We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Spijs

Restaurant Spijs
Wassenaarsestraat 147 | Scheveningen, 2586 AN Scheveningen, The Hague, The Netherlands
+31 70 358 6975
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 99 Restaurants in Scheveningen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French, International, Fusion
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very Pleasant Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Hague for several days on business and Spijs was the best restaurant we tried. The menu is limited to a number of multi-course menu options (check the website), but there is a good range of dishes to choose from. The seafood - I had scallops and monkfish - was fresh and very well done. Good wine selection. Friendly and unpretentious service. Dinner for two with wine ran us 70 Euro, which I count as good value considering the quality of the meal. Highly Recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    27
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“very good quality for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

These guys understand what running a restaurant is all about; make sure you have a full house every night so you cover your costst and hope people order enough drinks to make a profit.
The food is very good, the winelist excellent and prices are very reasonable.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Should have a higher rating for Den Haag”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Having tried a few places in the city, I would rate this little gem as number one. I had one of the best meals that I have had in quite some time. I opted for the 3 course surprise menu with the informal flight of wine...in other words I placed myself at their mercy. What a great decision on my part! From amuse bouche to the desert, every dish made sense, each component added something, the plate was visually appealing, the wait staff explained every dish precisely and ideal and did not have to run back to the kitchen for an answer. So often wait staff do understand the food they serve, but these guys and gals suffered no such problem. The staff were enthusiastic without being over the top, they covers for each other very well meaning there were no delays in any part of the service. All of the staff impressed me with their wine knowledge and the pairings we bang on. Excellent value too.

This is an excellent restaurant. I ate at Basaal the next day where they tried to pull off a similar idea and just failed. Bravo Spijs!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Holiday Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Visited between Christmas and New Years, right before Spijs closes for a couple months. Some of the best food we have enjoyed here in The Hague area. Easy to get to, right off tram line and close to the beach. Great service, creative and delicious menu, a really good dining experience. We requested the "special" chef's menu and were well pleased with the innovative plating--a surprise for The Hague--and it was of excellent quality! Several servers assisted us and the service was not rushed. Pleasant atmosphere too. We were both very impressed and intend to return. Highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good food in beautiful Scheveningen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

A very nice Restaurant, with very good food. They make your evening, one to remember

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Spijs also viewed

Scheveningen, The Hague
 
Scheveningen, The Hague
Scheveningen, The Hague
 

Been to Restaurant Spijs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Spijs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.