We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing; take the ranger-led option if you can” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penguin Parade

Penguin Parade
1019 Ventnor Rd, Summerlands, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
61-3-5951-2800
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Buy Tickets Online
$31*
and up
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
DeWitt, New York
Level Contributor
362 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Amazing; take the ranger-led option if you can”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is amazing and not to be missed. Watching the little penguins get up the courage to charge up the beach--or wimp out and run back in the water--was a lot of fun. Hearing the noise they made in the bush as they reunited with their mates was also incredible.

We paid the extra to get a ranger-led tour and were very happy we did. We got prime seating to watch the penguins come in out of the surf, and then got to see a few places that general admission won't get you. The ranger also provided loaner binoculars, and radio headsets so we could hear what she was saying at all times.

Be advised that photography of any kind is not permitted--not even if you disable your flash. Too many people either thought they had disabled their flashes but did not, or simply flaunted the rules, and the park service decided that the blinding effects on the penguins were not acceptable.

Also, you should dress warmly. It got chilly the evening we were there.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    942
    403
    143
    67
    55
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A long wait, colder than you can image, but interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is one of the major attractions in Phillip Island. I wasn't all that keen to go, but my wife insisted.

It wasn't all that cheap. $42 for two with Seniors Cards.

We waited about 1.5 hours to go down to the sea to wait for them to arrive. The crowds all seemed to find a seat. In the failing light you could see the little "rafts" of penguins running up the beach.

I found it quite worthwhile. You could see them up close on the Walkway.

A tick off (someone's) Bucket List

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great opportunity to see wild penguins up close”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Whilst a little pricey, it was a great opportunity to see penguins in the wild up so close. Our family are animal lovers, so to see these creatures up close, yet in their natural habitat was a thrill. Make sure you bring something warm to wear as it does get pretty chilly!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Although this was a great experience, you need to be aware that you will be packed I like sardines and be surrounded by families with small children who ignore the requests of the Rangers to be quiet. Maybe there should be an age limit as you do need to sit still and quiet for a long time in the cold to enjoy this spectacle.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful attracton for all.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was a fantastic evening for young and old. Easy to access the viewing area down walkways that lead to good seating to watch the very cute penguins come ashore. We did the plus package but no matter what price you pay for your ticket, you will be able to see them cross the beach and get very close to them as they waddle past the board walks once they have crossed the beach. Staff are excellent and very much enjoyed being with the ranger before the penguins arrived. Suggest you stay the night on Phillip Island as its a late finish and about 90 minutes to Melbourne but worth every minute!! Phillip Island has lots to offer too.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penguin Parade also viewed

 

Been to Penguin Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penguin Parade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.