We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very dissapointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Filitheyo Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Filitheyo Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Filitheyo Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20188   |  
Hotel amenities
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“very dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Filitheyo was the 12th island we had visited in the Maldives, as you can guess from the amount of times we have been its our favourite place and couldn't imagine being disapointed anywhere in the Maldives, and for this reason I have never read any reviews as I prefer to make up my own mind, but now I so wish I had done. We visited Filitheyo for 10 nights in January 13. We booked a superior villa as no deluxe villas available. We thought we may be able upgrade once we got there but still none available. Very disapointed with the location we were given and asked to to moved as soon as we arrived. There is a very large nuber of villas with no beach whatsoever just rocks, coral and fallen trees. Everbody who visits the Maldives is aware of the moving beaches and erosion and as we all know this is only getting worse. When people are paying a lot of money for there holiday you expect the perfect pictures that are advertised; a beautiful beach outside your own perfect little villa!!. Some islands actually close off the effected villas but not Filitheyo. They was reluctant to move us to a better location but I insisted and we did end up on a lovely part of the island. The rooms are very old looking worn and in need of updating. The towels are very poor,thin, hard and some had holes and rips in them ,they are also not very generous with the amount of towels they give to you. The beach towels were even worse, tiny and really old and the sun loungers very poor condition broken ones discarded in places. The padded cushions on the sun loungers were full of holes and very thin and worn and there was not enough sun loungers for all guests,people get up really early putting towels on loungers, this is the first time I have experienced this at the Maldives.Some of the roofs on the villas were covered with plastic sheets they were that damaged.
The food was the worst , I am vegetarian and apart from grated carrot lettuce and tomatoe the choice was limited. You cannot help yourself to some of the food on the 'buffet' it is behind glass(which was 'not clean')if you ask for fruit, say passion fruit you was given 1, several times I asked for more but felt uncomfortable as it was given reluctantly. The restruant staff were not very friendly. I spoke to one staff about not being able to help yourself to fruit and was told that the resort was in financial difficulties and things had to be limited!! The breakfast was the worst very bland, the amount flies at breakfast was ridiculus,I pointed out a large number of flies that was in the waffle mix, but the server didnt seem bothered. I spoke to the staff about it but feel it fell on deaf ears.They charge even to play pool, only $2, ive never been charched for this on any other island.
On a positive note the snorkelling is excellent and there is some areas of good beach.
The food was good in the sunset bar restruant, it was cooked to order and fresh and nicely presented and the staff much more pleasant.

Room Tip: The deluxe villas all had good beach.Villas from 80+ very poor and some no beach. Villas from20-60...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    413
    199
    48
    14
    11
See reviews for
90
480
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaillimh, Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Beautiful place to go. Nice rooms (choose deluxe beach villa only) we stayed in villa number 20. perfect beach area and not too far away from main restaurant and only few steps away from "Sunset Bar". Love food! Huge choice of any types of food! Great customer service. Friendly staff. If you are planning to get sunshine every day don't go to Maldives in April or May, it's rainy season. We stayed 10 days and only 5 days we spent on the beach.. I was a bit disappointed with the weather. But anyway we had a great time (fishing, snookering, visiting an other island). Filitheyo is the best pace to go for people how are looking for romantic and relaxing holidays and also snookering and diving experience.

Room Tip: Rooms from 10 to 22 are the best! nice, private and quiet area, perfect beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoeselt, Limburg, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were at Filitheyo last sumer (july 2012) for our honeymoon. We visited Dubai first, and then went to the Maldives. Filitheyo is a great place to stay. They stay close to nature, what makes the island stay more "Robinson" like.

It is not a resort with all modern stuff. I bet there are other islands on the Maldives if you prefer that. None the less, we as persons like the modern, but for this trip it was extra nice to be more "authentic". Everything made from wood and rope, it certainly makes it more authentic.

We were in a Deluxe villa. These are detached from the other villas and are a bit bigger than superior villas. They are also closer to reception and restaurant. They offer an absolutely splendid outside shower. There is nothing better than an open air shower!

Rooms where very clean, but still you live a bit in the wild. If you don't like small bugs like ants, don't go there (no worries, the ants where not in the room, but they were on the beach). We had a spider on our room, but housekeeping did a good job in removing it. A couple we met had 2 cockroaches on the room, but again housekeeping did a great job. I don't believe the bugs are there because of lack of cleaning, but because the island does it job in maintaining nature. When you sleep, you are in a perfectly tucked in mosquito net, so you don't need to worry about the bugs.

There is some other wildlife on the island. Apart from the crabs (there are a lot of crabs!) we also saw some huge bats. When walking at night, take a flashlight (just to be sure). Flashlights are provided by the hotel.

A big plus is that there are not a lot of other islands arout this one, and only a few are inhabited. So you feel a bit like Robinson, and not like a bunch of tourists...

