We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in the middle of the Indian Ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20-15   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
NEW CLUB ROOMS
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Heaven in the middle of the Indian Ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Both me and my wife visited this resort for our honeymoon. We stayed here 10 days....and what can I say- amazing. Staff were the friendliest that I've ever seen...saying hello when they pass and bring keen to help.

Rooms were very clean...as was the beech and the rest of the resort. They appear to have more staff than visitors who are constantly cleaning the resort....combing the beaches, rooms, pools, etc. Something that I actually wasn't expecting.

Food prices were higher than expected, but not over the top. Makes sense...they're in the middle of the ocean so it's bound to be a little more.

Loved every second and would love to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Firstly, thank you for choosing to celebrate your honeymoon with us at Sheraton and congratulations on your wedding.
It's great to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maldives to celebrate many anniversaries to come.
Sunny regards .. Ursula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    269
    96
    36
    22
See reviews for
132
589
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

visited Sheraton full moon resort during Oct 12, the place is one of the best we had vacationed.
clear water and manicure lawns. good range of restaurants/bars. We stayed in the water villa and the beach cottage, both have their own unique features. if you have a chance do stay at both the rooms. The buffet has various themes, the day we had dinner they had sea food as the theme, was disappointed to see barbecued fish and a sea food fried rice as the only dishes.
The breakfast was good, with a wide range from freshly made pancakes, omelette, waffles and others. the rooms are very well designed and kept very clean. The outdoor shower in beach cottage is very touch.

Room Tip: Avoid the buffet for meals. You have better options and VFM in the ala crate menu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Hello .. it's great to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Thanks for sharing.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sunny regards .. Ursula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed there for a week and will always remember this place. Each and every moment was like a dream. Woke up and saw the ocean from my bed. We did not have to leave the island as everything were in place including all restaurants, pool, diving centre, wellness, and even wakeboarding. Food and local beer are fine however if you would like to drink wine you need to pay quite a lot or choose cocktail which are so - so. Our overall view was more than positive and we would go back any time.

Room Tip: Choose a water bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hello and thanks for sharing your Sheraton holiday experience here on Trip Advisor.
It's great to read that you had such a great stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maldives again in the near future.
Sunny regards .. Ursula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This really is a stunningly beautiful resort - white sand beaches with crystal clear tropical water (it's like swimming in a fish tank), perfect manicured lush tropical gardens (such interesting plants & trees), a waterfall feeding into a swimming pool (much how i imagine a natural lagoon in a tropical rainforest), first class accommodation (options to suit, ranging from ocean view villas with pools, over water stilted villas & bungalows, to standard rooms set within gardens), various restaurants to suit all tastes (Maldivian, Indian, Thai, European etc), beach bars with spectacular views and the staff were totally incredible (we stayed one night only and, despite having 180 or so rooms, we were both greeted by name at breakfast!). Just to show the level of service, we were celebrating a birthday and so I asked for a special room with a view - and was taken aback to receive complimentary sparkling wine, cake, card and petals on the bed spelling 'Happy Birthday'! Incredible - and they let us check out at 4pm too! It's also conveniently close to Male airport, so no long, costly seaplane or long speedboat transfers. Only downside was that it's very pricey as you'd expect - $10-15 USD for a small milkshake, $190 USD for a nice Thai meal for 2 without alcohol - but a trip of a lifetime nonetheless! Thank you Sheraton!

Room Tip: Water villas are absolutely incredible. Room 5 has an extended sun deck (bigger than others), but yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello Oliver,

Thanks for sharing your Sheraton holiday experience here on Trip Advisor - it's great to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sheraton Maldives when next you are in this part of the world.

