We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned from two weeks here! This...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo to your Saves list
Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ellaidhoo Island   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just returned from two weeks here! This...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010 via mobile

Just returned from two weeks here! This place is amazing :) when we arrived at chaaya reef all the staff greeted us and we got a cold towel and a drink in reception. We stayed in a superior room which were so big, really recommend it! We were also upgraded for the last two nights to a water bungalow thanks prem!!!! Staff are all so friendly saying hello when you pass them walking and can't help you enough. The reef is amazing for snorkelling I tried it a few times but my boyfriend loved it!! Donald was lovely set up some amazing meals for us with our friends we made by the pool and up on the terrace by the pool. It rained the last 3 days but this was ok as already had a tan by day 4 :) Staff do try and sell you the extras which was ok as you could say no, but they do try again the next night. Take lots of aftersun as you will burn even in the cloud!
We ran out and had to get some more from our friends. All inclusive is good but limited on cocktails you can have about 6 but have to pay for things like piña colada etc... Overall an amazing holiday we would definitely go back here!!! Best holiday ever :) :)

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    232
    74
    27
    15
See reviews for
102
768
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terneuzen, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

If you are looking for a place to rest and reload your battery, this is the place to be.
On arrival we were greeted by the entire staff, and welcomed with a cold towel and a drink. We stayed in a beach bungalow. The bungalow was clean and nice, but needed a little make over. Nothing to complain about, we had no problem sleeping in it ( for that is the only thing you use it for ). The only strange thing about it is even though we were All Inclusive, the mini bar was not included.
Five steps away from the bungalow we had our own sunbeds an two steps futher was the sea. Absolutely private, if you did not know better you would think you where the only one in this resort. Advise, take some water shoes, for there are parts that have rocks in the water.
For snorkling this is absolute heaven. I think we where in the water for at least six hours per day. The most beautifull house reef I have ever seen ( and as an ex diver I have seen many worldwide ).
The restaurant is just perfect. The meals are warm enough, service is good and it is never crowded. I would rate this even a 5 star.
The bar is perfect with very friendly staff who will do everything to make your stay the best ever.
The Spa was very good and they have some nice offers for you. I would recommend a visit.
The swimmingpool was nice and clean, but since snorkling was so beautifull we never went there.

Chaaya Reef was the perfect place to be and we will most certainly return next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Our whole trip went very smoothly, from the flight, to the sea plane and transfers. The sea plane was a fab experience and the views were gorgeous. Apparently the ocean was a bit choppy the day we flew and speaking to people who had gone by speedboat, it was not a pleasant experience. If you have a bad back you will suffer as the boat thumps down hard between waves!
On reaching the island the staff greet you and from then on you kick your shoes off and don't put them back on till you leave. Our watches and phones went in the safe in our room and didn't come out for 2 weeks.
The staff are amazing and can't do enough for you and the food was plentiful and varied. Both of us had a trouble free tummys for the whole 2 weeks. I mention this as I normally suffer upsets.
Do take plenty of insect repellent as many people were bitten. I suffered a few in the early days but then they eased up on me. The mozzy man fumigates each evening but this doesn't deter them.
We had our own sun beds right outside our beach bungalow and the pool was really lovely and clean. You could rest on the side and watch the sealife swim by below you!
The snokelling was out of this world and as we are both not strong swimmers we wore our life jackets, which many others did once they spotted us doing it.
The ray feeding and night shark feeding were not to be missed.
This was our first trip to the Maldives and we thoroughly enjoyed it and would love to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Stayed 2 weeks in a superior room all-inclusive

Flew from Gatwick to Male on Monarch which was cheap n' cheerful. Even soft drinks had to be purchased. Food very basic with only one option. On the outbound the beef cottage pie caused consternation from the many Asian passengers who understandably could not comprehend why only beef was available on a flight to the Indain subcontinent; but think the stewardesses couldn't care less about passenger satisfaction (but the catering wasn't actually their fault).

Speedboat transfer from Male to island was 90 mins and quite boring with only the odd flying fish to berak-up the monotony of the sea. Wasn't too bumpy and nobody was seasick.

Check-in was seamless, and hence we arrived at our groundfloor superior room which was clean and spacious. Thought we'd ask if any upper superior rooms( which were far more private than any of the ground level accomodation including beach bugalows) were available and luckily one was. That was the story of our stay with all of the staff such as waiters. barstaff and management only too eager to help.

Although the resort was 80% full, there was no problem finding sunbeds or privacy. Went barefoot the entire stay and full mobile reception. TV reception was poor and really the variety of channels were limited.Insect repellent was necessary. Food was plentiful but not overly extravagant. Local spirits were decent and the barstaff were very generous with their measures.

Spa: 10 hour package was great value, and the quality of treatments was good. Only slight issue was that once we opted for our package all of the after 5pm treatment slots were always allegely unavailable ( even 10 days in advance).

Snorkeling- amazing with plenty of huge rays, lionfish, moray eels as well as the odd white-tipped reef shark and resident turtle. The house reef is like a huge tropical aquarium, and although the current was at times strong, every room has life-jackets and hence we were able to snorkel twice every day despite not being strong swimmers.

Other events- did the crab race ($10) and bingo ($15) that although fun were not value for money with the prizes being bottles of wine which when you are on all-inclusive is not a great return. The beach cocktail party ($10pp) was a bit tacky and slightly detracted from what ought to be an idyllic resort island. Although the "free" cocktails utilised international spirits the measure were very stingy. We didn't bother with the private dinners but there was no heavy sell. As soon as you mentioned that you weren't keen there was no trying to alter your mind or get you to justify. Went night fishing twice ($25) and caught some nice snappers which were expertly cooked for our dinner the following day. Used the tennis court which was never busy with decent equipment. Library was not that impressive.

Overall was a fantastic holiday, although 2 weeks was a bit long- maybe splitting with Sri Lanka or Dubai might be an idea. Hope the management don't try to commercialise too much as a loud DJ at 1am most night isn't really what the Maldives is about.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Having been to a few different islands in the Maldives now, I have to admit I was disappointed with this island, nothing to do with the staff as they are excellent, especially the bar staff who work extremely hard, and the food was great, lots of choice and tasty.

The negatives for us was the beach, we felt it was more like a small cove, and we know beaches on the Maldives in general are not big, but it’s not a pretty island with the wall surrounding it and with no flowers anywhere on the island. Sunbed’s were on top of each other (a lot of which are broken), and the last week we where there, people were having to put their towels out to reserve a sunbed, it was hard to get that desert island getaway feel, when you were lying quite close to the next couple. The pool was well looked after and looked lovely, but we never used it.
Also when this is an all inclusive deal for a lot of people, the hard sell at the dinner table for special barbeques and romantic meals did start to get quite annoying, just advertise it on a notice board and if people are interested they will book it, rather than be hassled at breakfast, lunch or dinner!
Mosquitoes are a big problem on this island, even though they do fog it nightly, other island’s we have been to never had any problems, but here we were bitten, one poor ladies legs had been ravaged and looked very painful.
Rooms are good, but again on top of each other, in all I found this island quite hard to get the feel you were on a desert island.

The stingray feeding and shark watching I also did not like or agree with, and one evening we saw two stingrays fighting and being really aggressive, which was quite disturbing, the fish don’t need to be fed, there is enough food for them in the Indian ocean, also the talk of introducing cage diving to watch the sharks really does not appeal to me.
Entertainment was on every night, some nights the disco music was turned up so loud, people with their dive stories and snorkelling tales could not hear each other, in the Maldives it’s about relaxing and chilling, not blaring music and beach parties.
I can imagine how some people would like this island, but unfortunately it was not for us, I fear it may turn into the Costa Del Maldives here. There are far nicer islands out there for a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Our stay was simply better than expected.
Thanks to the great guys who run the place.
Donald you are a big star.Thanks for making us feel at home.
The guys at the Bar-Dilleepa,Sidath ,Nilan and Nimal at the restaurant.Every aspect of service was conducted in a very professional manner with a big smile on the face.The room was excellent and so was the beach,the food in the restaurant was more than excellent.
Simply the best place to holiday in the world.

Dauda and Clair Balami

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

What a fantastic place!
It all begins with the amazing view from the plane as you start your desent to Mahe airport, and your transfer ends with a cold towel, cold drink and staff lined up to greet you like you are a VIP - this is just the beginning......
The reef is perfect for those snorkling or diving, the standard rooms and beach bungalows are fab, the food is varied (even for those staying 2 weeks) - with curries out of this world, the staff are so helpful and friendly and even the weather remained sunny apart from 2 days (so dont take any notice of the fact that it is the rainy season).
The staff are so friendly and as everyone has said they cant do enough, the manager, Prem, is so lovely and ensures everything runs smoothly, Donald is great fun - the crab racing and the 'new' beach party being real sucesses. Waseem, our waiter would know what we wanted to drink for each meal and the bar staff too would remember favoured drinks.
The couples package at the spa is well worth the money with 10 hours of treatments, but even if you dont opt for that, a Balinese massage for one hour is worth squeezing in.
The diving was great, even the Hammerhead trip and although we didn't get to see any, the neighbouring reef is fantastic - the 3am start was not too bad - dont let that put you off, falling asleep ontop of the boat looking up at the stars - and waking up to an amazing sunrise - life's tough.

Tips
Dont bother with shoes - seriously, we walked barefoot the entire time.
Take travel sickness tablets in plently of time before the boat transfer - its fine if calm, but hard going if not.
Dont worry about bringing so many books - there is a well stocked 'book swop' in lots of languages.
Take an underwater camera - even if you dont dive but like snorkling.

We met some great people, had the most relaxing time, ate and drank far too much and fully intend to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo

Address: Ellaidhoo Island
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Ellaidhoo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellaidhoo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo, like all nature's wonders, is blessed with a spectacular offering for marine enthusiasts, is known the world over as the dive island in the Maldives.In the shade. Under the palms. On the Beach. Over the water. There are plenty of stylish types of living spaces to choose from at Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo. The 112 rooms are delightfully designed to blend in with the tropical backdrop and its natural environment.A stunning location combined with star-class facilities and outstanding levels of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo Hotel North Ari Atoll
Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.