We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Idyllic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chaaya Lagoon Hakuraa Huraa

Save Saved
You added Chaaya Lagoon Hakuraa Huraa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chaaya Lagoon Hakuraa Huraa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2nd Floor , M. Maizan Building,, Sosun Magu, 20252   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hakuraa Island
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Absolutely Idyllic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

We booked to stay at Hakuraa Huraa after seeing a good deal in a Sunday paper and were slightly apprehensive as to what to expect. We shouldn't have been.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel completely at ease and our long awaited chill out started.
The setting is absolutely wonderful, the beach is beautiful, the water bungalows stunning, food excellent and varied and the ambience pure tranquility.

We had only a couple of minor issues which I would warn potential visitors of :

The restaurant can be stiflingly hot so try and get a seat underneath a fan (of which there could be a lot more) and away from the hotplates.

The bar has a tendency to close early and without warning. The all inclusive lasts until midnight but on two occasions the bar closed abruptly at 11.45pm whilst many guests were still dancing and enjoying themselves. On querying this the next day it was completely denied with the comment "i am not going to agree with you" when we stated our claim. Other guests had also commented on the bar's early closure to us so we know that it was not the alcohol dulling our sense of time !
Also note that there is no opportunity to purchase drinks outside of the all inclusive time period so unless you have stocked up, midnight is home time.

Other than these minor issues, I cannot fault the resort or the staff. They gave us a wonderful holiday. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone wishing to travel to the Maldives. The price is incredibly reasonable compared to the other islands and the quality outstanding.

The sea plane transfer from Male is awesome with some of the most stunning views I have had in my life.

Finally, I must agree with previous reviews in that although the flights were OK, Monarch are not the best to travel such a long distance with. I too would advise use of Virgin or Emirates who although not as cheap may be kinder to your back and legs and you may not experience the delays that have unfortunately become part and parcel in flying with Monarch.

  • Liked — The water bungalows are amazing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    582
    175
    57
    16
    2
See reviews for
61
656
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, England
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

My Wife and I went here last year for our honeymoon, and it was absolutely fantastic. Class A from the moment we arrived, excellent service, staff can't do enough for you. Top drawer excursions, from the trip out to see the dolphins to the "Paradise Island" which you can hire for the day, just the 2 of you, very romantic!!! If I had to find a flaw, it would be the dining arrangements. Tables are very close together and it can get very hot, and possibly the food could be a tad more exciting, but all the food was lovely. And the Chef even made a birthday cake for my Wife. If you go here, make sure you do the sunset cocktails on the beach (Blue Lagoon is best!!), and the 5 course candle lit dinner on the beach was just so romantic. Will definitely return here at some point. And don't forget your camera for the seaplane transfer.

  • Liked — The steps at the back of our water villa that led straight into the OCean
  • Disliked — Dining arrangements
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

This is probably the only resort I've been to which actually exceeds the expectation.

The water bungalows are a nice size and well furnished, staff are very friendly and cant do enough for you, there is even a clinic on the island with a doctor in residence should you need it (nearest hospital is 40min boat ride)

The beach is fantastic and you can see plenty of sealife just walking along the beach/jetty, daily we saw reef sharks, rays etc, going out snorkeling you see a lot more plenty of tropical fish, lion fish, moray eels etc.

The food in the restraunt is very good and changes daily, it has a kind of theme usually (thai, indian, mexican etc) but they keep standard stuff all the time for people who arent so adventurous plus there is always something for vegetarians.

Not related to the resort but the flight out with Monarch was not great, have flown twice with them now and neither experience was good, if you have the option go with emirates or virgin.

  • Liked — Water bungalow had glass panel in floor to view the reef underneath
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
val verde
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

Spent 8 nights in march 07. Very dissapointed, we have been to many tropical island destinations in the south pacific & the carribean & always felt that when we made it to the maldives it would top our list. The weather was very hot & humid & the dining room is sweltering, minimal fans & no air movement, all buffet food being kept warm on food warmers which made more heat, sweat sweat sweat, not pleasant to eat in a sauna, also food very basic & after 3 days we were sick of it, tables also very close together. Other dislikes were the fact that you cant swim in the lagoon, we imagined walking into this glorious lagoon every 5 minutes to cool off, ha ha!!! There,s no water in it!! You have to walk to the end of the jetty to get into any water worth talking about, then by the time you walk back to your beach chair if your lucky enough to have one you are hot & sweaty again.You are not allowed to take drinks from the bar to your room, Why? Bathrooms are very basic, need a lot of work. I would give this place a maximum of 2 stars & thats being generous. My advice is to be very careful when booking the maldives & if lying on a beautiful beach & wanting frequent dips in the sea to cool off is what you like then make sure you are going to be somewhere where there is more than 1 foot of water. I spent probably 20 hours on the internet looking at pictures of different resorts, couldnt get into veligandu which was my first choice so then found this & thought it would be fine. i dont know that spending more money would have helped because on the seaplane ride it was obvious that many of the resorts have the same lagoon issues. we just feel glad that living in Los angeles we have easy access to the carribean & the south pacific. The maldives are a long way for us to go [ we were on a trip round the world ] & we were not impressed. I,m sure there are some wonderful resorts but you probably need to spend a lot more money.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hakuraa Island
Medhufushi Island Resort 4.0 of 5 stars 619 reviews Hakura Club Island Resort 4.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
View all 2 hotels in Hakuraa Island, ranked by popularity

Been to Chaaya Lagoon Hakuraa Huraa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaaya Lagoon Hakuraa Huraa

Address: 2nd Floor , M. Maizan Building,, Sosun Magu, 20252
Location: Maldives > Meemu Atoll > Hakuraa Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hakuraa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaaya Lagoon Hakuraa Huraa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first glimpse of Chaaya Lagoon Hakura Huraa from the air leaves visitors speechless. Pure white-capped roofs of the resort's 70 Water Bungalows, set in knee deep crystal waters of the lagoon, can be a rare sight. A walk around this strip of island covered with green-topped palm trees will reveal 10 charming Beach Bungalows strategically placed with the lagoon as the front yard. Hakura Huraa means "Reef above water". What makes this reef even more special is the spectacular island resort that has been designed to complements the splendor of the island. It's called Chaaya Lagoon Hakura Huraa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Chaaya Lagoon Hakuraa Huraa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Lagoon Hakuraa Huraa Hotel Meemu Atoll

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaaya Lagoon Hakuraa Huraa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.