic sunset, lots of different fishes in the lagoon, relaxing place.
Last 2 days we upgraded our room to "ocean villa" wich is a must expirience in Maldives and can't be explained.
Recommend for coples on all ages.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi

Address: Goalhi No. 3 Majeedhee Baazaaru
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > Lhohifushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lhohifushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi Hotel North Male Atoll
Huduranfushi Island
Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.