We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location right on sea front” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquarius Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aquarius Hotel to your Saves list
Aquarius Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zeekant 110, 2586 JJ Scheveningen, The Hague, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Scheveningen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb location right on sea front”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

It's very difficult to find a small hotel with a bar in Scheveningen and as this hotel included this service we booked here for 4 nights only to discover bar only opens in summer!! (We usually stay at the Badhotel but fully-booked)
However not a huge problem as very friendly pub just up the road.
Rooms adequate - breakfast very good and management efficient.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
18
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed here for three night and I loved the place. My room was clean (bathroom sparkling) and excellent for the price given the hotel's location. During the first night, the room was very cold for me. Later next morning I realized the top window was slightly open...few hours after I closed it, the room temperature became ok . Breakfast included was a plus, Wi-Fi worked really well. I will definitely stay here again when next I visit Den Haag!.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend, in a room with excellent view at the sea and the pier. The room was quite large and had everything you might expect. Because the hotel is spread over adjacent buildings, you have to walk outside the hotel to the breakfast room, which is no problem at all. Breakfast is quite extensive and of excellent quality. The hotel lies perfectly for the boulevard and the tram and in the neighbourhood are various restaurants. All in all a good choice for a nice stay at the seafront.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
161 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed one night in the summer of 2012. We arrived late after a long bike ride. They stored our bikes in a room at the rear. The hotel is old, but the room we had was fine. The wi-fi also worked well. We had a very good breakfast, and the owner recommended a good Italian type restaurant nearby, where we got our first drink free because we followed her recommendation. Scheveningen seemed like a down-market Blackpool and we were there on a very wet and windy day, so we didn't see it at it's best. The hotel was good enough and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed here for the weekend, looks a bit past it's best from the outside and inside is the same, breakfast was fine, welcome was slightly off putting, arrived at same time as other guests and lady on reception appeared a bit flustered and dismissive of us appeared to think we were all one group. Room was OK, good view to sea, it is in an excellent situation easy walking to town, beach, shops etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is a nice Hotel for a relaxing weekend out.....or a midweek stay.....
I like to stay in this Hotel when visiting the Netherlands.........
The layout, a combination of buildings can be somewhat confusing, you get used to it fast.
Location is great, right on the boardwalk and beach....., steps away from the Tram terminal
Many attractions in the area.
Parking (reserve with your reservation)lot in front of the Hotel which is hard to find in Scheveningen.
Bicycle's for rent, half day, day, week....
Clean comfortable rooms, (ask for Sea view) very friendly staff, (feels like home) good breakfast buffet, choices for everyone
Inhouse dining is limited, (learn the schedule) but very good.
Many places for lunch or dinner to choose from, at the boardwalk and in the area
Join guests at the Hotel Bar for an after dinner nightcap, you will be treated like family..
Very plesant, higly recommended.......

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I give this property four stars based upon the value for money - meaning I'm ranking it with other comparable budget properties, and not in the same vein as more physically-beautiful hotels which I've awarded 4 stars, such as the London May Fair. (Comparing apples to apples...)

So, in the category of hotels where you just want an inexpensive place to stay where location is one of the most important factors, this property delivers.

As noted by the property on its booking sites, there is no elevator. So if you have really heavy suitcases, request a lower-floor property. Upon check-in, the lovely front desk clerk carried my case up the narrow, winding staircase.

The single room is simply, but more than adequately, decorated. I was lucky enough to receive a sea-view room, and was pleased that the windows opened to let in the breeze. There was ample and varied lighting, and everything was clean. I could have used a full-length mirror, though, and the weird shelf placement behind the bed was so low that I hit my head on it when trying to read in bed. It could also probably do with some new carpeting and there was no hair dryer in my room.

I was a bit late for breakfast one morning, but the gentleman in charge kindly fixed me a plate which was more than adequate - he didn't have to do this, but I sure appreciated it. Upon departure, the lady checking me out offered me a coffee while I was waiting for my taxi. Most of the staff I encountered were extremely pleasant.

In sum, this is a quaint and friendly hotel which offers excellent value for your money - it's certainly not the Kurhaus, but nor is it trying to be.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scheveningen
0.1 mi away
Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen
0.4 mi away
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
#8 of 23 in Scheveningen
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#4 of 23 in Scheveningen
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ambassade Arena Art'otel
Ambassade Arena Art'otel
#1 of 23 in Scheveningen
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.7 mi away
Andante Hotel
Andante Hotel
#10 of 23 in Scheveningen
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Scheveningen
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Hotel

Address: Zeekant 110, 2586 JJ Scheveningen, The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague > Scheveningen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Scheveningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquarius Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aquarius Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Hotel Scheveningen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquarius Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.