We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Bounty - CLOSED

La Bounty
Matira, Vaitape, French Polynesia
67.70.43
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Lovely seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I ate twice here and both times it was excellent. The seafood curry was excellent and the fish duo was cooked perfectly with a heavenly sauce served on the side. The prices were reasonable for Bora Bora but the places gets busy with only one waitress so come early for better service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    108
    39
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband I went to La Bounty and had a wonderful experience. The food was fantastic. My husband ordered a tuna apetizer and the "Make it yourself" dish where you're given a grill at the table with differnet cuts of raw fish and meat with sauces on the side and grill to your perfection. I ordered the vegetarian pasta which was excellent.

The service at most restaurants in Bora Bora and very slow and subpar but I have to say that Ann (the main waitress) was so incredibly friendly. We really enjoyed meeting her. There were also a lot of locals dining which is always a good sign.

One flaw was that the burner on the grill went out mid meal which was a little frustrating and a bit of a let down as our food sat out longer than it should have. I noticed this was also the case at the table sitting next to us who ordered the same dish.

Besides this small mishap, everything was excellent and I highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estoril, Portugal
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, wonderfull ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I love this restaurante owned by a fantastic couple. Merci Madame! I was there the first time in 2010 and last August I returned to Bora Bora and of course to "La Bounty".
The service was the same, which means GREAT!! Big kiss from your Portuguese friends!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't Judge A Book By It's Cover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This unassuming place will over deliver on the quality of food you are about to eat. It is run by a family with one person in the front and 2 in the back so be prepared to wait a little while which is perfectly fine considering you are in Bora Bora. And the food is worth the wait.

My wife had the Shrimp in a garlic olive oil and I had the Fliet. The shrimp were so fresh and juicy. Both were amazing and extremely fresh. The couple next to us ordered the rib eye and it literally was so big it came out on a carving board. We had a sundae and the pineapple sorbet for dessert. Both equally amazing. This is a must to try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have dined there 3 times during our stay in Bora Bora last week. The food is great and prices are reasonable. Average meal is around 2,400 to 3,400 local currency which is very reasonable in the area. It is very close to a mini-market where you can purchase drinks, snacks, etc.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bounty also viewed

 
Bora Bora, Society Islands
Bora Bora, Society Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bounty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.