We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - budget of "plus plus"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20-15   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 4 Nights, Save 20%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stay - budget of "plus plus"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Arrived at Sheraton Full Moon Resort on 15 June for 2nd leg of honeymoon with husband. Booked deluxe oceanfront room and was slightly anxious about the booking after reading reviews on TripAdvisor but went with an open mind. Arrived at Male airport and there was a 30 minute delay to board speedboat as we had to wait for what we were told were 2 other couples, however it turned out to only be one other couple and we were waiting in vain. Disappointed with the speedboat service as we were not updated on when we were boarding and there were no apologies for delay (we were slightly frustrated by this after a long flight!).Finally arrived at the resort and were greeted by waving staff (who were yawning as they were waving).

Might as well discuss the negatives first and then move on to the positives:
Nafiu, the Duty Manager, checked us in at the welcome centre and told us that there was a $700 US dollar deposit policy to fund meals and drinks. After explaining that we would like to pay CASH at all times, he waived the deposit requirement. NOTE TO ALL: the default position at Sheraton is that they charge EVERY meal, drink, watersport activity, purchase to your room and you settle it on departure. This would have been very expensive as costs can easily rack up, so we opted out and settled the bill in cash after every purchase. Also PLEASE NOTE that the Sheraton round every cost UP if it is above 15 cents, so for example, a cocktail costing $16.20 would be rounded up to $17 and you will not receive any change. This can also get expensive as you will lose approx $10 per day just on rounding up. Another note, please beware that EVERY PRICE quoted is EXCLUSIVE of what is known as "++", which is the price, PLUS 10% service charge PLUS government service tax (GST) at 8% so you pay an additional 18% on every purchase, which also increases the overall eating/drinking cost.

Our deluxe balcony room was very basic. Clean but basic. King size bed, plasma TV, bed side table however no bath tub (only a small shower), a very small bathroom, in addition to old and tatty furnishings (wardrobe and roof were chipped).

We went back to lobby and complained about the room being very old-fashioned and basic. It lacked the "wow factor". After some negotiation, Nafiu very kindly agreed to upgrade us to the beachfront cottage which I must admit was fantastic. I agree with previous reviews - do not book any less than a cottage as the deluxe beach front rooms are very bland.

Now to the positives:

The beachfront cottage was amazing - beautiful large room with a sofa, wooden ceilings, a large balcony opening on to the beach, plus an amazing outdoor bathroom with a large bath tub, separate shower that allows you to shower under the stars, a lovely sink and a very private toilet facility. Could NOT fault the beach front cottage. The service drastically improved once we were upgraded - Nafiu very kindly arranged for a complimentary bottle of Merlot and heart-shaped brownies to be sent to our room. The housekeeping team placed a beautiful "Happy Honeymoon" sign on our bed, made from flowers and palm leaves. Such a nice touch!

Housekeeping were great - they cleaned our room daily. In-room dining is very reasonable (approx $35 US ++ for a meal). We packed our own lunches (soups and noodles that can be cooked with the kettle) and the staff brought up complimentary bowls every day so we could eat our own lunch. Cocktails were great - the Sugar Daddy and Reggae Time are worth trying!

Previous reviews said there was not much to do on the island but I disagree. We spent two full afternoons snorkelling (equipment is free). We watched the shark feeding at Anchorage Bar most days at 6pm. We did a trip to the capital city Male ($60 US ++ and well worth it) and bought souvenirs back for family. We spent a few days sunbathing and swimming. On Monday, Wednesday and Friday, there is live entertainment in Anchorage Bar (live music or a DJ) which was good fun. Special thanks to the band, Death Note, who allowed us to take a picture with them! Special thanks to Ibrahim who worked at Feast for all of his good conversation and good sense of humour. He made our breakfasts so much fun!

Overall, it's a great holiday, just remember to budget for ++. I brought $500 US for 7 nights and did not run out of cash - so it's possible to stick to the budget. We tried every restaurant - a different restaurant for dinner each night. Baan Thai was my favourite and was not too expensive $55 US each for a starter, main and cocktail. Avoid Sea Salt - very expensive - they charge for the fish by the weight!

Would recommend. Enjoy. Relax!

Room Tip: Beachfront cottage as a minimum
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Louis R, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear FrequentFlyer918,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review about your recent stay with us,

We are sadden to read that your arrival experience do not meet your expectations, it is not of our normal standard to have our associate yawning during the welcome waving be sure that this will be share with our associates.

Yes, all our bills are mention exclusive of taxes, so a 10% service charge as well as 8% Government Tax will be added to each bill.

We are glad that you enjoyed your upgrade to our Island Cottage and where able to explore our house reef while snorkeling.

We hope to welcome you again soon,

Warm Regards,
Jean-Louis Ripoche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    282
    99
    38
    25
See reviews for
142
638
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The whole place was amazing from the staff to the food to the island itself.

I would highly recommend the dolphin cruise and also the Shine Spa.

The best trip of our lives and in 5 years we hope to return again. Thank you for making it the perfect honeymoon.

