We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location , decent option but below avg staff & customer service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Island Resort to your Saves list
Sun Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Nalaguraidhoo, 2100   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good location , decent option but below avg staff & customer service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Having made us wait for more than 5 hours at Male airport , the staffs were not only abusive but super unimpressive when it comes to hospitality industry . It was our anniv and whole day was wasted by them and instead of apology , they told us that we should have booked other resort if we didnt like the process . However once reached to resort , the location and facility cooled us down and we really enjoyed our stay except the same issue of staffs being very insensitive to customer's reaction . Most of them has the same attitude of telling you that this is the way we run this resort and you better accept it and adjust to their rules .

One of the surprising fact which really irritated us was when we went for our dinner and found that they kept a table reserved for us and we cant sit at any other table inspite of fact if half of restaurant is empty . we requested them to give us table which was beach side and was empty and they denied saying that this is reserved for the guest who already finished dinner and table is set for his bfast and they cant allow anyone to sit there and that was rule for all other table ,including ours . It really disappointed us . If you dont get a better table then you are made to sit on same table for whole trip , however you will like it a lot if you are lucky to get a nice view table and they will make sure that the same is reserved for you for whole trip .

with my complaints , GM of hotel also met us and his reactions were shocking when he also looked insensitive to overall situation . However he did offer some discounts for our stay due to delay on their part but his overall reaction to whole episode was just unacceptable .

having said all above , we did find few good staffs who took care of us .

what we liked about them was their internal communication on each guest as when you are leaving , which room u stay , what package u r on , everyone is just aware of ur whole plan and that makes life easy with no confusion .

The island is quite big and nice place to explore . cycling was fun and each side of island was amazing to see speacially all clean white beaches and aqua blue water .

Thai restaurant near water bunglows have the best view and quite enjoyable for your food and drinks .

Their spa is super expensive and we didnt try it but it looked to be good .

we did night snorkling which was fun and they have a proper diving centre which is an attraction . water sports is not cheap but its nowhere cheap in Maldives .

their oceanview beach side bunglows are also quite impressive as they are just touching the edge of beach and you can jump in to sea within seconds getting out of ur room .

Its a decent property for first timers in Maldives with insensitive management and staffs . if you are looking for what branded resorts ( they are super expensive in maldives) give you in terms of customer sensitivity , then this is not a place for you , however if you are looking for not so expensive option , go for it .

Room Tip: choose water bunglows near to thai restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    429
    149
    57
    41
See reviews for
193
904
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

we were at sun island during march for honey moon , we stayed there for 7 nights and all of thing is ok but i think 8 day is not enough for enjoying your trip realy you need 10 days for resting in that amazing hotel
- we reserved HB it is good and enough and some days for lunch we use several resturants with a snak or soap and salad
- if you reserve FB it is included some of the alchohl drinking but not all of them
- alchohl drinking in sun island is a littrewl bit expensive for example a bottel of bear is 6 or 8 $
- the food are good and enough
- we reserved water bungalow and it is the best realy we enjoined it but the beach room is good to
- i sugest you to take snorkeling devises with your self and we did it so we use them all the time
- i sugesst to take a underwater camera with yourself to that place because you can take a lot of pics from snorkeling and swimming
-the staffs are good but some of them is not profesional enough especial the people working in reception desk if you asked them some thing it is much more better to check your advise in several time beacuase maybe they forget it or they dont inform their cooleges!!!
- per night in one of the hotel bar they have a disco if you want you can ask reciption about night events
- we use spa during our trip realy it is amazing
- hotel has a lots of water sports and it is very good but expensive

if you need more information or you have some questions please inform me

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Very lush green island. Lots of walking and you can rent bikes. Beaches are pristine. You get 2 bottles of water very day which is good. Food in buffet is ok and I had the indian food which seemed to have the best flavour. It is expensive to eat al carte. The pop will costs $7.59 and a sandwich is $15.00 US. Internet in two spots and i wish they would have internet in the rooms as well, even if you had to pay.

Lots to do on the island, from watching sharks feed to stingrays.

Best massage I had on my trip. An outdoor spa with canopies. Beautiful and relaxing. I wish I had a second massage.

The annoying thing is the amount of time it takes to travel to the island. Once you land in Male, they make you wait until they can fill up the flight to the Island. For me this 2 hours. Then once you land on the Island you go on a speed boat to the hotel. Plan to spend the day travelling to and from. Depending on when your filght is, you will leave the hotel 6 hours before hand.

You loose some of your relaxation with the traveling involved. Also, lots of unnecessary security lineups at the airport.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed at this resort for 4 nights during Christmas week. It is one of the most beautiful place I have ever visited. Location is slightly far from the Male airport, you have to first take a 15 min domestic flight to the island and then a 10 min boat ride to the resort. but after you reach the destination you'll completely forget the long journey you had. Check in process was smooth and we got our room within few minutes of arrival. Resort is very well maintained with clean beaches. Food buffet was good with many varieties. We stayed in superior beach bungalow. Room was spacious and just 20 steps away from the beach. Resort offer many activities like water sports, scuba diving, snorkelling, shark feeding and sting ray feeding. Go for scuba diving as the water is so clear to have an amazing deep sea experience.
Staff there was friendly and helpful. Highly recommended resort in Maldives for an unforgettable holiday.

