We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist trap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bloody Mary's

Bloody Mary's
BP 38, Vaitape 98730, French Polynesia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 Restaurants in Vaitape
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Reservations
San Pedro, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Bloody Mary's is a pricey tourist restaurant with rather poor service. We were a large group of 12 people on a charter sail, so they stuck us in the back of the restaurant where few servers ventured all evening. I'll give four stars for the very fresh fish but I did need to return my seared tuna as it was over cooked but cold by the time I received it. Okay for one visit; I would not return.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    230
    134
    32
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good food, but felt like we were being herded through like cattle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our tuna steaks were huge and cooked perfectly. Cost about 3,500 francs each. Our only complaint was we felt like cattle. The restaurant sure knows how to turn tables fast. We were picked up at 7:45 from the Sofitel, dropped off and ushered to a table showcasing the meals for the night. We had to order our meal immediately then were shown our table. All the food ordered by that 7:45 bus arrives at once so that the bus can take us all back to our hotel by 9:00. The whole experience feels rushed but the food was good so our feelings are mixed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I had a beautifully cooked teriyaki wahoo fillet here. The preparation is basic - very plain salad and rice accompaniments - but the fish is super fresh and the fillets are large. This is not a gourmet experience, but frankly not much in Bora Bora is, and this place does not pretend to be something it isn't. It has a very fun atmosphere and with the sand floors and decor, the only thing missing was a bit of Jimmy Buffet music.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wahoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We ate here on our second to last night on the island. The food was amazingly fresh. We had an appetizer of steak and tiger shrimp. The steak was tender and the shrimp perfectly done. I had swordfish and my wife had a teriyaki wahoo. The swordfish was perfectly done and delicious, but the wahoo was fantastic!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Go and Have Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Remember when you go - You are there to have fun and enjoy the experience. It is a very good restaurant - great Bloody Mary's, and good food. It is not a five-star dining establishment, but GO, it's fun. The food is very good and it should be on your must-do list when visiting Bora Bora. Cool idea for a menu (no menu) just the food, point and pick. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloody Mary's also viewed

Bora Bora, Society Islands
 

Been to Bloody Mary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bloody Mary's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.