We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Top Restaurant in Fresh Fish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catch by Simonis

Catch by Simonis
Dr. Lelykade 43, 2583 CL Scheveningen, The Hague, The Netherlands
+31 70 3387609
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 91 Restaurants in Scheveningen
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Super Top Restaurant in Fresh Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

If you ever want to spoil yourself in a top class fresh fish restaurant: just go here. Everything on the card is excellent food and well exposed on your plate. The service is very efficient and the people well mannered. They have been fish merchant for ages and they know what they are talking about. And the price is comparing to the quality reasonable cheap.
One thing I can advise: go there, reserve first and enjoy it of immense!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    78
    20
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The first time fantastic, the second time less good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The first time we visited this restaurant was with our friends. We were very surprised. The interior was very modern and beautiful, especially the first floor. You can overlook the harbor and at the other side you can look down in the restaurant itself. Food was excellent and the staff friendly. After this experience we wanted to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary with friends in this restaurant. We booked a table on the first floor, at arrival the reception told us that there was no possibility to enjoy our dinner on the first floor for it was closed during the weekdays, only the weekend it was open. We were very disappointed because at the booking they asked our telephone number so they could have inform us about this item. Instead of a nice view they offered us a table in a corner without view at all so we did not except this one. The waitress said the only table left was one at the heated terrace, so after complaining this all was not the way we had thought it would be for our 40th anniversary we sat down and had a good dinner. In future I will only have my dinner here in the weekend because I love the view on the harbor side.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food but terrible service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We made a reservation for 4, it was a busy saturday night. Despite a reservation we had to wait 30mins and were then shown a table upstairs that did not excist. It only got worse, 15 minutes wait before anyone bothered to take out order, had to ask for the wine menu, my main course was mixed up with a main course, even the bill proofed it. We challenged the manager, he didn't care. There was plenty of staff, it is their training and attitude and poor management that causes this.
The food is good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I knew Simonis, but Catch is very luxurious experience. You have a great view over the harbour while dining. Great menu and good combining wines.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casteau, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good value and quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Tried this place on a reccomendation from the hotel and was glad that I did. first off let me say that they do have an English menu now, just ask for it. This place is run by Simonis and the fish quality shows.

The fish dishes are generally 24 euros or so. I asked for a reccomendation and was told to try the Brill because most retaurants don't serve it. It was excellent and I find it hard to believe that anything is this place would be less than top notch.

Also, a shout out to the house wine, a Malbec for 4 euros a glass that was a great value! A much better wine than the price would have you believe.

For a starter I had the bread with an olive tampenade and a side of butter. The tampenade was good but the butter was great. Not something I'd usually comment on, but the dutch know their dairy products! Bread and butter were a good value at 3 or 4 euro.

Catch is worth a try.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catch by Simonis also viewed

Scheveningen, The Hague
Scheveningen, The Hague
 
Scheveningen, The Hague
Scheveningen, The Hague
 

Been to Catch by Simonis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catch by Simonis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.