We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth at an affordable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20-15   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
NEW CLUB ROOMS
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Paradise on earth at an affordable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2007

We spent 6 nights at Full Moon as part of our honeymoon. We chose this resort after extensive research and concluding that we wanted to spend at least part of our time in a deluxe over- water bungalow (the signature accomodation of the Maldives) without having to pay the exuberant prices offered by other hotels. Full Moon didn't disappoint.

The most amazing feature for us was the landscape (see attached photos) - all those images of tropical islands which you see on travel shows and postcards are truly realised here. The waters are truly warm, clear and turquoise, the sand is truly white and fine and there is plenty of vegetation including lush palm trees decorating almost the entire island. There is also the sense of space where frequently we had the entire beach to ourselves.

As for the rooms, we spent half of our time in the beach bungalows. Our only compaint here was that it was dimly lit but otherwise the room was new and beautiful with a large bed and clean furniture. The outdoor shower and bath certainly add to the island feel. There is an decent collection of satellite tv channels almost all in English for when it rains. The balcony opens up near the beach but bear in mind that the majority of the bungalows (including ours) do not open directly onto the beach.

The remaining half of our time was spent in the water bungalows. This is definitely a higher level of luxury. There is a large king size four poster bed facing panoramic views of uninterupted turquoise ocean. The bathtub has similar views. Banana chairs are provided on the balcony where you can step directly into the ocean. Like other reviewers have mentioned, the coral is quite sharp here so we chose to swim on the other side which is only a minute's walk away.

We chose the bed and breakfast option. Breakfast offered an extensive buffet. We had small meals at the Anchorage Bar for lunch whilst sitting next to the ocean feeding the amazing collection of tropical fish which approach the shallow waters. The sting rays, eels and reef sharks are fed by staff at 6pm every evening.

We tried the Full Moon, Ban Thai, Sand Coast and Atoll Grill restaurants for dinner. All are priced similar to what you would expect at any city restaurant in Australia even when you include the 10% surcharge that most people talk about. The food is decent but our favourite was the Sand Coast cafe where we had the Maldivian lobster curry with massive chunks of real lobster for only $21.

All sports must be paid for except for table tennis and the gym (which is new and well equipped). We were disappointed that even non motorised sports like canoeing and wind surfing incured a cost. But don't let that deter you. This must be one of the best places in the world to try wind surfing if you're a beginner like us - calm, wide open blue waters with only a gentle breeze to carry you along.

The resort offers a spa and massage place on a separate island which is connected to the main island by a small walkway. We thought the price here was in fact cheaper based on the length of the massage compared to what is available in Australia.

The staff at the resort are generally very nice although the service is not always fast and efficient - this is afterall an island and things are very casual and relaxed. We aimed to let little things like this not detract from our honeymoon.

In summary, we truly had an amazing honeymoon here. It really is a paradise island at an affordable price. Enjoy the pics.

  • Liked — Tropical landscape, amazing accomodaion, affordable price
  • Disliked — Non motorised sports need to be paid for
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    270
    96
    37
    23
See reviews for
133
594
25
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

My family and I have just returned from a 5 days stay at the Full Moon and have to say that we all (including my 5 year old daughter) totally enjoyed it. From the moment we were met at the airport by the hotel until the time we left we were looked after with lots of smiles and friendly staff. We stayed in a beach cottage and had the best location (room 212) right on the beach and the outside bathroom was the best, well worth paying the extra instead of a deluxe room. The hotel has 5 restaurants, we tried the Thai (good value for money) and the Sand coast cafe (good selection & children's selection). As there is no convenience store if you like your snacks or have small children it is wise to take cartons, crisps etc with you. There is not much to do on the island but we didn't expect there to be as we were going there to relax but there are plenty of trips to go on. We went on the glass bottom boat and of course the sunset dolphin cruise which was awesome! Apart from the trips you can spend your time snorkelling (best on the water bungalow side), sunbathing / relaxing around the large pool or on the beach or even pamper yourself at the spa! All in all we had a fantastic stay the only downside is that food and drink on the island (apparently in all the islands in the maldives) it is very pricey!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Pricey food
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2007

4 star, value for money. water sports is cheap, fun boat at US30 and 1hr catamaran sailing with snorkelling US30 per person. food is average. stayed at water bungalow, toilet is very small and squeezy. but overall everything is fine. do not expect much. just good enough. sun, sea, bed, everything is fine and clean. staff is friendly. prices in souvenir shop is reasonable. can buy. dlx cottage bchfront will be a better choice than water bungalow. :)
can stay.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2007

We stayed at Full Moon for 6 nights as part of our honeymoon in November 2006. The room was excellent and service as well! It was a big and luxurious bungalow. There were more than one restaurant to choose from although the ones that were not in the price for Half Board were quite expensive considering the value money has in the country, which we realised when we took the trip to Male. We saw dozens of dolphins at the other trip and thousands of multicoloured fish at another trip to the "banana reef".

