We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo to your Saves list
Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ellaidhoo Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Wirral, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Loved It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

After being at the sister island Chaaya Donvelhi for 3 days they asked if we would like to come to this island for 2 days as they were overbooked. For the experience of going in sea plane and being put in a water bungalow we said yes. This was our first time to the Maldives so to experience two islands in a week was great.
So glad we did as we were pleasantly surprised how good this island was for a 3 star plus compared to the other island being a 4 star.

We arrived by sea plane which is the best way to see the Maldives and it only took 25 mins to get to the island. You are greeted with a cold drink and towel while we got quickly checked in and then shown to our room. We were staying in one of the water bungalows which I have to say was lovely, it was large and spacious with an indoor toilet and shower with only the bath outside.
We had our best night sleep in this room really quiet, much better than the beach bungalow and the water villa suite back at the other island Chaaya Dhonvelli. The beach here is really nice with a fabulous reef with so much sea life which makes the diving and snorkelling really good. We hired flippers at $5 for the day which was quite cheap but we took our own mask, snorkel and beach shoes as this would work out quite expensive.
The food in the restaurant was really good and enough for anyone's food choice, I am veggie and there was never a problem for something to eat. The pasta gets cooked in front of you along with meats and fish of the day.
You get a reserved table that you will use every night which we liked as you know straight away were you are sitting. The staff are brilliant and really quick to come and take your order for your drinks. We were on a all inclusive package which was the best deal for us, it's all branded soft drinks, water, wine is quite good red or the white, the only thing I would have to say is the local spirits are very weak and you can hardly taste them in your drinks.

The pool area is lovely with an infinity pool overlooking the bar and the beach, you also get towels that can be changed every day so no need to take your own.
In the two days we were there we gathered that if you tip the pool guy at the start of your holiday he will reserve you the same bed around the pool everyday!! So unless you’re prepared to do that you might not get a bed around the pool, this didn't bother us as we love the beach and it is a stone’s throw away from the pool if you want to use the pool for a swim and there were plenty of beds on the beach.
They feed the fish everyday at this resort at 5.30pm and you get all sorts of big fish coming in to eat, including eels, tuna, and manta rays one way of seeing what is out on the reef if you don't want to go snorkelling?
There is a little shop selling the usual things but lot more expensive than at home, make sure you take plenty of sun cream with you as you will need it. With it being only 3 degrees from the equator the sun is very intense and you can burn very easily. The only thing I bought when I was there was a $3 internet card which lasts 2 hours just to Skype home which I thought was really good value considering you’re out in the middle of the Indian Ocean.

This island has more character than its sister island which we liked; it has a great gym with its own instructor there all day, not that we had time to use it. It has tennis courts, badminton, pool room all free to use. Some parts of the resort could do with a touch up here and there but overall we really liked this resort more than the other island and could recommend it.

Room Tip: Water Bungalow was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellaidhoo_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Wirraltravller,

04th February 2014

Warm Greetings from Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo...

We are delighted to know that you had a lovely stay with us and the same time you have both great experienced with our sister island. We are looking forward to welcoming you once again in our lovely paradise. P.S. don't forget to bring your underwater camera too! :)
Cheers!

From Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo Management and team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    232
    73
    27
    15
See reviews for
101
767
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 2 weeks at Ellaidhoo. This was our 9th visit to Maldives but 1st time on this island staying in a beach bungalow on AI basis.