Room Tip: Room 305, perfect position and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Louis R, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Bert L,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor,

Again we would like to congratulate you on your wedding and thank you for choosing Sheraton Maldives as your honeymoon destination.

We are glad that your stay with us was the best stay you have experienced till date, and value your comment on our Shine Spa and Dolphin Cruise. Thank you for recommending us to other readers.

We hope to welcome you for your anniversary milestone,

Kind Regards,
Jean-Louis Ripoche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed there with my wife and 3 years old son for 5 nights, 6 days from 3rd to 8th of June 2014,

I booked a beach front villa # 240 through my agent in UAE,

The moment we arrived, we loved the place and everything in it, but I will be totally honest, some things could have ruined it for us, but thankfully, it didn't, let's talk about the good first:

1) Villa was great, furniture, cleaning, location, room service, the entire thing screemed 5 star service,
2) Food was amazing, we mostly used the Feast resturant for breakfast and dinner, especially the theamed nights which were done outside at the beach. Middle east food was great, was not a big fan of the Indian food and sorry to say the Maldivian food as well,
3) People are so friendly and helpful,
4) Beach is amazing, very nice sandy beach and constant cleaning and caring for it,

The Not so good things:
1) Prices are high, I know it is expected in a 5 star resort in that location, but I ended up paying a lot even my package is full board which I never used completely as Lunch was not taken except one day since after breakfast and dinner you do not want to eat a thing mid day, my advise, never take the full board and have the half board only. Anyway, drinks and other services will cost you. We took two trips organized by the Hotel: Male city tour and Dolphin cruise, per individual it is 60$ ++ taxes (Male Tour) and 50$ ++ per individual for the dolphin one, and over the phone upon booking it I was made to belive that we will be the only ones and we can come back from Male city anytime we feel done, however, this turned out to be false and we were like 5 families in the boat and we had to wait for all to finsih to come back to the resort via the boat. More transperancy upon booking would have been appreciated especially that I did not even hear an apology when I complained to the tour guy (forgot his name),
2) Customer is always right is a concept that some staff need to be familiar with, although most of staff members are great, we encountered few who are a bit un apologitic even when mistakes happen like being told upon checkout that the boat may take us to the airport at 5 pm and when we showed up at welcome area we were told that it is 6 pm and we had to wait for other guests and we actually left at 6:20 pm, it is good that my flight was at 8:25 pm not to be late,
3) The two Pools were not screeming clean all the time, I can understand that they are surrounded by trees and plants all over and they do their best to clean them but it was not so attractive to us so we swam mostly at the beach which is soooooo amazing,
4) The most irritating thing I left till last which is related to what they did the day before we left. for some reason, at the mid of day, they started fogging insects and trees all over the island while we were at the beach and walking around, it was really horrible not only the bad chemicals that we (espcially my son) had to enhale but also the horrible noise that came with it. This fogging lasted for hours and hours. Not too good and especially timing wise. On the other hand, during the same day too many hole in the ground were made and left like this surrounded by tape which was not visually nice or even that safe,

Overall, irrespective of the 4 points above, amazing place and people and really recommended to all couples, families ....etc.

We will sure go back again one day :)

Room Tip: If you want a beach villa, try to book the 220, 224 as they are exactly on the beach and not so far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Louis R, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Belal30,

Thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor,

We are glad that you enjoyed your 5 night escape with your family.
It is great to read your comments about the features and facilities of our hotel and are happy that you enjoyed our ocean views and turquoise waters.

We have well noted your comments, and please be assured that we will use your feedback to improve our level of service and our guests satisfaction.

We are waiting your return,

Kind Regards,
Jean-Louis Ripoche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This island is amazing, with fantastic staff, service, food and facilities you cannot want for anything else! Our Beach hut was stunning, with a lovely outdoor bathroom which made the room very special and relaxing. The accommodation and whole island is very well kept, gardeners constantly busy tending to floral surroundings and making sure high standards are constantly met. Lovely Egyptian cotton bedding and a bed that was so comfortable it was a welcome sight after a long flight from London. Food....a brilliant choice of restaurants, different choices every day, but our favourite was Sea Salt...selecting your own fish to be cooked in a perfect way, black tiger prawns the size of my hands were just wonderful to eat. The bar by the main pool was a comfortable social area to be in, with lots of day beds to lounge around in the sun, and free wifi. The Spa is lovely but a bit overpriced, again it is on its own little island away from everything. We then upgraded to an Ocean Villa with its own plunge pool and we were in heaven...luxury and comfort. All staff members were so helpful and kind, nothing too much trouble. We definitely will be going back, definitely worth every penny spent. Thank you Sheraton for having such a wonderful holiday location.

Room Tip: Beach Front Cottages are worth having, and if you can afford to splash out definitely go for the Oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Louis R, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Dawn H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are thrilled to read your great comment and are glad you enjoyed every second of your stay with us.

Our Chef's would be pleased with you positive feedback on our food offer at Sea Salt restaurant.

It is great that you had the opportunity to move to our Ocean Villa, they offer great ocean views and privacy.

We hope to see you soon,

Kind Regards,
Jean-Louis Ripoche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Spent the most incredible 10 days here for honeymoon and you really must ignore the negative reviews, particularly the ones picking on trivial things like the level of pressure on a massage and the planes flying overhead. They are written by people who have obviously had very sheltered lives. Make no mistake, this place is phenomenal.

I find it incredible that some people express indignation over the prices - this is the Maldives, not Benidorm. You must expect it to be expensive. A draught beer will cost you about 8 USD and a glass of wine about 12 USD, and a meal for two will probably range between 80-200 USD depending on where you eat. Sand Coast is lovely and the more reasonably-priced of the four eateries; Sea Salt is at the other end and is very pricey, but it's magnificent and worth a visit.

The staff are absolutely brilliant, every one. Nothing is too much trouble and they make a point of saying "hello" whenever they see you. The staff at the Anchorage bar are so much fun; Ishaq has a great repertoire of magic tricks and they all love their football. Attentive and friendly to a man, cannot fault any of them.

The island itself is paradise, full of lush foliage, little lizards, birds, crabs and giant bats in the trees. The water around the island does have quite a bit of dead coral but plenty of live coral too, with lots of little fish, bigger fish, turtles, stingrays and black tip sharks. I went scuba diving on the house reef and wrecked boat, which was majestic, and I saw puffer fish, eagle rays and a huge Lionfish. Snorkelling is free until 5pm but the sun goes down at 6 anyway.

The shark feeding at 6pm at the Anchorage Bar is something to behold and I'd highly recommend the dolphin cruise at sunset - we saw easily 50 spinner dolphins and they were flipping, spinning and generally showing off for the crowd, which was amazing to watch.

Our room was spotless and backed right onto the beach. Free water and fresh sheets every day, and a nice little honeymoon welcome when we got there.

I genuinely cannot fault the Sheraton Full Moon, it was a perfect honeymoon and we will definitely be going back as soon as we can afford it! Don't hesitate if you like the look of the place - just book it and enjoy. Thanks to all of the staff

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Louis R, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear JonnyHurricane,

It is a real pleasure reading such a positive comment about your stay at Sheraton Maldives.
Thank you for taking the time to go through so many details on what made your experience a memorable one.

We are glad that you enjoyed your room as well as some activities and that you got lucky and saw so many dolphins!

Our team work hard on providing you with excellent and personalize service, we are glad that they exceeded your expectations. We will pass on your comment to Ishaq.

We look forward to your return,

Kind Regards,
Jean-Louis Ripoche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

From our arrival to the very end of out stay at this resort there is nothing I can say but EXCELLENT.
The resort was clean and well maintained and all the staff were friendly and helpful.
The best restaurant for us was Sea Salt managed by the lovely Julia and the Anchorage Bar was a lovely relaxing place to have a drink and make use of the complimentary wifi and share your dream holiday with your friends back home.
Thank you to all the staff from the General Manager to the lovely people who cleaned our room, you all contributed to our holiday of a lifetime. We plan to return as soon as we can

Room Tip: If you can afford it, try one of the Ocean Villas for at least one night of your stay. Pure luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Louis R, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hello Tony!

Thank you so much for your lovely review on Trip Advisor! We are glad you came!

We are thrilled to read that you had a great experience with us at Sheraton Maldives, and be sure that we will pass on your nice comments to Julia & the Anchorage Bar Team.
It was a pleasure meeting you at the cocktail, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Ocean Villa!

See you soon again!

Warm Regards,
Jean-Louis Ripoche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Absolutely loved my 3 night stay in this resort! We had a nice garden villa (and a beautiful garden barthroom), staff were nice and helpful. Breakfast buffet was very varied (and even had a Gluten free section), they had a wine happy hour every day at the beach bar which was nice. I also recommend booking a treatment at the spa- such a lovely place to chill at and use the outside jacuzzi pool. Really enjoyed the beach of this resort- amazing how transparent the waters are in the Maldives.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Louis R, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Sag79,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor,

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your 3 night stay with us and that you have left with great memories to remember us by.

Be sure that we will pass on your positive comment about our breakfast spread to our Chef's as well as our spa team.

We hope to welcome you soon again for another short escape,

Warm Regards,
Jean-Louis Ripoche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa

Address: 20-15
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > Furanafushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Furanafushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa is situated on it's own private island surrounded by tropical landscaping and turquoise lagoons. With 176 guest rooms reflecting the tropical destination featuring the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Facing the sunrise with spectacular views of the Indian Ocean are 20 Ocean Villas offer large bathrooms, comfortable living spaces and luxurious outdoor living areas complete with infinity edge plunge pools.Sheraton Maldives is just a 15-minute boat ride from Malé International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Hotel North Male Atoll
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort And Spa
Full Moon Maldives
Full Moon Hotel Maldives
Full Moon Resort Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.