It was just a perfect honeymoon even though the wheather was not optimal . Most days it was raining for a few hours but it was warm so that one could stay out, even take a shower in the outdoor shower (it may sound funny but it was awesome!). The spa was also above average and you can have massages at the same time with your friend.

The water was blue but, of course, Greece has better beaches and waters !! I heard that some hotels that are not that close to Male have better beaches, but after a long flight it is really not that necessary to go too far. The beach was picturesque!

Don't be afraid of little sharks that swim next to you... They are more afraid than you!

We decided to go back on our 5th anniversary, even with kids ! so I recommend this hotel to anyone who needs relaxation.

  • Liked — the room and bathroom was big and luxurious
  • Disliked — prices
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

What a fabulous resort Full Moon is! We travelled there for one week with our 9 month old daughter and were obviously a little apprehensive given that there aren’t any convenience stores at the resort, however we packed everything we could possibly need for our daughter and had a super time. The staff were amazing with us and with our baby.

We had booked a beachfront cottage right on the shore line, it was stunning. We spent every evening eating and drinking on our terrace whilst our daughter slept soundly inside the room, therefore enabling us to have fabulous meals (they provided us with the menus from each of the restaurants – so we weren’t limited just to the room service menu) and were served by the room service guys on our own private terrace on the sea – truly amazing, we couldn’t have asked for more. We did manage to get a babysitter one night (noone was available on the other night we wished to go out, which was unfortunate) and we went to the Thai restaurant (the food was okay, the ambiance was lacking) followed by the Anchorage Bar with live entertainment with was great fun. How anyone can not have a fabulous holiday at this resort is beyond me – its heavenly. The staff, the location (a short 15 min speedboat trip from the airport) and the room was superb.

We went to view the water bungalows and the main water suite but to be truthful, the water bungalows were smaller than our beachfront cottage and you are quite isolated, although if you are going on your honeymoon, I guess that would be perfect! The main water suite was fabulous – it has an infinity bath – have you ever heard of such a thing?!? I would have loved to stay there but with a baby and on our budget it just wasn’t doable! I would wholeheartedly recommend anyone stayed at this resort, it’s a short distance from Male and has everything I believe anyone would be looking for in an island holiday. We went to the Seychelles previously and found it very expensive at the resort, the cost of food and beverages in Full Moon however was reasonable (Dubai/London bar/restaurant prices). The other resorts may be bigger in the Maldives, but that wasn’t what we were looking for in our island holiday. We hoped for paradise, and we weren’t disappointed.

  • Liked — The rooms were fabulous
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAOUSSA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

Me and my family have visited Maldives some days ago and we have stayed in the Full Moon Hotel for 5 days and in the Kurumba hotel for 4 days. The Full Moon hotel was excellent. We have stayed in a Beach front cottage, which is the best opportunity for a room in Full Moon. People who were in a deluxe room or overwater bungalow were not as satisfied from the room as we were. Our room was very clean, they were cleaning it twice a day. The bungalow was very spacious, with all the comforts a client could wait and the sea was very clean generally. The view was excellent and so was the food at the Sand Coast Cafe which was the best choice there and at the Thai restaurant the food was delicious too. Breakfast at the main restaurant was good, but if you plan to stay there in a HB (Halfboard Basis, that means breakfast and dinner) then you have made the wrong choice because dinner is not good and some Buffets they have twice a week are too expensive for what they are offering to the client.
The stuff is very polite and especially if you tip them with a dollar then they are committed to you. My advice is to supply yourselves with many banknotes of 1 dollar, especially people who come from the EU, because noone accepts and gives coins there and the banknote of 5 Euro is too expenive either for a tip or for paying small things.
There isnt any good shop in the hotel for all the people who like to buy some things from the Maldives, so if you want to make some shopping then you have to either go to the dirty Male (which is very expensive and you feel like they are cheating you there) or compromise with the few things you can choose from the boutique. We were very lucky because we also went to the Kurumba hotel which has more shops and much choices and of course all oru main shopping was done in Dubai.
There arent too much moskitoes at this time of the season there and all the stuff we bought from Greece to face them was thrown away when we returned back. I dont know if there are more moskitoes at an other time of the year. Of course we have found many bats there but they dont do you any harm, they are harmless but noisy.
The sharks are not big and when they see you they dissapear. Generally they are harmless.
The best excursions are the Sunset Dolphin Cruise and the Reef Snorkelling which is impressive. The excursion with the glass bottom boat is rather goob, but it is something with which someone can deal even though he has not seen it.
The excursion to Male is bad. This is not the hotel's fault but generally Male is a very dirty and stingy city. The tour in Male is not something worthseeing and the shops are too expensive. The guides are leading you to some souvenir shops which sell useless things for high prices and believe me if you have some other choice of shopping, then dont buy from Male.
Generally, all our vacation was excellent, the hotel was very good and we were very satisfied.
Some words for the Kurumba hotel as well. This hotel is very different from the full moon hotel. It is more luxurious, but not so friendly as the Full Moon. It has too many choices for everything, from eating to excursions etc. The Libanese and the Indian restaurant are just perfect and worth visiting but the main restaurant is not so good. The gardens are just perfect and the aroma of the flowers is excellent. The island is round and more tropical than the Full Moon and the sand and water is perfect. I loved the sunsets there, the water, the sand and the palm trees and of course the 2 above mentioned restaurants.
I advise everyone who is interested to visit these two hotels.