The Good
Friendly, helpful, competent staff in all areas.
Room was large and comfortable with all necessary requirements, including umbrellas, raincoats, torch, buoyancy jackets, bathrobes, toiletries, tea/coffee making facilities, mini-bar, dressing table, safe, large wardrobe and a tv for those poor souls who can't bear to be cut off from input for a few days! (No idea if tv actually worked tho as never tried to turn it on):)
Large and comfortable bed and pillows.
Quiet and efficient air-con plus ceiling fan.
The rooms were kept very clean and made-up twice a day. (And how refreshing to stay on an island that is not denuded of blossom to decorate our rubbish bin via the bed!)
The proximity of the beach, lagoon and reef was excellent and we had both a decking area with large seat and sunbeds just outside with no need of reserving them with towels.
The room had plenty of lighting and tinted windows to give some privacy when the curtains were open.
There was plenty of hot water and a good shower in the outdoor bathroom.
The food was excellent and plentiful with plenty of choice including sushi, pasta bar, fabulous salad bar, soups, breads, gluten-free and healthy option foods, Asian/Oriental/British cuisines all catered for and all served by cheerful and willing staff.
The reef was excellent and teeming with fish. Schools of bannerfish, triggerfish, snappers, sweetlips, large Trevallies. We saw a white-tip shark on top of the reef, followed and videod an imbricated turtle (and sadly, saw a dead turtle), saw a family of 7 Titan triggerfish of various sizes swimming in a line and so many others. This is also the first island where we have managed to swim the entire reef over a couple of days with no areas being inaccessible.
In the lagoon I took pics of, among others, a flounder, medium-size sandy coloured ray, 5 cuttlefish, 8 batfish, several Morays and 2 pale-faced titans doing a courtship dance. Amazing!

The Bad

The bugs! OMG the bugs!
You WILL get bitten, despite the island being fogged each day and even using a deet spray, we got several bites. Take plenty of antihistamine cream with you.
Ants - 2 types; tiny green ants that are like heat-seeking missiles to anything edible. I slept through breakfast the first morning so my husband brought me back a pastry, on a china plate, covered with linen napkin which he left on the dressing table. I only left it 20 mins before picking it up to eat and found both it, and my hand, covered in the ants.
Black ants about 4x size of British ones and which seem to have a penchant for bathrooms. I went into ours at 5am about a week into hols and found about 10 running around the sink but about 40 running all over loo, cistern, and even inside the toilet roll middles. I managed to blast them off with a spray hose, soaking everything in sight, but they kept returning. We eventually reported it to reception who said they would send the 'pest controller' but he still hadn't come 5 hrs later so we reported it again and he came immediately and sprayed the entire bathroom. We didn't have any further problem.
We had a cockroach in the room one evening which could have given Usain Bolt a run for his money when we tried to catch it but we won and dispatched it back outside. There was also a very large, winged bug on the bathroom wall but he soon crawled off.
Gerard, the wonderful rep, arranged for a bug spray to be delivered to our room.
There is a very unpleasant sewage smell around the middle of the island, particularly the tennis court/spa area.
Really don't like the bright orange, plastic bracelet we had to wear to show we were AI. Very tacky and reminiscent of 1970's holiday camps!

The Ugly.
The main focus of maintenance seems to be centred around the water bungalows where the beach is kept deep with sand and immaculately clean, and main public areas. The rest of the island has a neglected and unloved feel to it.
The beach in front of our bungalow had multi-coloured, woven plastic sacking showing above a thin sand layer and where the lagoon is bounded by a low wall in front of many of the bungalows, there are torn and ragged fibre membranes showing along with rubble and ugly areas of wall. It is most unattractive.
There are also lots of dead trees that need judicious pruning, large dead palm fronds hanging off trees, one of which dropped just inches in front of us one evening, piles of broken tiles or raked-up vegetation just left uncollected. The island could use a caring and committed groundsperson who can motivate his staff to maintain the whole island not just one particular area!

Finally, the ONLY reason we probably won't return to Ellaidhoo is the wall around it. NOT because it's there and very ugly - the island would probably be washed away without it - but because when snorkelling or shore diving, you are effectively locked-out from entering the island if you get into difficulties as some of the entry points are up to 250m apart. You can't be seen from the beach either to summon help.
The island is set on the outside of the atoll and in a channel so currents can be very strong and change at a moment's notice. A fact well-known by the Island but not publicised!
During our first week the currents were mostly ok if you didn't swim against them and snorkelling was a pleasure as we just drifted along the edge of the reef. During the 2nd week we had 3 days of relentless strong winds which whipped up the sea making snorkelling virtually impossible and even inside the lagoon was rough. On our last day conditions had calmed considerably so we went snorkelling in a very gentle drift current but got caught out by a sudden heavy swell that did it's best to throw us against the walls. We had to fin like mad to prevent this and, with the nearest entry point over 150m further on, had no option than to continue in the conditions till we could enter the lagoon. Exhausting and scary unless you are a strong and very confident swimmer! We are just average for both. We also spoke to some people who had done a shore-dive that same morning and had to come up as one of them was short of air. They got caught in a change of current as they reached the surface and were literally tossed against the wall and rolled around in the swell, cutting themselves badly and their camera was ripped away and never found again.
As snorkelling is a very important element of our holiday we will probably choose an island without a surrounding wall in future where we feel safer.





Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Manager at Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hi Osbog,

30th January 2014

Warm Greetings From Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo.Thank you for sharing your review “The Good,The Bad and The Ugly” on Trip Advisor. we really appreciated of your all comments specially with regard to the our food,room cleanliness,and the marine life which made your Holiday very special.
Going forward of your review further we apologized the experience that you mention with regard to your mosquito bites.We are utmost trying our best to minimize the certain complaint and we do our daily hard work to keep the island clean too.
As a award winning Hotel we do mosquito fogging twice a day to just to control the situation and as Maldives is a tropical island based Hotel, there are some rare occasions we could see the insects too.
Yes as you mention there is a sea wall available around the island.As we highlighted this in many occasions we used the sea wall as a shelter of the island to just protect it from the sea erosion.Specially our island is a cliff island where next to our jetty depth would be a 100 feet.
When the choppy and strong waves are arising on some days these sea wall become a great relief for the property.
We do confirmed and we glad very much for you of providing immense comments with regard to the Hotel and if there are any changes that we could do in future,specially your Highlighted areas will post you soon with great result.All your comments we have taken up to our notice and till we meet again cheers from management and staff of the ellaidhoo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, Essex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have just returned from Chaaya Reef and I have to respond by thanking all the wonderful staff who looked after us during our stay.
Thank you to all who made my birthday a very special day indeed with the table decorated in the restaurant and the nice cake I was given. Everyone even sang happy birthday to me during dinner!
The resort is excellent and we didn't find anything wrong. Everything was well organised right down to giving us sweets on our departure.
We stayed in a beach bungalow No 312 which is ideally situated right next to the water villas and bar/restaurant. The room was brilliant and once you get used to the outside bathroom facilities it was fine.
Food excellent and a credit to the resort - all the waiters and chefs went out of their way to chat and do whatever you wanted.
Snorkelling has already been covered by others on here and all I can do is agree that it is breathtaking.
If you want a great relaxing holiday with excellent service with superb food then this is the place to go.
Also tried out a back massage at the spa $48 for 30 mins and it was brilliant.
I can't praise the resort and staff enough - they certainly know how to treat their customers and sure you will pay a few dollars for a bit of entertainment but $6 for a crab race I really don't think it would spoil things.
The only little niggle was the very poor Wifi service which you could buy an access card for $3 for 2 hours connection time - only one problem you can't connect as it's too slow but it really didn't spoil things for us.
So once again many many thanks to everyone who looked after us
We will be back.

Room Tip: Stayed in beach bungalow 312 - water villas don't have direct access to water
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Manager at Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi John,

28th January 2014

Warm Greetings from chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo.Thank you for sharing your review “Fantastic Holiday” on Trip Advisor.We all happy to serve you on your birthday day and i,m sure you had a such a lovely Holiday with us.We much look forward to enhance and improve our service areas where your feed back and comments are become the path for us to make the property better.
Your valuable comments we would not forget to share with our staff and till we meet again soon cheers from management and staff of chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stedham WSx
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have just returned from a week at Chaaya Reef. This was the 3rd Maldivian Island we have been to. First impression is not so great as there is a grey wall round the island, to protect it from the sea. However we did appreciate the reason for it.
We flew by seaplane from Male...only 25 minutes..by far the easiest way. We were welcomed warmly with a lovely cool cloth to wipe our hands and brows, because , my goodness it was hot.
Our standard room was absolutely fine. Clean and large and with airconditioning. Very nice outside shower area with constant hot water available.We were on the side of the island where there was a beach area and easy access to the reef.There are lots of trees , so it is a very shady island . There is a handy indicator at the reef entrance to show you which way the current is.. Lots of lovely fish to see of all sizes and colours.We had absolutely no problem with sunbeds...nobody seemed to reserve them.There is an infinity pool as well.
The staff are just lovely. I would mention Jazlaan , our waiter, who looked after us very well. I also want to mention the man who will prepare your salad, if you so wish. He deserves a medal. The food was the best we have ever had in the Maldives. Our compliments.
I would recommend to go All Inclusive...no worries then with a final food/drinks bill.This tariff even includes snacks from the main bar area at set times during the day.There was a very good female singer , who entertained us in the evenings , while you sit comfortably in the breeze with a drink. Yes, there was a smell of drains from time to time, but what can you expect , it has to be processed somehow.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Manager at Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi Stedham,

