We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Filitheyo Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Filitheyo Island Resort to your Saves list
Filitheyo Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Faafu Atoll, 20188   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Athens, Greece
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were on Filitheyo for our honeymoon. The travel was excellent, smooth with absolutely no problems. We waited for the seaplane for 1 hour, but it was ok since we had the opportunity to use the free internet :-) We stayed in a water villa for 8 days on HB basis. We had the chance to do snorkeling all day long and enjoy the amazing sunsets from our deck. We had our snorkeling gear with us so we didnt have to hire. We had a couple of rainstorms which faded quickly, but the currents were very strong all day long. We visited Bilad'hoo island. It wasn't expensive so give it a try. We also went half day to abandoned Hamza island. It was a nice but quite expensive experience. We were attacked by blue bottle jellyfish while snorkeling and there was noone around to help us. Thank God it wasn't severe case.
The room was magnificent, very clean and quite large. The staff were very friendly except for the guy in the gift shop who was never in the mood to serve us (we went there 4 times).
The food was excellent. The chefs are doing a great job!!
The only remarks we have to make are:
-The wi-fi should be free for such a room rate
-The eggs tasted funny (raw and cooked) which probably caused me some intestine problems
-The rear of the island needs some cleaning
-Some rooms look like they need renovation
-We tried to tip in Euros but they wouldn't accept it. Have Dollars!

We had a great honeymoon in Filitheyo and we will never forget it.

Room Tip: Take water villa if u can afford it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    237
    60
    15
    14
See reviews for
112
555
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We visited here for our Honeymoon and stayed in a watervilla, which we were very impressed with.

Filitheyo was our first experience of the Maldives, following our wedding/stay in Sri Lanka 8 days prior and we were awestruck by the beauty of the place on a whole.....the transfers by sea plane and Dhoni were well constructed and organized and from the moment our feet touched the Island, the staff were welcoming and friendly.

This island is small but we like that it way and it was one of the reasons why we went for this, Island in particular, there was no way we were disappointed, the Bars were relaxing and very friendly even offering premium brand drinks as part as the All Inclusive package (which we were) and the food on offer was always varied and there was something for everybody, although we are avid curry lovers and love to eat the culture's own foods rather than seek out typical English fayre.

The water was beautifully warm and clear, my husband said that the snorkelling was excellent and we absolutely fell in love with the Giant Fruit Bats that have a wonderfully large colony based in the centre of the Island.

We were very sad once it came to leaving after 7 days there (aren't most of us) and would dearly love to go back one day although sadly, the prices have risen quite dramatically since our stay there but who know's, we never say never!.

If you want a quiet, tropical haven to chill and completely forget the rest of the world, then this gorgeous Island is the one for you...enjoy!.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The island was very nice and the people were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were of a decent size and were in spiffing condition!! The location was excellent and the views over the sea were very beautiful. There is a very nice restaurant serving great food.I would defiantly recommend this place to anyone out there.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Filitheyo for 10 days at the end of July, to get away from the hustle and bustle of our daily lives. And wow, this place really over-delivered.

From the moment we arrived, we were treated with outstanding service. I'd like to pinpoint Frank at the Sunset Bar as providing the highest level of service throughout our stay. Food is excellent, the beach is great and the Sunset Bar is fantastic. If you're into dining, you should definitely book the beach BBQ dinner (it's $50 per person incl. a bottle of champagne) and the setting is perfect, right on the waterfront. The spa is also fantastic and not over-priced at all. The selection of treatments is vast. The island also has a good library.

Rooms (Superior Villa) are great. Beds are comfortable and outdoor showers are great.

If you're looking for complete seclusion and a perfect getaway destination, I can highly recommend Filitheyo. Honestly, there's no need to think twice about it! Just watch out for Trigger fish!

Room Tip: Superior Villas 30-110 are great. If you're considering between a superior or deluxe villa, ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We visited Filitheyo during July/ August and i just wanted to thank both Bobin and Ahmed for such great service and always having a smile on there face! they really made our Holiday.

The weather was great we only had 2 days of overcast weather, however it was still hot! The island its self is picturesque, i couldn't stop staring at the view, while drinking a cocktail around the pool. The food is amazing! and there is so much variety!! The island has lots to offer including night fishing and morning fishing, day snorkelling and paddle boarding. We caught fish when we went night fishing and were able to eat them the next night... delicious!

