We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do a lot better, go for a drink and give the food a miss” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vini Vini

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Vini Vini
Le Moana Bora Bora, Vaitape, French Polynesia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 13 Restaurants in Vaitape
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Could do a lot better, go for a drink and give the food a miss”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went to the Intercontinental for lunch one day. It is on a beautiful beach and our kids enjoyed a quick dip in the pool while we sipped cocktails. So far so good, unfortunately the food was mediocre. We had mainly local based dishes like Poisson Cru, but the portions were small (OK if it was fine dining), had 'twists' which didn't work and unimpressive ingredients.

What let the service down was being given the bill while we contemplating another coffee and which we had not asked for. It felt like we were being moved on, a shame as any hotel should always make you feel welcome, even if you are not spending as much as we were and yes, it was expensive!

We left thinking we should have had lunch off a snack place on the beach where they do it simply with fish caught that morning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    4
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Fernando, Trinidad
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“High prices, OK food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Restaurant was at our hotel on Bora Bora, and there weren't many other options for eating outside of the hotel.

The food was fine, nothing special. Prices are quite high - but this is to be expected in Bora Bora.

Service was excellent.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at the IC Thalasso and were on the breakfast and dinner meal plan. We had one of our dinners at Vini Vini after an afternoon of shopping on "mainland" Bora Bora and enjoying the spectacular sunset from Matira Beach. The food was very good and the service friendly and not rushed. Our children enjoyed playing pool in the nearby bar (which was all but empty) while we waited for the boat back to the Thalasso. We recognized a couple of managers from the Thalasso among the other diners. Either they get a discount or know where to eat. The local three-piece musical group that played during dinner was outstanding. I wish they also played at the Thalasso.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great times At Vini Vini!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Staying at the Intercontinental Moana, we opted to eat several meals at the bar instead of the restaurant. We had burgers and "fishburgers". The burgers were very good, cooked to order and of pretty high quality. The fish sandwiches were excellent, though the size and quality varied some from meal to meal. The food was relatively reasonable in price. The live music is near enough to hear, and we once moved to empty couches by the business center to get a better view. There is a pool table and a Wii at the bar to use.

Drinks were okay - we favored the happy hour and local offerings which suffer some from the juices (we also visited the juice factory -see review elsewhere.) Happy hour drinks were a bit on the weak side. At half price, they are still nearly $10 each.

We had a lot of fun with the bartenders and staff, especially Francine who was a ton of fun. She has it figured out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
330 helpful votes 330 helpful votes
“Inconsistant Food, Ok service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had three lunches here.....not many options on Bora Bora at lunch.

The first day, the lunch was very good, the second day it was pretty good, the last day, (same meal as day one) the food was subpar...way subpar. Overall the service was fine...not stellar but fine. Prices ranged from reasonable to over the top depending what you ordered. Hotel Mai Tai down the street did a better job.

The view was nice though.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vini Vini also viewed

 
Vaitape, Bora Bora
 

Been to Vini Vini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vini Vini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.