28th January 2014

Warm Greetings From Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo.
Thank you for sharing your review “Great Resort” on Trip Advisor.We much appreciated that you have realized the important of the sea wall.That's become the vital important shelter to protect our islands.Yes the island is consisting with green environment where it gives the shade atmosphere for guests.Also we glad to mention that as a nature lover we are a peak scorer for protecting a green island and we are certified with green globe which is become a American award too.
There are many sun beds available in the Hotel even in public areas for the guests who are occupying in other side of the island.Your all positive comments with regard to the rooms and other services we would bring it to all our staff notice where i,m sure that they would happy for your immense feed back.
Till we see you again soon as repeat customer cheers from the staff and management of chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjärred
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We just arrived after 8 days at this resort.
First tip, if your financial situation allows you, choose sea-plane for transfer. The speedboat takes 90 minutes and is scary aswell as it makes your buttom hurt :-)
Second tip, also if you can afford it, we can strongly recommend the beach dinner with seafood - fantastic memories :-)

Now i will go through my opinions point by point

1. Room - we had waterbungalow, fantastic view but a bit worn and needs some refreshing. The bungalows 401-410 have the best view of the ocean. Cosy and special bathroom with a tube outside and shower + toilet under roof.

2. Food - you are given a table at one of the restaurants for the entire stay - good solution. We can only review the Malamahti restaurant - for the residents of the waterbungalows. Fantastic food - i simply can't understand people that complains about the food - we loved it. Always something that fits most of the tastes. We had a lot of meals from the 'show cooking' chefs :-)

3. Beach - beautiful beach with a calm entrance and a lot of fishes :-) if you want a sunbed with umbrella, you need to be up around 08.30.....one thing made me sad, although there are a lot of ashtrays nearby, some smokers through the cigarettes on the beach - shame on you people!!!

4. Pool - very nice pool with perfect service and sunbeds.

5. Bars - there are two - one calm near waterbungalows - Malamahti bar - perfect service and good drinks - and one with daily entertainment as crab race, live music, shisha smoking, bingo....although you have all inclusive, you must sign all the drinks you get - a bit annoying in the beginning, but you get used to it quickly.

6. Sports - very good possibilities to be active, tennis, gym, pool tables, fussball, tabletennis - lots of fun

7. Staff - simply one word - fabulous staff. 5 star or higher. All of those who we met, are doing their best to make your stay perfect.

8. Resort doctor - also a 5 star person - doing all he can for the patient.

If our financial situation will allow it, we would absolutely go back.

I would like to thank all who we met, Haris and his waiter team, the two chefs at Malamathi, the bartenders at Malamathi bar, the doctor and the hotel management tha made our stay memorable even in tough days

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Manager at Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hi Pitermann,

26th January 2014.

Warm Greeting From Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo.Thank you for sharing your review “Fantastic Place” on Trip Advisor. It was our pleasure to served you at chaaya reef ellaidhoo during your Holiday.As a competitive leading service provider we all try our hard to make all our clients Holiday up to their expectations.Specially the Maldives is a tropical country where you all very lucky to experience it.Timely manner we do some changes which we depending on the customer feed back.We all much appreciated about your positive feed back which help us to share it amongst our staff.I,m sure they may happy and enthusiastic to receive your feed back.Till we meet again cheers from chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at Chaaya Reef Elliadhoo in January 2014. We have visited 8 Maldivian Islands over the years, we don't generally return to an island simply because there are so many to see, and they all differ. A good house reef is important, good food and service too.

The house reef was good, and it is possible to swim around the entire island in about an hour and a half. There are certainly a host of fish we've not encountered before, plus lots of eels, a few turtles, white tip sharks, and a range of corals. The difference on this island from previous islands visited was the drop all around the island into deep water, which seems to encourage bigger groups of fish.

