We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but felt like we were being herded through like cattle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bloody Mary's

Bloody Mary's
BP 38, Vaitape 98730, French Polynesia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Vaitape
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good food, but felt like we were being herded through like cattle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our tuna steaks were huge and cooked perfectly. Cost about 3,500 francs each. Our only complaint was we felt like cattle. The restaurant sure knows how to turn tables fast. We were picked up at 7:45 from the Sofitel, dropped off and ushered to a table showcasing the meals for the night. We had to order our meal immediately then were shown our table. All the food ordered by that 7:45 bus arrives at once so that the bus can take us all back to our hotel by 9:00. The whole experience feels rushed but the food was good so our feelings are mixed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I had a beautifully cooked teriyaki wahoo fillet here. The preparation is basic - very plain salad and rice accompaniments - but the fish is super fresh and the fillets are large. This is not a gourmet experience, but frankly not much in Bora Bora is, and this place does not pretend to be something it isn't. It has a very fun atmosphere and with the sand floors and decor, the only thing missing was a bit of Jimmy Buffet music.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 12TravelCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wahoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We ate here on our second to last night on the island. The food was amazingly fresh. We had an appetizer of steak and tiger shrimp. The steak was tender and the shrimp perfectly done. I had swordfish and my wife had a teriyaki wahoo. The swordfish was perfectly done and delicious, but the wahoo was fantastic!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LegLamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Go and Have Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Remember when you go - You are there to have fun and enjoy the experience. It is a very good restaurant - great Bloody Mary's, and good food. It is not a five-star dining establishment, but GO, it's fun. The food is very good and it should be on your must-do list when visiting Bora Bora. Cool idea for a menu (no menu) just the food, point and pick. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Dinner the whole trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We didn't know what to expect when coming here as many people wrote about the food/service not being what it was supposed to be. The food was average, the costs were too high, it was ok but a touristy spot only, etc..... So we went, because well we were tourists and this place got its name somehow. Let me tell you, the 7 days we were in Bora Bora, this was by far our best meal, and the cheapest!!!! We were blown away by the fresh fish and the presentation when we walked into the place. We have never seen anything like that, and were definitely put on the spot for placing our order. That was totally new, however it was neat. We of course had a bloody mary, I'm a bloody mary snob and would have made mine a little different. They were good, but I only drank 1/2 of mine just because. We had swordfish and marlin, and both were melt in your mouth. The best fish I had the whole time. We also had some beers/drinks after the bloody mary's and the price was 1/2 the cost of dinner at our resort, and 1/3 of the costs at other places. You can find cheaper places to eat, but in the area of nice dinners, the costs were the best here, and the food was actually the best too! Now we might have gotten lucky, but it is what it is. This place was awesome, the environment, sand floors, everything. And the food was just as good. When we come back, we will eat here more than once for sure. Highly suggested to try.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloody Mary's also viewed

Bora Bora, Society Islands
 

Been to Bloody Mary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing