We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise one earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20-15   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Paradise one earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and i returned last week form 8 nights here for our honeymoon. I cannot fault the island or the staff, it really is 5*!!! from the white powder sands to the amazing restaurants, everything was memorable for all the right reasons! perfection! we received a complimentary private beach meal for our honeymoon and this was certainly a highlight of our trip!!!!
Can only hope to return one day!!
thank you x

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hello Kerrie, thank you for choosing Sheraton Maldives for your honeymoon, it’s great to read that you had such a memorable time with us.

Let us know if you plan to celebrate your 1st anniversary with us!
Regards,
Ursula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    503
    241
    83
    31
    20
See reviews for
121
541
22
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just got back from this wonderful family holiday. The Maldives are amazing and I will definitely go back.

Here are my pluses to staying at the Sheraton:

- Quick boat ride to resort (no waiting at airport, etc)
- Beautiful resort which never felt busy or crowded
- Good breakfast buffet - nice selection, minor daily changes, continental and local food available
- Family friendly, but I would say it was about 90% couples
- Staff was very friendly and efficient (called housekeeping as our shower and sink were not draining and they fixed within 15 minutes)
- Room was a good size (+ balcony) and always clean (however, there was constantly sand everywhere.....impossible to get rid of on an island, I guess.....but, sand in sheets is no fun:)
- they supplied bottled water everyday
- beach towels are everywhere and readily available (really nice compared to some resorts where you have to check them out, etc)
- Stingrays and small black tip sharks live in the 'lagoon'......nice to see while swimming
- Larger fish on the side of the island with the overwater bungalows

Here are my minuses to staying at the Sheraton:
- Main beach is synthetic. Coral has been removed. Berms have been added to create a lagoon.
- The more 'natural beach' is on the side of the island with all of the overwater bungalows so the view is obscured
-It seems much of the coral is dead on this side of the island, although regenerating
-We used SPG points to offset the price of our room.....I think we were given the worst room (location-wise) on the island. Disappointing when you have (or, just had) gold status and when you want to use your points you get the crap room.
-Room is called "Beach Front Deluxe" which was the case for some of those rooms.....but ours was the furthest from the beach....no view.
- Beach events with band on Thursday and Friday nights.....meaning drumming from 7pm to 9pm while our daughter was trying to sleep - if you're in villas, bungalows or in SPG preferred rooms, you won't hear this. But, cottages and regular Beach Front Deluxe rooms will.
- empty water bottles floating on the water.....really sad especially when leaving and speedboat went through about 1000 bottles floating on water just outside berms

We went on the group snorkeling trip to the "Fish Aquarium". They took us just next to the Bandos Resort and we snorkeled their island reef. It was beautiful! Amazing coral and fish. Saw a turtle.

So, in summary....we had a nice stay at the Sheraton. However, I think for our next trip to the Maldives, we will go to another resort/island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hello,

Firstly, congratulations on achieving your SPG – Gold status. It is disappointing that you did not feel that recognition was given to you during your stay as a valued SPG member. We trust that you are enrolled into the current SPG promotion and enjoying the bonus Starpoints.

It’s great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Maldives.

The entire island of Sheraton Maldives is natural – this is not a man-made island. The beaches and sand are all as nature created.

We are currently working on coral rejuvenation programs around the resort. Unfortunately, we did have a number of coral damaged during the Tsunami – and this takes many years to return back to its formal glory. However, with a little help from our side, we believe we are starting to see coral growth.

Again, thanks for your feedback and we look forward to your return.
Ursula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We picked Sheraton full moon resort and spa for our honeymoon and it was the best decision yet!
The most memorable experience right from landing, to the clearest of clear blue waters, to the beautiful hut , to the breathtaking views of the ocean waters! It was so amazing! Snorkelling, scuba, canoeing, and all the water sports too see the most beautiful mainline life, the corals was so wow! And to top it all we brought in the New Years with the new year party ! We so wish we can come to your resort again and enjoy the festivities, the place, the waters, the anchorage bar, the drinks, the food, the sand , the fish and yes not to miss the heavenly romantic couples spa! I sooo miss Sheraton Maldives!