Unfortunately there isn't a beach all of the way around the island, and there is a sea wall constructed to prevent erosion. It's not easy to walk all the way around and as there isn't much beach, the main beach area is quite busy, but there is a pool and plenty of loungers available.

The food was good, an excellent variety with changing 'specials' each evening, attentive and friendly restaurant staff.

The main bar seemed to be big and a little disjointed and lacked atmosphere. As a resort there was an importance on providing entertainment nearly every evening, it's not something we have experienced on a regular basis in the Maldives and to happen every night felt a little bit forced. The pool bar however really was excellent in terms of size and service, and the bar staff there were friendly, polite and very attentive.

There seemed to be a system for trips where rather than declaring what days certain trips ran and awaiting bookings, they wait until there are enough names down to run a trip, by which time some of the first people must have left. I would have preferred to know what's running on what day, and book accordingly.

The wifi was hard work. It is accessible from the main bar, the pool and reception. 2 hours access for $3. It's slow, difficult to connect to and is obviously in demand by many, but it's ok if you just want to check emails every so often. Anything more than that and it's time consuming.

Our room was a little disappointing. It had air conditioning, which was good. It was quite dark though, had very thin walls between us and next door. It was a tired room ready for a good deep clean and a fresh coat of paint. It was a garden room and had no view at all, only the back of the pool bar. In my mind these rooms should not be used for guests.

The staff here are a real credit to the island and the Maldives.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Manager at Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hi Lincoinshire,

26th January 2014,
Warm Greetings From Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo.Thank you for sharing your review “Excellent Service.Excellent reef” on Trip Advisor.We all glad that you have enjoyed your splendid holiday with us and specially with regard to your marine life.we do our utmost effort to enhance our service standards which meet our guests expectations.All your comments would be shared amongst our staff if there are any areas which we could improved.Till we meet again for a another memorable Holiday, cheers from staff and management at ellaidhoo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed over Christmas and new year food good , snorkelling great garden rooms dark , smell of drains but at least the beds were comfy, my biggest gripe was the fact people saved the beach beds with towels so on some days you could not get a bed with any shade , these people paid the pool staff to put towels out for them and went off for day so they did not even use the beds, the Islands sea defence wall took a battering just before we arrived so a bit rumble around, be prepared for overnight stay in Male on arrival as the speed boat sometimes can't make it as the waters or too rough , this happened to us and we spent a very uncomfortable 8 hours stuck at the airport before Chaaya reef agreed to put us up in a back street hotel, We had a good holiday despite some snags but have decide after 15 years of going to the maldives this was the last time, we feel that the airlines Thomson again on this occasion treat their passengers worse than cattle and were just short of using cattle prods on both out and home flights and the flights take all the joy from our holidays, I would recommend Chaaya reef if you could get a good deal but my opinion is that all the islands or over priced.

Room Tip: Garden rooms 516' 515 or detached
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Manager at Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hi Lynn,

25th January 2014.

Warm Greetings From Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo.
Thank you for sharing your review “Good But” on Trip Advisor.The Maldives Island Hotels are difficult to save from the erosion.Hence every resorts are being building a wall surrounding a islands for just to protect and save the properties.If there are no sea walls it much hard to promote a such a elegant resorts to our valuable clients.Some time when the mother nature goes against our operations we are compel to accommodate the clients in male hence we are more concern about the health and safety issues.We strive at all the time to transfer our guests to resort in safe mood and some times as there are no any alternatives we over night the guests in male even it's hard for us too.Your all valuable comments we will share among our staff at every time. we do not hesitate to find the best alternatives at all the time.We glad to here that you enjoyed our x,mass and new year night and the food.
Till we meet again cheers from staff and management of chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo

Address: Ellaidhoo Island
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Ellaidhoo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellaidhoo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo, like all nature's wonders, is blessed with a spectacular offering for marine enthusiasts, is known the world over as the dive island in the Maldives.In the shade. Under the palms. On the Beach. Over the water. There are plenty of stylish types of living spaces to choose from at Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo. The 112 rooms are delightfully designed to blend in with the tropical backdrop and its natural environment.A stunning location combined with star-class facilities and outstanding levels of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo Hotel North Ari Atoll
Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.