We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointed.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Zenith Nevis

Save Saved
You added Zenith Nevis to your Saves list
Zenith Nevis
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Zenith Nevis
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cades Bay | St. Thomas, Cotton Ground, Nevis (Formerly Inn at Cades Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Cotton Ground
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointed.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2007

We stayed at the Inn at Cades Bay for 1 night after spending 2 weeks island hoping Dominica, Antigua, St Kitts and finally Nevis. We were EXTREMELY disappointed with the Inn. It was very run down; the pool water looked unsanitary; there was ONE lounge chair at the pool; there was no staff other than Shirley who checked us in and then left the property. She told us the property had been sold 2 months ago and was scheduled to be torn down to build condos, hence the total lack of maintenance of the property. (There were construction crews staying in some of the rooms.) They should be ashamed of themselves to still be marketing the property to tourists. The only reason we stayed here was because of the price, as we did not want to spend several hundred dollars, but this place does not justify what we paid for it. We weren't expecting anything even remotely like a resort (for that we would have paid much more and stayed at the Four Seasons) but we did expect what they advertised (pool to swim in and lounge by, restaurant, lounge chairs on the beach, etc.) but what we got was basically a decent room to sleep in for $200. If that is all you need, stay at the Sea Spawn, but if you want a "hotel" DO NOT STAY at the Inn at Cades Bay. Oh, and the restaurant/bar down the beach played load music until 4:15 in the morning (this was a Tuesday night!) so we didn't get any sleep. I would seriously discourage anyone from staying here!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2007

We have been staying at the Inn at Cades Bay for a few days for several years, and it does have some really wonderful qualities (right on a very nice stretch of coast, beautifully designed interiors of the cottages, superb sunsets) but unfortunately it seems that the Inn never really 'took off' in popularity, and so, as a result, over the years that have passed since it opened in the early 90s, not nearly enough money was spent on maintenance and improvements. The number of staff gradually decreased in recent years, and the level of service also declined. Finally the restaurant closed. The traffic on the new main road is, unfortunately, quite a lot faster and noisier than it used to be on the old road, and Mansa's, the farmstand opposite the Inn, while being a great plus in that it sells excellent fresh fruits and vegetables (as well as cooked chicken and ice cream) is also a negative, in that for the last year or two, Mansa has been playing amplified music, which carries across the road and is far from the ideal enhancement of the ambience of the Inn.

The Inn was sold in 2006, and I am hoping that the new owners can breathe life back into the property and make it what it needs to be, and deserves to be. This will I imagine be a costly and time-consuming process, but I hope they succeed, because I am fond of this hotel, despite its recent shortcomings.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — In 2006 the whole place was quite run down.
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not book until you are certain that the new owners have fixed the place up a lot.
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2006

Went for our anniversary -- in November, 2005. NO ONE ever told us that many restaurants were closed, as the one at this place was. We checked in, and the front desk checked out.

Our room was nice, but the clues were there : mosquito coils in the room and ants abounding. Nice hammock on the "back porch," but there was no way to make the thing hang -- only had hooks on one side.

After a lovely walk on the beach, we tried to reach someone with the hotel, to find out where to go for dinner -- was told it was $25 taxi ride to town ($50 just to get someplace & back, that didn't include anything to eat) -- and finally called our taxi back to get us to catch the last ferry back to St. Kitts. (Great dinner on the beach at Mr. X's -- take cash, great food and great atmosphere, but NO credit cards accepted).

Our anniversary was an adventure and one we'll always remember, and we wouldn't go back to Nevis, period.

Norm & Margaret Grabill

PS: We tried to post a review just after our return. Strange, but it never showed up here. Let's see if this one does, nearly a year later.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2005

My enemy... cockroaches. The enemy of my enemy... ants. We stayed at the Inn at Cades Bay and found it to be a nice place, in general. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the location nice. We actually were in St. Kitts for our honeymoon, and did an overnight trip to Nevis, and stayed at Cades. The room we had (#1) was a King which was decently furnished. Our one and only complaint was that there some tiny, but numerous, ants in the room - both the bathroom and the main room. It's the Caribbean, so I guess it's more or less inevitable that you'll get some. They're basically in search of food, so at least they stayed off the bed and went about their business. For all intents and purposes, they are harmless, and to their credit they did bag a few cockroaches. Somehow despite their size, they were able to swarm on and overtake the cockroaches, which was a good thing. Still, it was necessary to eradicate them with the handy can of bug spray that the manager provided. It would have been nice to have maybe a little broom and pan to sweep up the dead ones after spraying (or better yet a little vaccuum). I had to subtract points because of them, but on the whole I'd give Cades a favorable rating..

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2004

Thank god for Cades Bay. After a short but terrible stay in St. Kitts (Bird Rock is nothing great), we took the last flight to Nevis and our luck drastically changed. We stayed at Inn at Cades Bay. Eddy and the Cades Bay staff were genuinely nice. The rooms had privacy (except for the European style bathrooms w/o doors), style, comfort, a hammock, and good location (very close to a small beach). The beach had fairly good snorkeling (Cades Bay had equipment to rent) and we enjoyed walking along the beach and checking out the view. What made Cades Bay special was the pleasant staff. They helped us with a inexpensive and easy car rental, gave us great ideas for exploring the island, and cooked exceptional food. I had a steak filet that was to die for. They also gave us a free lift to their restaurant in town, where the food and drink stayed good. Cades Bay seems best-suited for people who want a little space/privacy, appreciate talented and mellow staff, and enjoy taking control of their own vacations. Aside: Nevis was so much better than St. Kitts. We easily ran around Nevis, went to plantations, spent a little time at the Four Seasons, walked around town, and enjoyed the food. Just walking around Nevis is much easier than St. Kitts. Nevis is smaller (good for a 5 or 6 day trip), the people are nicer, and the island's economy just seems to work better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2003

The Inn at Cades Bay is a good choice for a budget-conscious traveler.
It is on the water, but the beach in front is only fair. Unfortunately, the rooms do not have (as of March 2003) screen doors or a jalousie that would allow you to hear the ocean. The Inn is right on the road, and noise is a problem. The owner was doing a good job running the place pretty much by himself, but unless you have a rental car, you may find yourself wishing you had brought friends, or stayed somewhere with just a few more amenities, or a bit more lively.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2003

My wife and I were looking for a moderately priced hotel at the beach in Nevis and selected the Inn at Cades Bay. We stayed there for 4 days in July 2003. The Inn arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the airport.
Upon arriving at the Inn we were offered a complimentary ride to Eddy's restaurant in Charestown for dinner. It seems that a number of hotels on Nevis, including the Inn, do not open their restaurants every day during the off season. They also offered to bring a continental breakfast to our room in the morning. I thought it was a nice touch to have the walkway to your room lined with conch shells. Both the bedroom and bath were larger than I expected. The beedroom had both a ceiling fan and airconditioner. The room had a small patio with a hammock, with a view of the Caribbean and St. Kitts while the view from the front of the room was of Mt. Nevis. It is interesting to note that the mountain had a cloud on the top every time we looked at it. For some unknown reason the water to our room shut off. Someone made a telephone call and one of the owners arrived within 10 minutes to try and correct the problem. They confirmed that another room had running water and moved us to that room. That night we were taken to Eddy's for dinner and the Inn arranged to pay for our meal as compensation for water problem.
Eddy's is located in Charlestown. While waiting for diner at Eddy's I noted that there were a number of guests there from the other hotels and people that live on the island. The food at Eddy's is very good and I would recommend it. The next day the Inn arranged for us to get a car rental and gave us personal advise on what to see and recommended which guide to ask for. Due to the fact that it was the off season there were very few guest at the Inn. Some days we had the entire beach to our selves. When we return to Nevis we will stay at the Inn again. We would also recommend it to our friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zenith Nevis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zenith Nevis

Address: Cades Bay | St. Thomas, Cotton Ground, Nevis (Formerly Inn at Cades Bay)
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > Cotton Ground
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Cotton Ground
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zenith Nevis 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Zenith Nevis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Cades Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zenith Nevis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.