We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a truly amazing find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Quinta Progreso

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Progreso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Quinta Progreso
Save
You added Hotel Quinta Progreso to your Saves list
Calle 73 no. 64-C X 48 Y 50 Colonia Francsico I Madero, Progreso 97320, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Progreso B&B and Inns
Hopkins, Belize
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a truly amazing find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We just came back for a 3 weeks stay at Hotel Yakunah in Progreso.
We have been there several times, and every time we come we are more impressed.
The Hotel is located in a charming traditional Mexican beach house and the ‘old days feel’ is combined with modern amenities and an exquisite upkeep of the public areas, gardens and rooms. We stayed in one of the rooms on the first floor. These rooms are very spacious and artfully decorated. Although I had some different experiences with other hotels in the area, the rooms are kept spotless at all times.
The garden is well designed and the pool is the perfect place to relax with a good book.
The biggest amenity of this hotel are the owners Gerben, Elke and their daughter Michelle. They make you feel that you are long lost family from the moment you walk in the place.
Elke is a charming host and make some mean cocktails, ( try her specials with 43, she is the expert in this field) . Gerben is an excellent chef. Since we were around in the low season he was able to customize most of our meals and they all were absolute delicious. We were lucky to witness a ‘mini concert’ of Michelle teenage daughter who has an exceptional voice.
I would highly recommend this place the traveler that expects a level of luxury for a very fair price, and prefers the personal touch and service over the often very impersonal larger chain hotels

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    14
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
34
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

If you're traveling to Progreso, there's only one place to stay and this is it. Quaint , friendly... your hosts are wonderful. It has more of a B&B vibe then a hotel. Don't miss Gerben's breakfast. Just a short walk to the restaurants and market, but far enough that it's quiet. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

My husband and I originally planned to stay in Chelem, but the property we had booked was, shall we say, not quite up to par. After the first night, we frantically went online to see if we could find someplace comfortable and reasonably priced close by. The TripAdvisor reviews for Hotel Yakunah gave us hope, and we were thrilled to get their last available room for the weekend during peak season.

Our stay at Yakunah was FANTASTIC. Elke, one of the owners, speaks fluent English and has a delightful wit. She's adorable. Her husband, Gerben, was out of town, but American ex-pat Jim came over from down the street each morning to help out with breakfast. (We tried everything on the menu, and it's all yummy.) Ray, who works the afternoon and evening shift at the front desk, also provided excellent tips on where to eat dinner. (Definitely get the fried grouper from the stand at the corner.)

During our three days in Progreso, we watched kit-surfing on the beach, explored the boardwalk, relaxed in the hotel's outdoor hammocks, cooled off in the pool, and ate to our hearts' content. Hotel Yakunah is comfortable and welcoming, with just enough modern amenities to accommodate us spoiled Americans (wi-fi, TV, A/C) housed in a gorgeous Colonial building that reflects the best of the Yucatan. And the rates truly can't be beat!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

This place is beautiful and well kept by it's owners who tend to your every need.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We just enjoyed a fabulous week at the Yakunah. We came here on the basis of a friend's recommendation, and that was backed up by the reviews here. Our family (with two girls aged 3 and 6) really loved the pool and garden - apologies to the pool and garden guy who could hardly get a moment to tend things, as our girls were in the pool about 8 hours a day. As expected, Elke, Gerben, Jim and Ray were extremely friendly, welcoming, hospitable charming and lovely hosts. They suggested activities that weren't in the guide books (swimming in the cenote in the mangroves? Fantastic!) ,and steered us in the right direction when we needed local tips (like the beat-up local minibus into town - terrific fun for 80 pesos rather than dragging little girls one mile in the hot sun to the supermarket!).

MEALS:
Breakfast was available when we wanted it (8 am!) and the menu was full of delicious options.

Lunch is never served, but there are plenty of local cafes within walking distance, and the owners helped with suggestions (as they did for dinner). We felt comfortable wandering out to a local take-out place and bringing our mystery Yucatecan dishes back to the hotel to eat by the pool or at our own picnic table.

While it was disappointing that dinner was not being served this month (low season), Gerben generously offered to cook us dinner any night if we asked him that morning - and man, did he serve up some terrific dishes! This is a way to feel like Madonna on vacation - a private chef in a large and lovely outdoor dining area, serving us and our girls just what we requested earlier that day.

The bar was open any time we needed - perfect for a quiet drink at the bar or in the garden after our kids were asleep.

Our garden apartment was just right for 4, with 2 bathrooms and a fridge to store our supermarket haul. The apt was kept beautifully clean with fresh sheets and towels daily. I definitely recommend staying in the Yakunah's garden apt for anyone with young children.

Many thanks, Yakunah, for a lovely and relaxing vacation stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

We have been staying at hotel Yakunah since july 2007. Our first visit to mexico was to buy a home and we did in Chicxulub Puerto. Every time we visit we always have to stay at Yakunah a few days just becuse we love it there. We can't say enough about the excellent food (morning & evening) plus the service is top notch, The atmosphere is great, and you can't help but not want to leave. Some times we are at the Yakunah more than we are at our home. Needless to say it would be worth your while to visit hotel YaKunah on your next visit to Progreso, and see for yourselves.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Hotel Yakunah is, by far, the best hotel that I have stayed in while abroad. The rooms are immaculate. The food is exquisite. The service, unmatchable. But, most importantly, the people are superb. Gerben and Elke create a place where you feel at home, comfortable, and pampered. Their willingness to go out of their way to make your stay perfect is admirable. If you chose to come to Progreso, and to stay at Hotel Yakunah (which I HIGHLY recommend), you will be welcomed warmly, and treated like family. I cannot profess enough how much I love this place. It is without question the best accomodations available in the Progreso area. My nine week stay was incredible. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Quinta Progreso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta Progreso

Address: Calle 73 no. 64-C X 48 Y 50 Colonia Francsico I Madero, Progreso 97320, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Progreso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Progreso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New option in progreso, you can enjoy the sea, and our garden and pool are fabulous to expend time with your family. By the nigths you may enjoy a glass of wine and see the stars, feeling the air from the port. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Quinta Progreso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.