We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20-15   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A true paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our stay in the Full Moon Resort was a dream made true, the weather was fantastic, the water crystal clear, and the restaurants on the beach were just perfect...
We booked one of the water bungalows, perfect excuse to jump into the water at any minute feeling that you were the only habitant in the island, swimming in the mornings , snorkelling in the afternoon, laying down on the white beach in the evening.
The island resort is not too big, what allows you to walk around, and chose the perfect spot for your dinner, from sea food bbq to Indian food... with live music and candles, absolutely unique experience.

We took a boat to go see dolphins but we end up seeing whales, really beautiful animals at sunset swimming towards the horizon.

The spa island contains an authentic relaxation ritual for couples, perfect privacy with massage drinks and bath, but with an open views to the sea at night...

Perfect Venue and Perfect Spot!

Room Tip: Villas are not worth it, too far from the nice sand beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Antonio B,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Maldives for your dream holiday! We are pleased to read that we have exceeded all your expectations.
The Water Bungalows offers direct access to the blue lagoon, giving you indeed the perfect opportunity to explore the marine life!

We are glad that you were part of the lucky ones to see whales while cruising around, we hope you captured that moment bring home great memories.

We look forward to your return,
Best regards
Ursula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    282
    99
    38
    25
See reviews for
142
638
26
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Sheraton Full Moon for a week in an Ocean Villa. the room was excellent with an outside bathroom which was beautiful. You could lay in the bath and watch the stars!

The staff were very friendly and willing to please and the facilities were great. Lovely pool, good food, great bars and beach. The spa was to die for.......and the location fabulous, by far the best spa that I have ever been to.

One great advantage of this resort was that the transfer was very efficiently organised and only 15 minutes by boat to Male.

The only negative comment would be that the hotel was very 'corporate' which at times did not fit with the informality of the Maldives and it's laid back culture. Other wise, good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Happy1507,

It was our pleasure to welcome you & your daughter at Sheraton Maldives.
Thank you for such positive comments about our associates, service, restaurants and mostly our Spa.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the privacy of your Ocean Villa to the fullest.

We hope to welcome you again soon,

Best Regards,
Ursula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Great stay... thoroughly enjoyed ourselves to the fullest. Highly recommended.

In particular, the blue waters, the great facilities including scuba diving, water sports, beach side restaurants etc. make for an ideal couple's retreat

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear AbhirajBhal,

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Sheraton Maldives.
Thank you for recommending our tropical island paradise to other readers.

We hope to welcome you soon again,

Best Regards,
Ursula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

There is no doubt The Maldives are picture post card perfect and worth at least one visit. The Sheraton is located just 10 minutes via boat from the airport, which makes it a great option if you have been travelling or don't fancy a long onward journey.

Service if great, and the spa is lovely, with outdoor area to enjoy pre and post treatments. We stayed in a private pool villa which allowed us to hide away from the world for a week. The fully stocked mini bar and wine fridge were great - and while you can't take in an duty free, the prices are "okay" given the location. We found in-room dining to be better value that the various restaurant menus which often had set-price nights.

The staff are helpful - there is a gym and child care facilities. The main pool appears to get busy (we didn't use it as we had our own pool). While the over water villas look great, we never saw anyone swimming off their villa - so if you want you own pool / area to swim, then the pool villa is the best option. There were a lot of kids at the main pool!!

Transfers to the main airport island were fast and seamless, and everyone was very helpful.

Room Tip: If you book a pool villa book 401 through to 405 - this will ensure you are protected from the non-s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Karina J,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor,
It is great to read that you enjoyed the short ride to our paradisaical island as well as the privacy of our Ocean Villa rooms.

Our associate take great pride in providing excellent service to our guest, and it is touching to see that they have exceeded your expectations.

We hope to welcome you again soon,

Best Regards,
Ursula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Loved staying here.

We had a water bungalow and the deck was private-ish - as long as no one was in the water! What I mean by that is that the bungalow to your right or left could not see you but anyone swimming by would.

Food and gift shop items were pricey but I can't say with any certainty if it was expensive because we had nothing to compare it to (we literally got off our flight and onto the transfer boat and never left the resort at all). A few I remember were that fish and chips (a generous portion) were $25 (US), an underwater Kodak camera was $24, sunscreen was $19 and Jack and Coke was $15. They had a live band there our last night which was a fun treat. Daily shark feedings were also awesome - I found it comical how many sharks, sting rays and birds would come every day at that time because they were so used to it! My favorite thing here were the huge daybeds on the bar deck that were open to anyone first come first serve with no fee or F&B minimum to use!

