We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Dinner, Good Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant ST JAMES

Restaurant ST JAMES
Centre helen'sbay | Bora bora, Vaitape 98730, French Polynesia
00689676462
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Vaitape
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Ice Cream, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: It's a waterside restaurant with a spectacular view of sunset,you can enjoy our creations of coktails and our menu with new flavours .we have 4 differents atmospheres including a VIP table for enjoying a tasting menu created by chef Barro Make.The St James team will welcome you to make an unforgetable memorie.come, taste, and enjoy
Wilton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Delicious Dinner, Good Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I loved it here. It has a comfortable and casual vibe, delicious food and a nice setting. The service was great, the drinks were strong, and we ate every last bit of our appetizers, entrees, and dessert. Must-trys are the tuna carpaccio and the three-flavored creme brulee.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    108
    27
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The location within a shopping area a few minutes north of Vaitape (in the direction of the Chin Lee Supermarket) is very convenient and the outside sitting area and the views are great. Sunset must be nice if the weather is suitable. We had a light lunch. I had the Poisson Cru(Raw tuna with coconut juice). It was very tasty. My wife had the risotto and really liked it. Deserts are good too. The total bill with a beer and water was $69, reasonable even for Bora Bora prices.

Service was unnecessarily slow. I could see the waitress just talking with a friend instead of bringing the bill I had asked for. I guess one just needs to relax and wait patiently on Bora Bora!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Food - maybe the best on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Excellent choice - this was our 2nd choice as we couldnt get a table for the best restaraunt on the island, however we werent disappointed

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Solo traveler decided to give this place a try as it was close to my bungalow. Decided on the lunch special of traditional raw fish in lime juice and coconut milk, chicken, and a chocolate/raspberry mousse cake. All for $27.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Average Food, slow service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I ate the St. James one night during our honeymoon. The location is right in the city of Vaitape. The food was average - I had a rib-eye steak and my wife had the pasta with shrimp. Both dishes were fine - a little bland, but nothing special. The location is really nice - right on the lagoon. Dessert was very good - we had the chocolate cake. I would say it is worth a try if you are staying in Bora Bora, but our dishes were not great - just good. Also, service was slow, but that is how most of the restaurants are in Bora Bora. Prices were reasonable (everything is expensive so it is a relative).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant ST JAMES also viewed

Bora Bora, Society Islands
 
Bora Bora, Society Islands
 

Been to Restaurant ST JAMES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant ST JAMES, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.