We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close Encounter with the Penguins” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penguin Parade

Penguin Parade
1019 Ventnor Rd, Summerlands, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
61-3-5951-2800
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Penguin Parade like an insider
Buy Tickets Online
$33*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
153 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Close Encounter with the Penguins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

As an animal lover, I had high expectation before visiting the parade, I didn't get disappointed! After learning form the tripadvisor, I brought along many warm clothes for my kids and myself, thanks for the advise! It was very very windy and cold! I intended to buy the penguin plus on line before heading to the parade on Sunday, however as advised by the conciege of the hotel, there was always ticket available on Monday at the park, so we took the advise. However when we arrived at one of the ticket sales office in the afternoon, all penguin plus tickets were sold out, we were very disappointed. So we bought the regular tickets instead and expected to see nothing. After sitting for half an hour, groups of penguins started to show up on the beach, we could barely see them even with the binoculars as it was very dark and far. However on our way back, there were many groups of penguins waddling to their homes, we could see the penguins really close! I don't think it is necessary to buy the penguin plus nor waiting for the penguins came on shore by sitting on the benches for a long time. instead wait for the penguins on your way back as it is really a close encounter with the adorable creatures!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    886
    356
    132
    61
    51
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great even without photos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

As mentioned by other people, it was freezing when we waited (about 30min) for the penguins to arrrive. Make sure you bring warm clothes, a blanket etc when you come in winter.
Personally I didn't need binoculars because you get really close to the penguins. Watching the arrival of the penguins was great, but the second part was definitely better. You walk on little bridges or footpaths where you can follow the penguins without disturbing them, and follow them to their breeding places.
For obivious reasons you are not allowed to take pictures of them.
The whole "show" took about 2-3 hours and was definitely worth the money.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Adorable penguins! Bring your coats!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We waited for more than an hour for the penguins. It was a cold summer night but it was worth it. The fairy penguins are cute and simply adorable. We sat on the sand and got a closer look. One of the penguins decided to be a total showstealer, diverted from the waddle and walked and stopped right in front of the human crowd. Awesome!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just Good!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

It's a good attraction but you need to set your expectation before. With the average ticket you will see the penguins far from you on the beach, but when the parade finished take a look around on the way back, it's the best time to see the penguins closer. Don't forget to bring some warm clothes, if you have a binoculars would be good too just forget your camera because its not allowed. The turistic structure is quite good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Must-Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have seen Fairy Penguins, arguably the world's cutest creatures, in natural settings on Kangaroo Island so figured this would be more or less a commercial experience. Wrong! The commercial part was in the souvenir area via which one enters and exits, but the park has kept the rest as natural as possible.
In high season, it is important to get tickets in advance because this "show" gets sold out quickly. We were lucky to get a beautiful night, and we settled on concrete bleachers to await the sunset and the arrival of the penguins coming in from the sea. Even the seagulls were lined up on the beach, watching! The little guys come on shore and wait until there is a group before they venture up into the dunes, coming in between the bleachers. You can also see some come in on either side as well.
You can pay extra to sit in front, but it really is not necessary because these seats become available later as people leave. I figured the best was over when I left the beach, but the boardwalks are phenomenal for watching these precious creatures up close. They pretty much ignore us humans as they carry on socializing and catching up with their friends and family. And the noise! The sound of hundreds of fairy penguins became a living being unto itself, undulating and rolling over the dunes under the stars. It would go as far as to call it a spiritual experience!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penguin Parade also viewed

 
Cowes, Phillip Island
Summerlands, Phillip Island
 

Been to Penguin Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penguin Parade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.