The food was great. Always some showcooking, a lot of sushi, lots of indian currys, great deserts. I did not notice anything of the food not being hot (like mentioned in some reviews). We had an all in package wich is certainly a good thing when you are at the Maldives. Small remark: we could only drink at the bars, not take the drinks with us or use the minibar. That is in my opinion a stupid rule, but they don't seem to care if you go over to the bar and ask something to drink in your swimshorts.

The spa is excellent. My wife said best spa ever. The diving school is one of the best in the entire maldives. We visited an other island (where the people of the Maldives live), nice to see the culture! On our way to this island we saw flying fish. Great experience.

The house reef is really great. We even saw a white tip shark without even swimming (just from the reception peer!). We saw multiple turtles and a lot of fish. But watch out, there is a fish (titan trigger fish) that could be agressive (they warn you for it at the hotel and I saw a few of them). This makes the ocean not friendly for normal swimming, you should always do snorkling so you can keep an eye open for this fish (this is seasonal based I guess, most activity from this fish is around May if I remember it correctly).

It really was worth the money, great hotel. If we ever should visit the Maldives again, I would go for a different hotel, but just because we already saw this one and want to see new stuff ;) The hotel is not very kids friendly, there are just not a lot of things to do for kids, unlike the love snorkling and are fairly good swimmers.

In short: not 5+ star quality, but very nice and good hotel that gives you the true Robinson feeling. Great place to stay for a week (or two), not kids friendly.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

An attractive island for 60% of it's circumference, with two beautiful beaches with fine coral sand. The north west side with semi bungalows 39-112 has a close in house reef and a constant warm but refreshing breeze and consequent wave action but also relatively strong currents, too strong at times to swim against, but o.k to drift with, between exits 4 to 7.Here we saw the turtle. We only snorkled but many diving sessions were from this beach by exit 6.
The south facing beach with semi and detached bungalows and water bungalows (1-38) can be very hot with little breeze and the lagoon is almost too shallow for snorkling, except at high water, but does have more living and colourful coral and with its sandy floor was where we saw two rays.
Avoid bungalows 113-126 as these face east onto broken coral and a no snorkel zone.
Although there were sufficient sunbeds and cushions, they were assigned your room number, which made it difficult to get a sunbed elsewhere, other than by the infinity pool.
Although the food was plentiful and offered a good variety, the precooked food, including the meat joints was inevitably lukewarm, reducing it's enjoyment .Avoid the stewed tea and ask for hot water and tea bags (or take your own if you like speciality teas.) The special meals were exorbitant with no credit given for meals forgone-$50 each for an ordinary BBQ and $150 for a lobster dinner for 2.We didn't bother.
The spa massages were excellent as were the majority of the staff plus there was a reasonable library, gym and sea view cafe/special restaurant.It was also worth going to the managers drinks do in the pleasant spa setting and chatting to the mainly German, French and English guests.
One major downside for us was the 3 hour waiting time for the 1 hour sea plane transfer going out and the 7 hour return to MALE, being woken at 0430 for breakfast and reaching the airport at 0730 for a 1130 (11 hour) flight home-never again for us.
In summary not impressed with TUI for a second time in quick succession, with only 1 rep for 7 islands (who phoned us once and no rep for UK travellers at the departure airport) and an exorbitant price for the package which didn't give VFM in our opinion, having experienced 3 other Maldive holidays.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 -77 best unless you like it very hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I had a great week here in December 2012

Plus Points

Food Incredible (the choice and the standard fantastic)
Great Service (but they expect to be tipped)
Diving (good choice of easy and challenging diving, easy diving either house reef or 45 minutes away by boat)
Room (we had a water villa, excellent, able to see dolphins from the bed!!!)
With the exception of the All Inc wine, All Inc beverages more than passable


Minus Points

The island is one of the biggest, e.g. water villas are a good 10 to 15 minute walk from the dive centre and restaurant
Front desk personnel could be better (especially when telling you what time your departure is)
Restaurant doesn't feel special, even though the food is!
All Inc wine poor, but the non All Inc wine excellent and not that expensive

For the second part of our holiday we boarded the S/Y Maldives Siren Safari Boat, this was truly awful (contact me for details)

Room Tip: We had a water villa, the one allocated to us was excellent We didn't need to ask for a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordola, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I (young couple, no kids) were looking for a quiet romantic getaway - and Filitheyo met up to all of our expectations!