The staff was very friendly and pleasant. All in all I'd say I'd happily come back any day. One thing to note is that the Maldives is a Muslim country - while I never once felt judged or frowned upon for running around in my swimsuit I did opt not to wear the skimpiest of those I had simply because there were several couples on honeymoons (the Maldives is a popular spot for that part of the world) and I felt full cut bottoms were a more appropriate choice!

Room Tip: The entire resort is beach front - forgo the water bungalow if price is an issue...the ocean is lite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear SDBarbie,

Thank You for sharing your experience at Sheraton Maldives with us on Trip Advisor.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed the privacy of your Water Bungalow and the direct access to the ocean.

Anchorage Bar is the best place to enjoy signature cocktails, sunshine, ocean views and we are glad that you found your perfect sunbed!

We hope to welcome you again soon,
Ursula Schoefl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

As a loyal Starwood member & owner, I always seek out these properties as 1st preference. This property is quite beautiful (where in the Maldives isn't it?) but they would exceed expectations with improved service.

Upon arrival, they met us promptly at the airport and escorted everyone to the transport boat - not the beautiful white logo-laden boat on the site. We boarded a dingy brown speedboat that looked like it might break down en route to the island. Nevertheless, we arrived and were met directly at the dock by reception staff. They were friendly but did not have accurate info on our SPG status (reflected gold instead of platinum). Once we confirmed platinum, they were more than happy to provide an upgrade to a beach villa (not overwater). Beautiful!

Diving staff was uninterested in booking a private tour so we could see manta rays so, we arranged a tour with the Four Seasons and promptly berated when their boat arrived the next morning - despite the fact we had communicated this to the staff the day before. This was ultimately resolved after several discussions with the manager.

The standard rooms are fine but nothing special, the beach bungalow was wonderful - spacious, outdoor shower, covered deck beachside. The spa was wonderful but again, service was as expected. Restaurants were quite good which is important as there is little opportunity to keave the island once you are there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Elizabeth,

We thank you for your Starwood Loyalty.
We are glad to read that your transfer from the airport was smooth, however disappointed that our brand color was not to your taste.

We value your feedback our on Dive Center and will make sure that such situations does not occur in the future.

We hope to welcome you again soon at any of our Starwood properties,

Kind Regards,
Ursula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Had a great time at the Sheraton Full Moon bay. Mind you this hotel (and all others in Maldives) is very expensive. But definitely worth an indulgence once in a while. As an SPG plat, got upgraded to a water bungalow which was great. We could just step down from our private deck into the ocean. The beach, water sports were good fun too - staff warm and nice. My only few concerns with the hotel were: a) new year's eve gala was a not-so-great buffet (pretty much like the standard buffet at the Feast) at an exorbitant price (north of $ 200 a person without alcohol). b) over all - the vegetarian options were very limited. I didn't expect too much considering it is Maldives, but felt that their menus were very restricted. Though I got an upgrade, my spg plat experience was below par - compared to other hotels (including the US where service standards are much lower in general), maybe because of the very high occupancy.

Room Tip: For the best views, try to get Water bungalows > room # 130 or the ocean villas
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Siddharth,

It is a pleasure to read that you have created great memories at Sheraton Maldives.
Thank you for your Starwood Loyalty, we are glad that you enjoyed your upgrade to our Water Bungalow.

We value your feedback on our Vegetarian selection, we will forward your comment to our F&B team.

We hope to welcome you again soon in any of our sister properties.

Best Regards,
Ursula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa

Address: 20-15
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > Furanafushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Furanafushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa is situated on it's own private island surrounded by tropical landscaping and turquoise lagoons. With 176 guest rooms reflecting the tropical destination featuring the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Facing the sunrise with spectacular views of the Indian Ocean are 20 Ocean Villas offer large bathrooms, comfortable living spaces and luxurious outdoor living areas complete with infinity edge plunge pools.Sheraton Maldives is just a 15-minute boat ride from Malé International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Hotel North Male Atoll
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort And Spa
Full Moon Maldives
Full Moon Hotel Maldives
Full Moon Resort Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.