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing Sheraton Maldives for your honeymoon, it’s great to read you made the right choice by staying with us.
As we now have direct flights from/to Mumbai, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,
Ursula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I just returned from 8 nights at the Sheraton Full Moon Resort in the Maldives and WOW what an experience.
First let me compliment GM Ursula Schoefl and her team for taking every opportunity to ensure our time at the resort was as enjoyable as possible. From the moment we were greeted at the reception centre we were made to feel special.
We choose a water bungalow and we were not disappointed with the experience. We travel regularly and have experienced the grand suite, rooms a stone’s throw from the ocean etc, but the water bungalow is another experience all into itself. Being able to enjoy the sea life at your doorsteps and always just being a few steps to a swim really was quite something.
The island is small so don’t expect much action, in fact, plan for an early morning swim, a nice breakfast, a blissful day, a great dinner and an early evening and the best thing is you get to do it all again the next day.
The diving in the area is amazing and I went three times, my wife enjoyed the spa so we both won. The dive shop on the property is first class and the experience was memorable – seeing a huge manta ray in the wild was amazing. Chris and Andrea at European Divers will take care of you; they welcome divers of all experience levels.
Finally the food – well it does not disappoint. The Anchorage bar is great, with fish feedings every evening and wines of the world (3 glasses for $15) as a special treat. Dining was amazing, Sea Salt is an experience you will soon not forget, Baan Thai has the most amazing noodle salad and the Sand Coast for lunch was always rewarding. Feast was our normal spot for breakfast and it didn’t disappoint. The manager’s cocktail party for SPG members is a nice touch.
Being from North America I was worried we would travel to the other side of the world only to find an experience similar to what I might find in the Caribbean. This was not the case; the Full Moon in the Maldives really is a wonderful place.

Room Tip: Go for the water bungalow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello Sandy,

Thank you for such a detailed and great review on Trip Advisor, I am very pleased to read your note and thanks for the compliment…

We all look forward to welcoming you again!
Ursula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel, services, ocean and that heavenly beach.. everything was perfect!
We stayed at a cottage on the beach and there was a garden-bathroom in our cottage. the atmosphere was good. The facility, actually the island is quiet peacefull. No animations, no music, no lights at night, extremely natural and relaxing environment. I definitely recommend this hotel to everyone..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Hello Melike,

Thanks for the recommendation - we appreciate your support and are delighted to read that you have had such an enjoyable stay with us.

With the new direct flights starting later this month between Istanbul and the Maldives, we hope that we are able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sunny regards .. Ursula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giza, Egypt
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel was amazing, I went there for my honeymoon and I was enjoying it so much. The water bungalow was private and an extraordinary experience. The only concern is the limited options for lunch and dinner

Room Tip: Try the dinner events organized by the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hello and thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sheraton - it was great to have you here with us.
With a selection of four restaurants, it is disappointing to read that we were not able to cater to your likes - for your next visit, we would be happy to help to arrange a specific menu to meet your requirements, just let us know.
Our dining options are .. Feast; our all day dining restaurant (buffet), Baan Thai; our Thai restaurant open for dinner, Sand Coast; an a la carte beach side restaurant open for lunch & dinner and Sea Salt; our signature steak and seafood restaurant open for dinner. Additionally, Anchorage Bar; serving all day snacks and Sheraton Social Hour each evening as well as in room dining.
I agree with you - our Water Bungalows are magical, it is an amazing experience to stay atop the ocean.
Thanks for your feedback and regards .. Ursula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Both me and my wife visited this resort for our honeymoon. We stayed here 10 days....and what can I say- amazing. Staff were the friendliest that I've ever seen...saying hello when they pass and bring keen to help.

Rooms were very clean...as was the beech and the rest of the resort. They appear to have more staff than visitors who are constantly cleaning the resort....combing the beaches, rooms, pools, etc. Something that I actually wasn't expecting.

Food prices were higher than expected, but not over the top. Makes sense...they're in the middle of the ocean so it's bound to be a little more.

Loved every second and would love to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Firstly, thank you for choosing to celebrate your honeymoon with us at Sheraton and congratulations on your wedding.
It's great to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maldives to celebrate many anniversaries to come.
Sunny regards .. Ursula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa

Address: 20-15
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > Furanafushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Furanafushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa is situated on it's own private island surrounded by tropical landscaping and turquoise lagoons. With 176 guest rooms reflecting the tropical destination featuring the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Facing the sunrise with spectacular views of the Indian Ocean are 20 Ocean Villas offer large bathrooms, comfortable living spaces and luxurious outdoor living areas complete with infinity edge plunge pools.Sheraton Maldives is just a 15-minute boat ride from Malé International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort And Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Hotel North Male Atoll
Full Moon Maldives
Full Moon Hotel Maldives
Full Moon Resort Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.