Important: We knew that the resort was simple and not luxurious, so we were not surprised to find the actual standing of the resort, which is (like some previous reviews point out) indeed simple and not the newest.
We stayed in a deluxe bungalow - anyone who is looking for a privacy and peace: go for the DELUXE room (free standing bungalow!). We met people who were in the superior rooms and the thin walls give you no privacy whatsoever. Our deluxe bungalow was very clean, the bed was comfortable. And the position was just PERFECT! Number 15! Although we were there over new years and the hotel was fully booked in those days, we were practically alone on the beach and in the lagoon all day long... It felt as if we were on a private island! It was just what we wanted!
I'm generally not a fan of water bungalows, because I like being surrounded by vegetation and sand... and even more after having seen some of the guests staying at the water bungalows come to hang out on their towels at the beach areas and running down the dock/footbridge so they wouldn't burn their feet on the hot wood, made me confirm my choice of a beach deluxe bungalow:)
The bare-foot concept of the resort was very appreciated- it made the whole atmosphere very laid back and "Robinson Crusoe" like... holiday pure! loved it!!!
The restaurant was organized very well and the food was very fresh and varied. We enjoyed the variation of local dishes. Compliments to the chefs, who indeed deserve a standing applause! The waiters on the other hand, at least ours, were everything but friendly. We arrived the first evening and the new morning without our waiter even greeting us with a simple hello.... Only after we left a tip the first evening did they start saying at least "good morning"... A bit disappointing in such a beautiful setting. They could do a lot better!
The staff at the main bar was very friendly, a bit less, but still satisfactory the staff at the sunset bar.
We didn't have much to do with the reception staff, but they were ok.
Our room service staff was super- very attentive and our room was cleaned at least twice (sometimes even 3 times) a day.

And of course the highlight: the beach, the water, the house reef and the sand bank you can canoe to.... Nature's paradise!!! Filitheyo is a wonder of turquoise!! It's hard to imagine a more beautiful beach setting.

We would defiantly go back to Filitheyo - as a couple looking for a romantic getaway like we did this time, but even with kids in the future!

If you're from Switzerland (or situated anywhere near Zurich)- choose Edelweiss Air that offers direct flights to Male. We were sooooo disappointed with Emirates- never again (old aircrafts and the airport in Dubai is too overrated in my opinion!!).

Room Tip: Deluxe bungalow Nr. 15!!!! Very private:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

On our flight out, (BA, as direct) we requested seats on back row to afford extra leg room for one of our family with foot injury - the space is questionable, and I would not recommend it . At Male it is a case of ` first come first served ` for boarding the sea plane transfer, so sitting as near to the front as possible would get you there sooner.We had a two hour wait,and our luggage was too heavy,so we left without it, and it was delivered later.(Thanks Maldivian Airlines for being true to your word.)
On arrival,had a brief speech from FO Manager,and no tedious paperwork for once -excellent foresight in allowing guests to complete it before arrival. Nothing is more annoying than all this pap when you are tired.
Despite prior requests, bedding situation wasn`t adhered to, but was rectified. Also a reduction on our final bill was appreciated, thank you.
We were in Water Villas, which suited us well, although we found that snorkelling was better on the other side of the island.The steps from ours were hazardous, and frankly, a sign warning you, does not compensate, and is not good enough. My husband fell, and I am amazed that there were no breaks. We informed the room boy who cleaned them, but it was no better. If you hope to snorkel from here, I would really suggest reconsidering, although some managed it fine ! For honeymooners, some found it awkward that we would all be visible if on the sundeck, but que sera!
The main pleasure of this resort was the laid back, chilled feel, and guests and staff were so
pleasant and friendly - we have never been anywhere else that equates.
The food was excellent, although it was odd that meat and cheese were served in slivers, but not
a problem. The chefs were fantastic, with random delights thrown in.(Well done, you were all so polite and unassuming, but were noticed and appreciated.)
The Spa was fantastic. I had two treatments, to alleviate foot problem. Had a Balinese girl who was amazing. We had difficulty communicating verbally, but did well on the dance floor on New Year`s Eve...lol
My younger daughter has included the dive school experience :

The diving centre at Filitheyo was quite exceptional; the centre was well organised and extremely professional. All of the staff at the centre were very friendly, whether it was the compressor boys, who always asked how your dive was on your return from the boat, or the caring instructors in the water. My daughter took the Nitrox Certification at the centre and it was very a simple, and relaxed atmosphere with just one night of theory followed by a short exam.

This place was so happy...we can`t wait to return. Another favourite resort of ours used to say
` We`ll keep the lights burning for you...` Well please do so, Filtheyo, and very brightly !

Look forward to seeing you all again soon, especially the amazing Sunset Bar team, you were fantastic, and we miss you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Filitheyo Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filitheyo Island Resort

Address: 20188
Location: Maldives > Faafu Atoll > Filitheyo Island
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Filitheyo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Filitheyo Island Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Filitheyo is the only island resort in the unspoiled Faafu Atoll. A natural tropical Island, which is lush in vegetation and surrounded by a stunning house reef. The resort offers guest what can be only be described as a barefoot luxury retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Filitheyo Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filitheyo Island Hotel Faafu Atoll
Hotel Filitheyo Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Filitheyo Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.