Friendly
Dimos - Naoussa, Greece

  • Liked — The bathroom
  • Disliked — Water
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

We travelled to Full Moon for 10 nights as part of our honeymoon in June last year. Admittedly the island does have a few downsides - it's very expensive, too close to Male and the food in the main restaurant is not fantastic, but I still absolutely loved the place.

We stayed in a water bungalow - absolutely amazing, especially the bathroom and sun deck. Couldn't have asked for a better room to enjoy the last part of our amazing honeymoon. We had a great view from our room, but I wouldn't have liked to have been on the other side, where you can see the ugly Male quite close by. We were on half board but drinks etc did work out to be extremely expensive - $11 or $12 for a cocktail and it was very annoying that they add 10% service charge onto absolutely everything, even something you take yourself from the mini bar! That said, Maldives is not a destination for people who don't like spending money! I'm a fussy eater and was not always enamoured with either of the 2 choices we were offered for dinner (I don't eat fish), but our waiter always did his best to sort something out for me which was much appreciated. We also went to the lobster evening which my husband loved (I had the turf without the surf), the bbq/steak place on the beach which was brilliant, and best of all we had a private dinner on the terrace of our water bungalow - 7 courses and our own butler - amazing. Sand Coast Cafe was nice for lunch - we wanted to go to the Italian and had booked but an event they had on there that day over-ran and we kept getting sent away - it was annoying so we gave up and went to the main restaurant in the end.

Learnt to dive with Kai and he was great - my husband has dived all over the world, including the Great Barrier Reef and he said it was some of the best diving he'd ever done so ignore people who say there are no fish. On the water bungalow side there were loads of fish swimming around at the bottom of our steps! Admittedly though it did lack a good house reef.

The spa - absolutely amazing, I recommend the couples' treatment with the hot stone massage!

The Island Hopping trip is basically an excuse to get you to Male so that the shopkeepers can try to force you to go into their shops, though we did feel for them. We also did the sea plane picnic trip and went to a gorgeous island called Veligandu which is next on my list in the Maldives. We have also stayed on Kuramathi on an all includive basis which was much better value and felt more 'real Maldives' than Full Moon, which is a little too shiny & new at the moment due to being recently rebuilt, but the facilities at Full Moon are fantastic. Lovely pool, great restaurants and staff. Despite the drawbacks I'd go back in a flash, though given the choice between Full Moon and Kuramathi, I'd probably choose Kuramathi in terms of value and authenticity, I just wish I could have the room we stayed in at Full Moon!

  • Liked — The water bungalow, the views, the sea
  • Disliked — High prices for drinks, service charge
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa

Address: 20-15
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > Furanafushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Furanafushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa is situated on it's own private island surrounded by tropical landscaping and turquoise lagoons. With 176 guest rooms reflecting the tropical destination featuring the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Facing the sunrise with spectacular views of the Indian Ocean are 20 Ocean Villas offer large bathrooms, comfortable living spaces and luxurious outdoor living areas complete with infinity edge plunge pools.Sheraton Maldives is just a 15-minute boat ride from Malé International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Hotel North Male Atoll
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort And Spa
Full Moon Maldives
Full Moon Hotel Maldives
Full Moon Resort Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.