Regards .. Ursula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed for a week at the Sheraton Maldives and we never wanted to leave. My wife was crying by the end because it was such a magical place. Not many americans even know where Maldives are hence why we chose this destination and while hard to get to, it is well worth the long flights. We spent 4 previous days in Dubai before heading down. On arrival it's just as beautiful as every picture you've seen. The hotel staff quickly escorted us with bags into awaiting boat and whisked us off to hotel. Short ride later the staff was waving upon arrival to the dock (and upon our departure :( but more of that later). Platinum status got us upgraded to a water bungalow and golf cart took us to an amazing room. They also have beach cottages but I think water bungalow is why you travel so far to experience. They have all been upgraded since the tsunami and were in good condition. The bathrooms do get hot and stuffy with not being connected to main room for AC but having the water and access to snorkel steps away was perfect. They truly make it so you don't need to leave the island except for Sheraton planned activities. So if you're truly looking to relax this is the place. We found daily activities snorkeling, dolphin sunset tour, fishing, local island experience, island BBQ, and scuba diving all well run. The hotel pool was never crowded and service was high end. We were told there are ~150 guest at anytime and over 400 staff and it shows. The tend to everything and were quick and all speak good English. By the end of the trip they knew everything about us which can be creepy but what you get with high end service. The dive center is Euro Dive and top notch. I did a quick cert. check dive and immediately saw eagle rays, giant green turtles, black tip and reef sharks, manta rays eels, etc. You don't need to go far to see much and can get two dives in a day and the staff is knowledgable and help with all gear. Great divemasters who love to chat and know the sites very well. There is no lounge so platinum get free daily breakfast buffet which was well worth it. Amazing selection and we stuffed ourselves every morning so didn't need much of a lunch. On our last day they are difficult about getting a late checkout but we had a 11:30 PM flight so we went to the spa for a couples massage and it was amazing and romantic. Quick change in the room and off to watch final sunset and nightly hotel shark feeding. We did get upgraded half way thru to an Ocean Villa which are on far end of island so bit more walk and remote and you can't walk right into water since sea is rough but they are newer than bungalows and have wireless where other rooms do not. Since no ocean access you get your own plunge pool so we felt like rockstars and if you have the $$$ this is the way to go. Other restuarants on the island we tried them all excpet Thai one were so so. Not bad not amazing. A wave goodbye from staff and we were on way back to airport and hopefull to return one day before the country is swallowed by the sea!!
Pros:
- Extremely friendly staff
- Great Dive Center
- Clean newer rooms
- Plenty of activities
- Perfect for honeymooners
- Free Breakfast for Plat. SPG
- Water Bungalows & Ocean Villas
- Free snorkel gear everyday if needed
Cons:
- Alcohol is $$$ with being Maldives and cannot bring duty free so expect to spend most of your money on drinks. Don't see this changing or worth hassle of trying to sneak in booze.
- So much staff that it can be overburdening. It seems every corner you turn there is somebody albeit smiling.
- If you want to venture to other islands or explore capital on your own expect to pay an arm and leg. It costs us over $300 for a private boat ride to explore the capital
- Bring your own sunscreen and lots of it or expect to pay $45 for a small bottle

Room Tip: Water bungalows are very close to your neighbor. If you want true privacy go with Ocean Villa. Beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Firstly, congratulations on earning your SPG Platinum status - we appreciate your support around the world and were delighted to be able to welcome you to Sheraton Maldives.

It's great to read that you had such a memorable stay and we hope that you will take the long flight and visit us again - or, one of our many other Sheraton Resorts.

Sunny regards .. Ursula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The villas private pool is a superb place to revel in the luxury of the serene surroundings while enjoying the sound of the waves and and your favorite refreshment.The food was very good and the entire stay was a sheer delight. The furnishings were very well taken care especially the abundance of drawers, the lavish bathroom and the wonderful bed. Everything is very well placed and thought out to add comfort and convenience to your stay in this luxury environment. The staff were very helpful, friendly. Can't wait to visit again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hello, thanks for sharing your Sheraton holiday experience. We're delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
Being so close to us, I hope you are able to return soon.
Regards .. Ursula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

As couple we stayed here for a valentines break.

The pros:

Beautiful island stunning
Very romantic
Beautifully kept beach crystal clear turquiose waters
Detached cottage facing the beach the best worth the extra money
Outdoor shower- wow!
Good choice of restaurants - Thai restaurant the best.
Freshwater pool amazing.
Very helpful staff.

The negatives:

Expensive for drinks and food.
Buffet and theme nights not great for price your paying.
No supermarket or anything to by crisps, drinks, etc.
No alcohol is allowed into the Maldives.
Breakfast choice was poor.

Would go back to another island. Could try all inclusive but imagine choices would be very limited.

Room Tip: Detached cottage facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Vanessa,

It's great to read that you had such a great Sheraton holiday experience with us during your stay in the Maldives.

We appreciate your comments and feedback .. and hope to welcome you back to either Sheraton Maldives or our sister-resort, W Maldives.

Sunny regards .. Ursula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa

Address: 20-15
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > Furanafushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Furanafushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa is situated on it's own private island surrounded by tropical landscaping and turquoise lagoons. With 176 guest rooms reflecting the tropical destination featuring the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Facing the sunrise with spectacular views of the Indian Ocean are 20 Ocean Villas offer large bathrooms, comfortable living spaces and luxurious outdoor living areas complete with infinity edge plunge pools.Sheraton Maldives is just a 15-minute boat ride from Malé International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Hotel North Male Atoll
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort And Spa
Full Moon Maldives
Full Moon Hotel Maldives
Full Moon Resort Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.