We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going for a longer stay - This is the place to choose.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Arena Art'otel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ambassade Arena Art'otel to your Saves list
Ambassade Arena Art'otel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Berkenbosch Blokstraat 3, 2586 HD Scheveningen, The Hague, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Scheveningen
New Delhi, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Going for a longer stay - This is the place to choose.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I first stayed here in May 2013 and then again September 2013 and in October 2013. Since I need to stay for more than a week, this is the ideal place for people like me. Its very close to the beach and accessible by many tram lines. The rooms are nice and spacious and the owner very friendly and helpful. I love the sumptuous breakfast spread she provides everyday and everyday is a different variety.

The rooms have kitchenette with all the utensils and cutlery required. Since I stay for long duration, I prefer to make something myself in the evenings as eating out everyday can get to you adversely. The owner very helpfully lent me some condiments required for my cooking once. There is a huge Albert Heijn near by and so many great restaurants to eat at the beach.

I just LOVE this place and a great value for money.

Room Tip: There are no lifts so chose a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
15
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kyllburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I traveled with my 3-yr old & my mother; our room was perfect for our needs. We had a studio type apartment (2nd floor, apt C) with an extremely comfortable queen sized bed & a sofa bed (we didn't pull it out, just removed the cushions). There are privacy curtains to separate the sleeping areas, and lots of windows to allow a lovely breeze. There is a kitchenette with a fridge, 2-burner stove, microwave, electric tea-kettle..but no power outlets! Bathroom also had no power outlets for hairdryer, etc. WIFI was free, housekeeping staff was helpful, and breakfast was nice. We stayed 2 nights; the first morning we were offered eggs or omelets, not the second, but there is a nice continental type breakfast & good coffee. I was surprised by a large amount of dog hair in the siting area that adjoins the breakfast area; clearly the family pet resides there at night. Parking is available hourly, or 18 euros a day at the casino parking garage. The beach & promenade area is a short walk, tram is directly across from property, and Maduradam park is a 5 minute drive. Overall, very nice stay with friendly staff.

Room Tip: "Deluxe Double Room" (Apt C) was on the street side; can be noisy with festive pedestrians...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VANCOUVER
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is our 4th stay at this exceptional hotel. We travel all the time, all over the world and we keep coming back. The location is perfect, close to the beach, close to the action.
The building is so charming and the owners go out their way to make things perfect. The breakfast is first class..classic Dutch food and lots of it.
Hate to leave but we will be back..thanks Kate and Jan

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

June 15-20, 2013 99Euro per night, plus city occupancy tax Visa or Cash

Lovely historically designated Catholic complex, now converted to B&B and apartments.

Room 3A, located in separate building to the right of the main building #9. Room consists of double bed, private bath with shower/sink/toilet, shower gel provided. Kitchenette with 2 burner cooktop, microwave, kettle, dishes, cutlery and glassware for 2 people. Instant coffe/sugar/creamer and tea can be found in the main entrance on the bookcase, as well as area travel guide. Mini fridge. Table with 2 chairs, TV (satellite). Couch that folds down for extra bed. We were on main level, street front so feels like a little studio apartment. 2 Windows open slightly. Room gets very bright in the morning, early before 5am. Clean, comfortable and allows us to cook our own meals. Albert Heijn grocery store within 500m and also supermarket on beach strand next to Kurhaus. Albert Heijn also carries beer/wine. Free Wifi, good connection speed.

Very convenient for transportation to and from Den Hague Central Station. Tram 9 or Tram 1. Also good location as center point for transportation around the area. Tram 1 goes directly to Delft and is included in the one day inclusive transportation ticket for 7.70Euros per person. Tram 1 takes a different route to the city centre, so you see other attractions such as the Peace Palace. Trip to city centre is about 15 min. Also convenient for connections to Schiphol airport.

Breakfast is in the breakfast room located in building 9. Consists of coffee/tea/hot chocolate, assortment of cereals, breads and pastries. Fruit, yogurt, cold meats, cheese, salad, hard boiled eggs. Omelets made to order with cheese/ham. Toasted bread with assorted jams, peanut butter, honey and chocolate spreads. Very good and filling. Kate is originally from the US, moved to Holland 20 years ago, so very easy to get local information. Would recommend, especially for a long stay.
Hosts: Jan Willem & Catherine (Kate) van der Loos

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aaahotel-holland, Owner at Ambassade Arena Art'otel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review! It is an particular pleasure to receive a review, like this one, from a Trip Advisor professional and I look forward to reading some of your other reviews. Thanks again, Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We decided to book a room for New Year's Eve in Scheveningen and thanks to Tripadvisor, we landed a gem!
We got a room - the Tuinkamer, or 'Garden Room' - that would have been considered a nice sized studio apartment in any metropolis like Paris, New York, or Hongkong. And it's decor was just as if you were in someone's home.
The bed was very, very comfortable and roomy enough for the two of us. There are lots of drawers, cupboards, and closet space to tuck things away, because they actually rent the rooms for short and long term.
In the kitchen, you'll find a mini-fridge, a water cooker, a small cooker (for meals) , and even a rice cooker! (Very cosmopolitan!)
I loved the breakfast and lounge room downstairs. It was comfortable, tasteful,with a great atmosphere. If weather is permitting, you can make use of a wonderful terrace and garden for your meals.
The owners, Kate and Jan, are very knowledgable and well-travelled, so if you get a chance to stop and chat with them be prepared for some great conversation! :)
Another plus: it's literally 1 minute from the tram or bus stops which can take you into Den Haag - 20 minutes away - in the case that you get tired of sun and sea.

Room Tip: Our room, the Tuinkamer, was on the 1st floor - with stairs only. It's a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed at the AAA for over a month and had a great experience. The location is excellent and the owner/operators are very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Den Haag.

Room Tip: If you aren't happy with your room, don't be afraid to talk with Kate or Jan- they are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I spent 3 months during the summer for business. The staff was very accommodating and friendly (I worked nights), and very willing to exceed my expectations. I stayed at the very top floor and despite the stairs, the rooms were comfortable and pleasing.

The location of hotel is perfect as well. Minutes away from the beach, minutes away from the nearest store, restaurants and entertainment, and minutes away from the Tram station. It was very convenient. You get more than what you pay for, for the price you pay.

I truly enjoyed my stay and honestly say I recommend it to all.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassade Arena Art'otel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Arena Art'otel

Address: Berkenbosch Blokstraat 3, 2586 HD Scheveningen, The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague > Scheveningen
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Scheveningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassade Arena Art'otel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone in the entire family will enjoy the quiet accommodation offered our restored landmark buildings. Located steps from the beach in the heart of Scheveningen, Holland --The Hague's seaside resort on the North Sea. Now in our 16th year, our international guesthouse offers 10 spacious and individually decorated short stay apartments. Free internet access (WiFi) is standard in all of our spacious individually decorated rooms featuring hardwood "parquet", william and Morris designer wallpaper and many ofher period details. Location: 40 minutes from Amsterdam airport and just 15 minutes by tram from The Hague's Central Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ambassade Arena Art'otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Arena Art'otel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.