Room Tip: Go for superior beach bungalow or water villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed at the Sun Island Resort for 3 nights. It is a beautiful resort with a host of facilities! We eventually ran out of time to try out all amenities that this resort has to offer, which are quite a few: Shark feeding, Sting ray feeding, water sports, snorkelling in 2-3 places around the hotel, various excursions, visit to botanical gardens, Mini-Golf, Spa sessions, trying cuisines at all the restaurants - Thai / Italian / Multi-Cuisine / Veg (Salad garden).
Must-dos:
- Snorkelling in the waters around the Water Bungalows (preferably in the mornings)
- Watching the Shark feeding and Sting Ray feeding sessions
- Walk along the beach from the Water Bungalows to where the Sting ray feeding sessions are held in the evening around sunset. A part of this stretch is also known as Sunset beach and this gives some great photo opportunities in the evenings!
- Enjoy the beautiful swimming pool with few rounds of cocktails served within the pool bar!
- Breakfast / Dinner Buffets at the Main restaurant
- Cycling around the island

There are a lot of excursions that can be planned from the resort (big game fishing, sunrise / sunset planning, island discovery, etc...), but these are quite expensive!

Room Tip: Two of the best room options are: 1. Standard Beach Bungalows: Among these, choose the ones near Su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

we arrived at the resort in first week of feb 2014 , we had booked for HB option , As soon as we landed in Male Airport ,we were accompanied by Sun island staff at Airport for transfer to island we took another plane to mamigili airport and then 5 minutes jetty to the island. we were greeted by cheerful staff who completed the formalities quickly . Maldives is great place for honeymooners or couples everyone was in pair , it was very big island and we got out superior beach bungalows room at sunset beach side with exterior showers which was nice and clean . Room service was excellent and people around us were friendly . Food was nice and excellent there is main restaurant which is quite large and mostly crowded we were happy as we had beach front table . There is also Thai restaurant at the end of water bunglows where every evening after dinner they feed sharks this is their signature event of the day , we also liked stingray feeding on other side of the island . There is also one Italian restaurant on the front end side of island which has one of the best hidden location for snorkeling , so many fish of different colors leave you enchanted , we rented snorkeling mask from the water sports center near Italian restaurant . It has diving centrum also though we didn't opted it . One can travel island on foot as well as rent a bicycle . we jogged every morning for sunrise on east side of island which was super experience. we also danced at discotheque which happens after dinner , DJ played nice contemporary hip hop and electro music till late nite near bar. we stayed for a week there and had time of life .

Room Tip: must stay in overhead water bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed in a water villa for a few nights for our honeymoon
You have to take an internal flight to the island from the main Male aiport on a small plane, from there you take a quick coach (4 mins) to the boat then another 5 minute boat. Once we got there the check in process took extremely long as there were so many people checking in, this should take place alot quicker. At one point my luggage went missing, they had given it to another family. At check in we also practically argue about getting a honeymoon package, which we had indicated when booking.
We originally paid for a BB option but once we got there decided to upgrade to All Inclusive, however this options was very expensive and just did not make sense, in order to upgrade instead of going straight from B&B to AI you had to pay for a B&B to HB then HB to FB then FB to AI so ended up being double what it would make sense to pay for a straight upgrade.
The meal plan was great though once we went Full Board as we got brekkie, lunch and dinner and there were normally full options. FB does not include any drinks at all though, not even water. The choice of food however was limited at times (however this may just be an issue with the Maldives)

As we were in a water villa we ate in the restaurant right next to them which was convenient. Rooms were allocated a table and waiter for the whole of the stay which was nice so we knew where to sit during all our meal times.

The service and housekeeping was very good, changing our sheets and towels twice a day. They were ready to do pretty much anything we wanted which was good.

The rooms did not have irons, which was a little annoying. The hotel offers a laundry service.

The internet/ wifi access is really poor, there are only two places on the whole island where you can get free wifi. Wifi in rooms would be alot better, even the option of paying in your room would be better than none at all.

Our water villa was absolutely amazing, the view was phenomenal and the size of the water villa was great. The bedroom was huge, you have a private deck with 4 sun decks on it (some in the shade and some directly facing the sea and sun). Ours was a sunrise facing villa.

The island is very big so we rented bikes for a few days to get us around and also to enable us to explore the island. The bikes were a fun touch but very rusty and old. But they really did make the trip enjoyable for us especially the day we did our own full tour of the island.

There are so many things to do on this island and so many different places to explore, swim, sunbathe etc. The spa was in a very beautiful and tranquil setting, we did not get any treatments so cannot comment on how good they were.

Every night there are Shark and stingray feeding sessions and this was a really good opportunity. These occur at two different locations on the island but we only went to the one at the end of the water villas. Get there early to get a good view. Things on the island are definetly alot more expensive than on Male or the local Islands. I personally loved our first island Maafushi and if I could have had the water villa there I would have just stayed there all week.

The day trips from this island were so much more expensive than those we did on the local island (sometimes nearly 2-3 times more)

The swimming pool area is nice but gets incredibly busy and then there are no sunbeds the rest of the day.

On our first night we were offered a few welcome drinks and snacks at the Beach Bar where a few of the managers from some of the different restaurants/ water sports centre spoke to us and explained about day trips and facilities.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Resort

Address: Nalaguraidhoo, 2100
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Nalaguraidhoo Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nalaguraidhoo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Island measuring about 1.6 km in length and around 380 meters in width has 350 elegantly furnished guestrooms, including 72 water bungalows, out of which, 4 are Presidential Suites, 218 Super Deluxe Beach Bungalows and 60 Deluxe Beach Bungalows. All Deluxe and Super Deluxe Beach Bungalows are built on the beach ensuring a direct view of the shore and sea. All Water Bungalows are built on stilts in the lagoon overlooking the vast horizon of either the sunrise or sunset view, from your private deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sun Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel South Ari Atoll
Sun Island Resort Maldives
Sun Island Maldives
Hotel Sun Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.