The only thing i would say was a negative, was the organisation by management in our sea plane. The day we left we had a really big tropical storm, which ultimately caused us to miss our international flight. If the management had acknowledged this and arranged to get us on a later flight, we wouldn't of had to stay at the airport.

i would highly recommend booking Filitheyo at any time of year!!! amazing place!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The best beach holiday I have had. If you like to do nothing but relax then this is the place. Read a book on the beach, listen to the ocean. The snorkelling is fantastic around the island. The beach houses are great, simple, clean with an fantastic outdoor bathroom and shower. Shower at dusk and watch the fruit bats fly overhead. The food was wonderful, the curries are amazing, sushi everyday, lots of choices. The bar area at the pool was perfect was watching the amazing sunsets. The entertainment consisted of one nights hermit crab racing. This suited me fine. Walk back to your room, bare feet of course and watch all the hermit crabs. Go down to the seas edge at night and the wonderful sight of hermit crabs on the shores edge. Take a look at the night sky, the clear skies and the stars are breathtaking. A truely wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was by far the best ever beach holiday I have EVER had!! This was my first time to the Maldives and I loved every minute of it. The resort itself is truly beautiful. The staff were friendly and the service was very good. We found that everywhere was kept very clean, including eating areas, pool, beach, sea etc.
The food here was amazing. We went half board so had breakfast and dinner in the main restaurant, which was buffet style (you can upgrade to All Inclusive which is $75 dollars per person each night). Every night they had different types of cuisine and various cooking stations that made fresh food in front of you, too many to mention. The breakfast was also very good, cereals, bread, pastries, egg station, etc. I can't comment on the lunch, but we normally ate in the sunset bar (as we were half board) - reasonable prices and a wide variety of snacks/meals. You are assigned a table for your entire stay, but as it was low season, we asked to be moved and they were happy to oblige.
In terms of the accommodation, we stayed in a water villa as we wanted to go the extra mile as who knows if we will ever return to the Maldives again, I can safely say it was the best decision we made. As it was my Husbands birthday, the resort had decorated the room and provided a cake, which was amazing. Our water villa had a very large bathroom with a shower and whirlpool bath tub, a four poster bed and the best part... the sun deck outside. The sun deck had two sunbeds, a swing and a table and chairs and a fantastic view of the Indian Ocean. We were in Water Villa 23, which i feel is the best for privacy as were the very last villa and had nothing blocking us from our left hand side, which in turn gave us easy access to the Ocean from out private staircase and a beautiful view of the island. The Water Villa from the other side (room 30 upwards) had better views of the sunset.
The room had a pretty decent mini bar at reasonable prices considering it is the Maldives. It was restocked twice a day. The room itself is also cleaned twice a day (once whilst at breakfast and then again before you go to bed). They time it quite nicely as they soon realise your schedule and work around you.
It terms of activities, we did the night fishing, which was a great experience. We didn't have to travel far from the island to catch and see amazing fish. I caught a couple which was great. We even saw some stingrays and sharks!
We also snorkelled every day right outside our own water villa and saw turtles, black tipped reef sharks and too many more to even mention. It was really easy getting in and out of the ocean from the water villa to snorkel, it made it very easy for us to snorkel 3 or 4 times a day.
The hotel's organisation of pick-ups and transfers with the sea plane was very smooth and planned well. We left on the first sea plane out on our last day and they still provided a light breakfast at 5am - which we thought was good.

All in all I would definitely go back to this resort and have no problem in recommending it to people who are still deciding on which island to visit. Don’t wait any longer and just go ahead and book it now. You won’t regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Filitheyo Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filitheyo Island Resort

Address: Faafu Atoll, 20188
Location: Maldives > Faafu Atoll > Filitheyo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Filitheyo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Filitheyo Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a breath-taking island paradise of leafy jungle foliage and sparkling white sand. Filitheyo resort is situated in Faafu Atoll, one of the most pristine atolls in the Maldives, abundant in colorful marine life and vibrant coral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Filitheyo Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filitheyo Island Hotel Faafu Atoll
Hotel Filitheyo Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Filitheyo Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.