We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Is A Must Visit Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bounty - CLOSED

La Bounty
Matira, Vaitape, French Polynesia
67.70.43
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“This Is A Must Visit Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We just walked in as we were there during off season and it was a wonderful experience. We had already scoped out where it was during daylight because as it was before hand mentioned, it is difficult to see at night. It is definitely well worth the investigation to find.

The service was outstanding as was the ambience. It is definitely more of a couples restaurant than a family venue.We split a Tahitian Sampler (which I think, was supposed to be a main course) as an appetizer which was delightful as a starter for two and our entrees were equally as fresh. My husband had one of the fish specials and I was curious about how the fish dishes on one of the pastas would be and I was pleasantly surprised by how light the broth was. It nothing like the pasty American versions of a similar dish. It was light and flavorful with an island flair. The pricing was very reasonable for Bora Bora dinner prices of this quality.

Had it not been our final night we'd have gone back to try other items. It was a wonderful restaurant to finish our trip on!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    108
    39
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The restaurant picked us up from our hotel. Be sure to make reservations, because it is a small family run restaurant. The food and service were wonderful. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great Food at a Great Price for Bora Bora”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

La Bounty is about a 5 minute walk from the Sofitel Marana Beach and Private Island and offers better food and service at lower prices then the restaurants in the Sofitel. We ate dinner here one night and walked from the resort. It was pitch black with no streetlights, and would have been impossible without our iPhone flashlight app. Street lights being just before the restaurant towards the Intercontinental. When we got there, we found out that they pick you up for free from your hotel, so book a ride through your concierge. The service was slower than North American standards, but was lightening fast compared to the other restaurants in Bora Bora. The food was excellent. We started with caesar salads with shrimp and shared the goat cheese appetizer. I had the Mahi Mahi in vanilla, and my husband had a beef dish (we just don’t remember which one). We would recommend it all. The food was great. It was so great we returned for lunch the next day and had a very reasonably priced and tasty pizza. Don’t waste your time with gimmicky places like Blood Mary’s, La Bounty had better food and service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Lovely seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I ate twice here and both times it was excellent. The seafood curry was excellent and the fish duo was cooked perfectly with a heavenly sauce served on the side. The prices were reasonable for Bora Bora but the places gets busy with only one waitress so come early for better service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband I went to La Bounty and had a wonderful experience. The food was fantastic. My husband ordered a tuna apetizer and the "Make it yourself" dish where you're given a grill at the table with differnet cuts of raw fish and meat with sauces on the side and grill to your perfection. I ordered the vegetarian pasta which was excellent.

The service at most restaurants in Bora Bora and very slow and subpar but I have to say that Ann (the main waitress) was so incredibly friendly. We really enjoyed meeting her. There were also a lot of locals dining which is always a good sign.

One flaw was that the burner on the grill went out mid meal which was a little frustrating and a bit of a let down as our food sat out longer than it should have. I noticed this was also the case at the table sitting next to us who ordered the same dish.

Besides this small mishap, everything was excellent and I highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bounty also viewed

Bora Bora, Society Islands
 
Vaitape, Bora Bora
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bounty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.