We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but atmosphere a bit touristy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mai Kai Bora Bora

Mai Kai Bora Bora
B.P. 162 | Bora Bora, Vaitape 98730, French Polynesia
+689 60 38 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 restaurants in Vaitape
Cuisines: French, Seafood, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Overlooking the water, the MaiKai Restaurant features international, French & Polynesian cuisine with elegant water views. With both casual and intimate dining options the MaiKai Restaurant embraces its surroundings to offer high quality cuisine in an idyllic setting. The MaiKai’s Lounge Bar appeals to those looking for a fun, relaxed atmosphere to socialize over drinks and the setting sun. We serve signature martinis & exotic island drinks along with happy hour and late night bar menus
Oregon City, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food but atmosphere a bit touristy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We chose to go to Mai Kai over Bloody Mary's after reading reviews of Bloody Mary's saying it's a tourist trap. We were there after dark so can't say anything about the outdoor seating or view but it's right on the water and faces the harbor so I'm sure it's great seating outside with a great view. The atmosphere was not what we expected, it was very "amercianized" with American music playing and a waitress that was from North Carolina who didn't know much about the menu. Depending on what you want in a restaurant that may be a plus or may be a detraction, for us it was a detraction. Besides that the food was excellent, absolutely no complaints there and it was more authentic to the area than the atmosphere. We'd definitely go again just with different expectations.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    258
    84
    24
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Did not get a chance to taste the food we heard so much about”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our plane to Bora Bora was late so we did not make it to Vaitape until 6:30 PM with no time to make a reservation. We tried Bloody Mary's first but they were full, so we tried our luck at Mai Kai. We were greeted warmly and told there would be a table in 10 minutes once a couple that had finished left.We sat at the bar happily drinking some Hinano from the tap. We were on our second round when we noticed the bartender doing something funky, He was pouring beer from the tap overspill tray into a pitcher and serving beers from the pitcher. Not what I would call a sanitary way to serve beer. Needless to say, that was our last round. We had heard great things about the food, so we decided to stay, making a mental note not to order beer from the tap. Ten minutes turned into ninety minutes. The host stopped by every fifteen minutes saying the table would be ready in five minutes. After seeing several tables empty for thirty minutes or so, we gave up. I am not sure why we were treated so horribly. We were happy customers (all smiles) enjoying out beer (until we saw the tray thing) and the fine music without any complaints. We expected to wait since we did not have reservations, but having to wait when tables were available was frustrating. When we paid the bartender, he looked at us sheepishly. So maybe this is not a rare occurrence. The next day we went to have lunch at Snack Matira on the beach. Our experience was a thousand times better. Maybe not having a reservation at Mai Kai was the trigger for the bad service, but we would have definitely gone back a second time had we been treated better. I am not sure how such a restaurant can stay in business with this attitude or why most reviews were positive with a few noting the bad service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not what we thought it would be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were staying at the Hilton Nui and asked about sunset views for dinner. Were told Mai Kai had a sunset view and I'd read good review on tripadvisor about the food. They provide pick up and drop off service from the Hilton boat dock which is nice. We went early to see the sunset and were picked up at the boat dock at about 5:15 (sunset is 6:00 pm). We arrived at the restaurant and were able to choose a dinner table right by the open doors to their dock. However, this restaurant really doesn't have a view of the sunset - it's blocked by the huts next door. You would need to walk about to the end of their dock to see the sunset. The view from their deck looks directly at the 3 large boats moored right in front of the restaurant - great for people watching the owners on the back of their yachts, but not great for scenery. I think we hit this restaurant at the wrong time - as the sun went down, the bugs came out and swarmed the lights on the deck right next to our table. It was hot and there was no air circulation. We saw that they had ceiling fans in the restaurant but they weren't turned on. Maybe as the night goes on and things cool down, the atmosphere gets better. I ordered a tenderloin filet which was definitely not the cut of meat that I got. Way to tough and fatty to be a true tenderloin. At this point, we were both perspiring, there was no air flow and the bugs were getting the best of us. We were anxious to leave. Like I said, others have had wonderful experiences here - I think our timing might have been off and it got better as the night went on.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“magnificent maikai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I recently stayed at the maikai yacht club and marina. What a great place professionally run, but still maintaining a friendly relaxed ambience and unique fruity atmosphere. The mooring for the yacht are maintained by a very savvey Taive and all ground lines and hardware regular maintained
With strong fixtures, the food at the restaurant to die for and the attention and helfulness of the managment and staff unbelievable, not to mention happy hour and a great pool. I do hope upon my next visit tho there is a shower and bathroom for yachtcrew, good job guys and gals.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, Great Atmosphere - Gotta check out the Manta RAY!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I couldn't get a reservation until 7:30pm (well after sunset) but that did not deter us from going here and really enjoying ourselves! The atmosphere was great! The live acoustic music was an awesome touch! The food was good. They were out of the tuna and I was mildly disappointed so we got the wahoo instead which was still pretty darn good. The Mahi dish was good but the fish was a little over cooked, however the sauces that accompanied both dishes were great! The chef made the best espresso martini (which he said he just learned how to make by advice of another patron only weeks earlier) and improvised on a great white Russian. The HUGE Manta Ray lurking in the water is a sight to be seen as well! All in all, it was a great night with my hubby and I would highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mai Kai Bora Bora also viewed

Bora Bora, Society Islands
 
Bora Bora, Society Islands
 

Been to Mai Kai Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mai Kai Bora Bora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.