We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical penguins” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penguin Parade

Penguin Parade
1019 Ventnor Rd, Summerlands, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
61-3-5951-2800
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Buy Tickets Online
$30*
and up
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Magical penguins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Seeing the penguins walk back alongside the return pathway was the highlight of the evening. We couldn't see the penguins clearly from the rafters (where it was windy and cold); and I don't think the people who sat in the costly seats on the beach did any better. But we could see the little penguins from about five feet on our way back. It was one of the highlights of our Melbourne trip. We also see wild kangaroos (wallabies?) while driving in.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    939
    400
    143
    67
    54
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Can never get tired of this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We usually bring our overseas guests to Phillip Island as a standard tour and I find I always enjoy myself and learn something new and so do our guests.

People may complain about the price of tickets, however, it is important to keep in mind that the Penguin Parade as well as other sites in the area such as The Koala Conservation centre and the Nobbies Centre are run by Phillip Island Nature Parks. This is not for profit so proceeds go towards conservation, research and rehabilitation of animals - this includes food and souvenirs you purchase. I am always more than happy to pay the price if it means preserving this beautiful Wildlife.

Admittedly, the cafeteria leaves a lot to be desired (hence only 4 stars). The food is sub-standard and the service is even worse. The lady behind the counter had to be told 2 or 3 times what the order was for every order and she still got it wrong. When we told her, she was extremely rude about it.

There is plenty of signage (and pictures) to indicate that cameras should not be used. In addition, there are announcements before the penguins arrive in Mandarin and Japanese so the message is very clear and people seem to understand.

I would recommend you take some warm clothes (it gets really cold even if it is hot during the day), and a blanket to sit on as it can be uncomfortable. The penguins don't generally come out right in front of where the seating is, so try to get closer up the front and to the side as they come up into the darker areas. You will also get a better look once you walk back up the board walk. The main thing is seeing these cute little creatures coming out of the water and running back in until they get the courage to come out. A wonderful experience!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith NSW
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We took our teenage granddaughter away for the weekend last April 2012 and it was the highlight of or stay in Melbourne. We made our bookings via a private company tour and it was well worth the extra money we paid. Because my granddaughter loves nature and all the different animals that nature provides we sat in the front row....cold and wind did not deter her from enjoying the moment....the broad walk is also a must do if you are there. Alway bring warm clothes....beanie...gloves....scarf....oh yes and don't forget a light towel because you can get wet from the spray of the sea.....or even rain. We were provided with seat covers which was ideal as the seats were already wet....not from the rain but from the ocean.
After the show and the broad walk go to have a hot chocolate at the cafe...this will warm you up and it is the best hot chocolate for young and old.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very cute penguins”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Over commercialised and pushy staff trying to up sell every visitor. Standard tickets $22 for adults but for closer views double that - and it will be cold so rug up. Did see lots of little penguins from the cheap seats.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chorley,lancs
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quite unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very interesting and well presented.
Rather long wait in cold wind if a good seat is required so wrap up well

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penguin Parade also viewed

 

Been to Penguin Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penguin Parade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.